Review Index:
Feedback

Western Digital My Net N900 HD Router Review

Subject: General Tech
Manufacturer: Western Digital

Setup and Features

Setup:

There's a lot to make it through here, so I'll talk through the typical setup experience and work through the plethora of available features, starting with what you see on a typical Windows 7 machine after attempting to connect to a fresh-out-of-box N900:

View Full Size

View Full Size

Once connected, browsing to the default 192.168.1.1 starts you through a setup wizard:

View Full Size

While setting up I noticed the N900 devices already appearing on the network:

View Full Size

Storage configuration is dead simple. Plug in storage, select security options...

View Full Size

...and the share appears beneath the MyNetN900 device. Easy:

View Full Size

You can configure a rather large set of advanced options. I'll hit a highlight from each of the advanced tabs, starting with WAN, which allows Dynamic DNS service configuration. At present only DynDns.org and TZO is supported, unfortunately:

View Full Size

For wireless there is fine grained control of both radios. I was happy to see the default speeds set to the standard configuration someone would use for getting high speeds out of their wireless network. The 2.4GHz radio should only be set to 40 MHz channel width if you have most of the local airspace to yourself (or if you don't like your neighbors):

View Full Size

The LAN tab lets you manually add DHCP table entries, which is handy for those wanting to avoid setting static IP's on each host:

View Full Size

The storage tab enables safe ejection of mounted storage devices - something I view as a necessity for the safe removal of network-connected storage.

View Full Size

The security tab contains MAC filtering options, parental controls, and the ability to set a DMZ host. I like how the host can be looked up directly from the DHCP table and populated by hitting the '>>' button:

View Full Size

Here's the advanced configuration of FasTrack Plus QoS, where users can manually add streaming protocols not already recognized by the N900:

View Full Size

This part I really like - online firmware updating, right from within the firmware itself. No more hunting around the manufacturer web site, downloading what might be the correct firmware for your router, and having to upload it through the router web interface. This is literally two clicks - 'Check Now', and then 'Update Now' if an update is available. You can also manually update from a locally saved file, but this would only be necessary if the router was offline...

View Full Size

Advanced settings also enables saving and restoring the router configuration, as well as rebooting and resetting the firmware options completely:

View Full Size

Whew! That was a lot. Now onto the performance testing:

June 14, 2012 | 11:59 AM - Posted by PCskillet

Besides carrying over the horribly insecure WPS "feature," looks great! Can't wait to play with one.

June 14, 2012 | 04:51 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Good call there. I've requested an answer from their team. I'd imagine there is some simple brute force prevention I place, but it never hurts to ask.

For those unaware of this potential vulnerability:

tools.cisco.com/security/center/content/CiscoSecurityResponse/cisco-sr-20120111-wps

June 14, 2012 | 09:37 PM - Posted by Mangix

or they could simply disable external registrar functionality thereby making the whole vulnerability non-existent. case in point, i have WPS enabled on my 2Wire and it is not vulnerable to reaver style attacks(I tried for 30 minutes with the correct pin)

June 15, 2012 | 12:06 AM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

For those curious, WPS *can* be disabled from within the firmware.

June 17, 2012 | 02:00 AM - Posted by Tasos (not verified)

It's a shame that with all those ports they didn't think to add 802.3ad (link aggregation). If it had this, it would really be really hard to beat.

April 11, 2013 | 11:05 PM - Posted by honey (not verified)

For you to sleep well at night, the aesthetic, the quality, has to be carried all the way through.
realforexbroker.com

June 17, 2012 | 03:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Are these routers using Broadcom chips?
I hope they do. Then I could use Tomato firmware on them.

June 18, 2012 | 08:39 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

It's Atheros throughout. Check the pics on page two for the gory details.

June 18, 2012 | 11:14 AM - Posted by TheBradyReport

Any chance you have some screen shots or details on the Parental Controls or Access Restrictions? One of the main reasons I use Tomato today on my NetGear is the ability to limit access to my kids computers by date/time etc. Also web usage logs is another big one. And last, real time network graphing?

I'd just about given up on an off the shelf router being useful but I may have to take a look at this one.

I just wish I could afford to buy a copy of ixia Chariot for testing :-)

June 18, 2012 | 08:19 PM - Posted by Tim Verry

I'll see if I can get some for you :)

June 18, 2012 | 09:30 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Ask and ye shall receive:

http://www.pcper.com/reviews/General-Tech/Western-Digital-My-Net-N900-HD-Router-Review/Wired-and-Wireless-Performance-Par (scroll down)

The Parental Controls are pretty darn sweet, now that I've took some additional time and dug into them. Thanks for the question there. Access restrictions are covered there, and MAC filtering should be able to cover any unregistered devices.

Haven't found any network graphing as of yet...

June 20, 2012 | 08:05 PM - Posted by TheBradyReport

Thanks Allyn. Good stuff. I'll have to review one of these. I used to work for USRobotics and 3Com so I've been looking for a better router for 10 years. After 30-40 of them I'm still looking :-)

The QOS looks great but I'd like to see how much control I can have over it. I want to be able to manage the QOS by protocol, IP, maybe even time. I can do it in Tomato today pretty well.

The network graphing is a standard feature now on most open source router firmware, it would be nice to see them add it in or even better, create an API so you could make an app for your mobile/tablet/desktop gadget to see the traffic.

Parental Control looks decent. I'll have to check it out.

September 13, 2014 | 10:37 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The Parental Controls are pretty darn sweet, now that I've took some additional time and dug into them. Thanks for the question there. Access restrictions are covered there, and MAC filtering should be able to cover any unregistered devices.
http://croapartmani.com/

June 23, 2012 | 08:48 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Wish this had ac. It's a bit late in the game to buy an n router.

June 25, 2012 | 05:58 PM - Posted by Senzar (not verified)

Two aspects concerns me.

Potential breakdown of the cooling fan in the long run in dusty environment. Fans do fail in time being mechanical.

When you lay the router on a flat surface, air circulation at the bottom may not be sufficient in unclean industrial environment. WD could have provided optional 1/2 in legs with self adhesive tape to provide better clearance at the bottom. I have used a mod with 1/2 in plastic end caps (4) on pancake type routers from Linksys.

June 26, 2012 | 02:09 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The fan should only come on during extreme heat situations. It's not configured to run constantly.

August 17, 2012 | 08:01 AM - Posted by Senzar (not verified)

I have it on my desk with good ventilation and the still fan comes on probably to keep innards cool. We will have to wait till users find the failing fans. Still I feel the designers could have avoided the cooling fan.

June 28, 2012 | 08:23 PM - Posted by Someone (not verified)

Besides remote management (which can be done without a middle man server) why are the Parental Controls configured outside of the router? From the images in the article it doesn't appear to be doing anything that exciting. To me allowing a remote server push a configuration to my router is a security liability, especially if the router is hosting storage devices. The Cisco Connect Cloud which just started rolling out is this way. You configure that router on their site and can't connect directly (without disconnecting the internet connection and then it is limited what you can do) which seems like a terrible idea since all you need is your account hacked for someone to get full access to your storage devices. I'm hoping the Cisco Connect Cloud idea doesn't catch on.

July 4, 2012 | 08:53 AM - Posted by Mum (not verified)

I am researching routers as our current one seems to be getting tired and we are having to re-set it all the time. I have alos been looking to buy a back up storage device. We have 3 computers and 2 laptops in our household. We watch movies via netflix and take hundreds of photos a month. Would this device be the answer to both my needs?
One last question: our current place for router is in basement - I have heard it should be up top in attic?
thanks for your answers, "Mother learning technical stuff"

August 10, 2012 | 02:58 PM - Posted by Curtis (not verified)

Mum - Dont put it in the attic, this introduces a lot of extra heat that can break the device down prematurely. I suggest somewhere in the middle. With the multi directional antennas nowadays, dead center of the house should provide the best coverage.

Hope this helps.

Allyn,

Thank you for an awesome write up. Helped me decide to keep my new WD MyNet N900 2tb Central :).

November 19, 2012 | 02:44 AM - Posted by Darrell (not verified)

hope this helps I have a 50mbps line which goes into a real cisco 3000 series router. From there I go into a gb layer 3 procurve switch. I have 254 static ip's one of wich goes to the n900 for my lan internet. The rest used by servers in my server farm in my basement. The gb wan port is a must have in my network configuration as I transfer large files from my desktop to various web server in my farm. One thing the wan port default is at 512kbps which is horrible so I manually set it to 20000 which is about 20mbps. I have no issues with streaming from any service. I have tried the netgear 900 and its horrible at transferring large files across the wan port to my servers. Hope this helps.

October 3, 2013 | 03:12 AM - Posted by felvin (not verified)

I never knew that Western Digital had entered into the networking segment. This was completely unexpected! I can't wait to get my hands on one to set up in my home combined with the 2TB that I already have. http://www.windowsonlinesupportnow.com

April 3, 2014 | 11:50 AM - Posted by Wallet passbee Media (not verified)

I ended up being locating some other stuff although suddenly when i see this fabulous website Wallet passbee Media when when i understand one series in addition to i will be satisfied.

May 7, 2014 | 05:13 PM - Posted by Scott (not verified)

The 1tb built-in HDD model I have absolutely destroys my Linksys EA4500 that I used before this. And I mean that!

May 23, 2014 | 05:29 AM - Posted by jaceki

I've one quick question.... Is it possible to disablee WPS from within the firmware...???

May 29, 2014 | 09:23 PM - Posted by Bunny

Je pense que le routeur est fantastique, reçoit un signal très fort.Toujours à utiliser. http://www.repliquemontresfr.eu

October 14, 2014 | 10:02 PM - Posted by jeremysmith

Never had issue on firmwares ( www.spectra.com ). Im running it very smoothly. Also, I have set a password very quick.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.