Feedback

Nerdytec COUCHMASTER Premium Video Review - Game in Comfort

Author:
Subject: General Tech
Manufacturer: Nerdytec

Gaming on your Couch

Sometimes really unique products come across our door step and we just love to tell our readers about things that might normally fall outside the PC hardware field.  The COUCHMASTER, essentially a piece of furniture made for gaming, is one of those items.

View Full Size

The COUCHMASTER, produced by a German company called Nerdytec, is a device built to help gamers use a mouse and keyboard while sitting on a couch and gaming in large screen environments.  It has a pair of foam-stuffed side block that hold up a wood-constructed center panel that puts your mouse and keyboard at a comfortable angle. 

View Full Size

Cable routing is made simple with Velcro removable panels under the keyboard and mouse and some versions of COUCHMASTER include a 4-port USB hub for connecting input devices, audio headsets, etc.  The only that didn't work in our testing were external hard drives - just not enough power coming from the USB 3.0 connection through the include extension cable.

View Full Size

I played the entirety of Bioshock Infinite with the COUCHMASTER, and other than getting some odd looks from my wife, couldn't think of a more impressive and comfortable way to play PC games from a distance and without a standard desk setup.

View Full Size

I would love to see some changes like the addition of recessed drink holders on the sides, but otherwise, the only drawback to Nerdytec's COUCHMASTER is the price; it starts at $170 or so USD.

Check out the full video review posted below!!

UPDATE: The CouchMaster is now for sale in the US now!

 

April 11, 2013 | 04:02 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

10/10, would let COUCHMASTER stradle me again.

April 11, 2013 | 04:13 PM - Posted by mrGREEK360

I need this for my setup, I play on my 60" 3dtv at the foot of my bed and I'm gonna use the couch master on my bed. For those haters il take a 60" with home theater 7.1 surround over a small 27" at 120Hz, possibly when they hit 40" il switch.

April 11, 2013 | 05:59 PM - Posted by Great_Big_Abyss (not verified)

I'll bite on that.

The pixel density of your 1080P 60" television is far inferior to the pixel density of a 'small' 27" display at 2560x1440 resolution. Not to mention the response rate, contrast ratio and colour reproduction on the monitor will be superior, too.

April 11, 2013 | 09:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I too call BS. playing on a 60" screen will make any and all texts illegible except from 3' away. If you're playing 3' away from a 60" tv, you're refukintarded.

get over yourself and come back when you try to defend your lies as you post from your 17" CRT.

April 14, 2013 | 12:09 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I play on a 37 inch from 3 feet away. It's not terrible. Not too much lag except for my Logitech wireless mouse.

April 14, 2013 | 01:36 PM - Posted by Ox (not verified)

I play on a 32" RCA LCD tv connected to my computer by VGA. I sit the width of my desk from it. about 2-2.5 feet away. Text is legible. I know i have a shitty resolution (1368x 768)but it allows me to play every single game on the absolute highest setting. There is that going for it. As for lag, I have never noticed it and the text is still very clear. I don't know how big of a difference a 60 inch screen would make, but i dont think i'd want to sit this close to it. I already find that if i'm watching a youtube video, and make it full screen, that it's too big to watch comfortable, i cant take it all in if that makes sense. All in all, this is a good space saving solution for me at the moment and there are hardly any drawbacks.

April 16, 2013 | 09:25 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I play at 9' from my 60" and there is no prob on TW and Diablo, Battlefield is also quit good, think such a couchmaster is interesting. I mean Steam offers also a big letter solution, didn´t they?

April 11, 2013 | 04:24 PM - Posted by aps (not verified)

http://i1193.photobucket.com/albums/aa346/morningx/couch_toilet_20120117...

April 11, 2013 | 06:31 PM - Posted by edwinjamesmiller36

Even at $170 I am intrigued by this, though my use case is the sleeper of my truck. I currently place my 17" Asus ROG laptop on an old cardboard box and mouse on an old road atlas.

It might also be useful in motel rooms during my layovers. Every desk chair I have ever used in motel rooms becomes extremely uncomfortable after even 2 hrs of gaming.

April 11, 2013 | 07:47 PM - Posted by derz

You should have added a flashing disclaimer in the video
CAUTION: Excessive use of this product may attract Wife agro.

April 12, 2013 | 12:57 AM - Posted by Havor (not verified)

Hey Ryan, no life action gaming on the couch, i was actually interested in seeing it in life action.

April 12, 2013 | 07:49 AM - Posted by Mountainlifter

Lol, so you guys were serious when you said on the podcast about making a review for this product!
Apart from the cupholders, we should also ask the company to not use such a macheezmo ad for this.

April 12, 2013 | 11:09 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Garish ugly bright pleather?

Oh hell no.

Fucking ugly and looks cheap.

April 16, 2013 | 09:26 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Looks handmade, cheap is plastic...

April 15, 2013 | 08:16 PM - Posted by Panta (not verified)

total waist of money.

April 16, 2013 | 09:31 AM - Posted by sickzag (not verified)

I played about 3 years wireless on couch uncomfortable, this would be good solution for cable system. For such a desk within hub and cable 170 is okay

May 12, 2013 | 07:42 PM - Posted by Maureen Jacobs (not verified)

Needs a cup holder. Great still.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.