Review Index:
Feedback

The New 3DMark Benchmark - Testing Smartphones to Multi-GPU Gaming PCs

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: Futuremark

New Look for 3DMark Results, Test System Setup

Results from 3DMark are still provided in a mixture of score and average frame rate.  For Fire Strike, the one that will be more important for our audience right away, scores are given for the overall score, graphics score and physics.  Average frame rates are given for the two graphics tests, the physics and the combined test. 

View Full Size

What's new this time though is the interactive graph (available only on the non-free versions though) that will give you the frame rate over time as well as data points like GPU temperature, CPU temperature, CPU clock, etc. 

View Full Size

It is broken up by each test but the user can decide which tests and which data points to display.

View Full Size

You can zoom in on specific sections but I would like to see the capability to save the graphs as you combine them and export to a separate file. 

Testing Configuration

 

Test System Setup
CPU Intel Core i7-3960X Sandy Bridge-E
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Memory Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 16GB
Hard Drive OCZ Agility 4 256GB SSD
Sound Card On-board
Graphics Card AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB
AMD Radeon HD 7870 2GB
AMD Radeon HD 7770 1GB
AMD Radeon HD 6870 1GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 2GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB
Graphics Drivers AMD: 13.2 beta 4
NVIDIA: 313.97 beta
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Operating System Windows 8 Pro x64

Our standard GPU test bed is listed below; the only thing really worth noting is that we used the very latest beta drives from both vendors, at their specific request.

February 4, 2013 | 10:01 AM - Posted by Humanitarian

"Y'know?"

Yeah, I know.

February 4, 2013 | 12:53 PM - Posted by ezjohny

This sounds very interesting for a hardware bench mark that targets all platforms, I will be using fire strike for my desktop PC gentleman.

February 5, 2013 | 09:33 AM - Posted by xbeaTX (not verified)

Hi Ryan!...there are rumors that you have received a special package from Nvidia .... fits well with this benchmark? :P

February 5, 2013 | 03:54 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

No clue what you are talking about!  :)

February 6, 2013 | 08:45 AM - Posted by Raghunathan (not verified)

if a HD 7970(925 mhz) is faster than GTX 680 then the HD 7970 Ghz is pretty much the boss in this test. I have always felt that Nvidia got away this generation with the majority of sales and accolades as AMD did not get their launch and early drivers (first 6 months till June 2012) performance as good as it could have been. From 12.11 beta onwards AMD is showing how capable their hardware is.

March 22, 2014 | 07:56 AM - Posted by Katie (not verified)

I'd like to thank you for the efforts you've put in writing this site.
I'm hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you
in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my very own website now
;)

Have a look at my website ... gate 2014 result

February 6, 2013 | 09:45 AM - Posted by YTech2 (not verified)

Wow, PCper Advertisement on a PCper video channel :)

Nice show! I enjoy these types of learning discussions.

February 8, 2013 | 05:40 AM - Posted by BiggieShady

Hey Ryan, correct me if I'm wrong, but It doesn't seem that 3Dmark graph shows frametime fluctuations consistent with inside-the-second analysis as Oliver suggested when you asked about it. It's more like the graph shows average fps in a coresponding time window which is one second or even larger.

February 9, 2013 | 09:20 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

You are correct. It doesn't go into the detail we'll want for our future testing but we can use our other tools for that a bit later.

February 13, 2013 | 03:45 AM - Posted by Brash (not verified)

Ryan, do you see your framerating benchmark as having relevance to this new 3dMark software? It would be interesting to merge the two.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.