Review Index:
Feedback

Cutting the Cord Part 2: Building your HTPC - The Hardware

Subject: General Tech
Manufacturer:

The Hardware - Part 2

Looking at the costs to build your own HTPC, you can see that your return on investment can add up really quick depending on what you are currently paying for pay television service, especially if you already have some components that you don’t have to purchase.  So let’s talk a bit about each component and why I went with them.

 CPU - AMD A6-5400K Trinity 3.6 GHz (3.8 GHz Turbo) FM2 65 Watt APU

 

View Full Size

Honestly, any CPU from the last few years has more than enough horsepower to run Media Center, but the AMD A6-5400K brings some extra perks to the table.  First, it has two 32nm 3.6GHz cores with a shared 1 MB L2 Cache.  With a low power consumption of 65 watts and a great integrated Radeon 7540D GPU, it saves us the trouble of having to go with a discrete graphics card.  All this for under $75 and you have yourself a great processor for a HTPC.

 Motherboard – MSI FM2-A75MA-E35 / Micro ATX

 

View Full Size

I’m a big fan of MSI’s motherboards in general and the FM2-A75MA-E35 is no exception.  This FM2 socket A75 chipset motherboard is loaded with functionality packed into a small Micro ATX form factor package.  Able to support up to 16 GB of RAM, 3 PCI Express (1 x16, 2 x1) cards, 6 6Gb/s SATA and 8 USB (2 USB 3.0, 6 USB 2.0) ports it has more than enough connectivity for our HTPC needs.  The integrated HDMI port will let us pump our Audio/Video from our APU direct to our TV or Receiver.  While I wouldn’t choose this board for a gaming machine, it’s an excellent option for any small form factor build.

 Case – Silverstone ML03B Media Center/HTPC Case

 

View Full Size

Throw the four letters “HTPC” onto any case and it seems to magically bump the price up by 50% - 100%.  Many HTPC cases will come with a power supply, and while this may seem like a good place to cut some costs of your HTPC build, the power supplies that come with these cases are often no name knock off brands that I’d be wary to use in a machine that will be running nearly 24x7 for months on end.  This Micro ATX case surprisingly has the capability to fit a ton of components.  You just need to understand that putting in certain components may block the installation of others.  For example, the case allows you to use a full ATX power supply, but if you do that can cannot fit an optical drive in the 5.25” external bay (which I found out from first hand experience.)  Regardless, at $60, the Silverstone case can easily disguise your Media Center as just another component in your home theater setup.  Of course, if the HTPC is going to be hidden away and not visible, there’s no reason you can’t use any case you want.  Overall the ML03B case is great home for your HTPC.

 Power Supply – Rosewill Capstone Series 450 M 450 Watt Modular PSU

 

View Full Size

As you may already know, Rosewill is Newegg’s house brand.  Being a house brand, they can be hit or miss on the quality of components.  The Capstone series of power supplies are actually manufactured by a company named Super Flower who not only makes many their own power supplies, produce power supplies for many other brand names vendors.  While you may be worried about using a power supply from a vendor you haven’t heard from before, you can be comforted by the fact there is 5 year warranty on the unit.  The 450 watt unit is modular, so you don’t need to deal with extraneous cables in your case.  Throw in 80 Plus Gold Certification with 87-92% efficiency and nice big 140mm fan for quiet cooling and you have what appears to be a great low power/HTPC power supply.  One thing to note, if you do plan to use a full 5.25” optical drive in your build, you really should look for a “Micro ATX” power supply as opposed to using a full ATX PSU.

 SSD – Crucial Real SSD C300 – 128 GB (Optional)

 

View Full Size

I’ve listed the SSD as an optional piece of a HTPC build because you can just as easily install Windows 7 and Media Center on your large spindle drive that you’ll be using for storage.  Adding a SSD as our boot drive will make booting and loading extremely fast as well as just give things an overall snappier feel.   The Crucial Real SSD C300 is a MLC drive that I picked up a year or two ago for another machine.  With read speeds of up to 355 MB/sec and write speeds of up to 140 MB/sec, it certainly is not the fastest drive on the market.  (As a matter of fact, it’s not even on the market anymore, but I’m always interested in reusing hardware I have lying around if at all possible.)  Since we’re just installing the Operating System, Media Center and doing some TV buffering on the SSD, you can get away with the smaller sized SSD.  Just as an aside, my base install of Windows 7 Home Premium with Media Center and fully patched took up just under 24 GB of space on my SSD.   Here are a few newer and better options that might be worth a look:

 DVR/Storage Drive – Western Digital AV-GP WD20EURS 2 TB Hard Drive

 

View Full Size

Recording television, high definition in particular, can really chew up your storage in a hurry.  One hour of high definition television recorded in the proprietary video/audio format that Media Center uses called WTV (Windows Recorded TV Show) will use 8 to 9 GB of storage space while one hour of standard definition television will use up just a bit over 1 GB.  You can see where using that SSD for recording television could run into problems in a hurry.  The WD AV-GP line of hard drives are built specifically for use in PVR’s, DVR’s, surveillance video recording and other ‘always-on’ audio/video recording environments.  With 64 MB Cache, low noise and low power use, this a great drive that can store over 200 hours of high definition nearly 1500 hours of standard definition content.

My Experience: Setting up this drive in my Media Center actually gave me 1862 GB of useable storage that was calculated to be able to store 219 Hours of HD or 1455.5 hours of SD recordings.

December 5, 2012 | 05:04 PM - Posted by scajjr2

That Silverstone case is nice, I used one for the HTPC in our bedroom: Master Bedroom HTPC- Biostar TA75M/AMD A6-3500@2.1Ghz/8Gb DDR3-1600/Samsung 830 128Gb SSD/LG DVD-RW/Silverstone ML03B case/Win7 x64/Toshiba 32C120U 32" LCD TV.

Our main HTPC: Living Room HTPC- Asus F2A85-M-CSM/ AMD A10-5700@3.4Ghz/8Gb DDR3-1866/Samsung 830 64Gb SSD /Samsung EcoGreen 2Tb SATA3 HDD/LG BDRW/Allied 500W PSU/Antec Fusion Remote case/Samsung PN42C450 42" plasma TV/Pioneer VSX-821-k a\v receiver/ Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Also use a Synology DS111 with a Samsung EcoGreen 2Tb drive. So between the Main HTPC and the DS111 all of our media is available to all the devices on our home network (7 computers, 2 iPads, 4 Android phones). Using an ASUS RT-N66U router, awesome data through-put.

Sam

December 5, 2012 | 07:52 PM - Posted by Chris Barbere

What are you using for Tuner card(s) if you're using any?

December 5, 2012 | 09:21 PM - Posted by audiophile42

Glad to see the HTPC coverage (I use one for all my bluray playback using a combo of MediaBrowser and MPC-HC to bitstream hd audio, i3-2100 + 4gb ram + 64gb m4 and a 20TB unRAID server). One thing I would recommend for a remote is the Harmony One. You can customize the hell out of it, it controls everything else in your home theater, and you can pickup a USB IR receiver for around $15 on eBay. It's a little pricey, but its actually not bad for what you get, and its by far the best remote I've used in 10 years. For the occasions I need a keyboard/mouse, I use a Logitech dinovo mini, which can be found for about $50 on eBay.

December 5, 2012 | 10:23 PM - Posted by Rob Sullivan (not verified)

I've found Windows Media Center to be a wonderful DVR and a subpar everything else. I really wish I could get that level of DVR functionality with the plugin type system of say XBMC.

December 5, 2012 | 10:52 PM - Posted by JackNF (not verified)

I've got a pair of those AverMedia Duet tuner cards myself, love them but they do have a rather annoying quirk that shows up when used in certain motherboards. On Intel based builds they work perfect, but a lot of people (myself included) had issues with them in AMD systems. Basically sometimes if the system were waking up from sleep the cards might not. Avermedia never fixed whatever the problem was, opting to just pass the buck saying the chipsets on those boards weren't designed to spec properly (whereas I've never heard of any other cards of any kind having this sort of issue before on those systems). I was perfectly happy with them when I first got them because I had them in an Intel system, but when I moved them into an AMD box it certainly tried my patience. And that is why my current dedicated Media Centre recording box is basically just my old main desktop that they work perfectly in, NOT the AMD box that I either had to leave running 24/7 or else miss a lot of recordings.

Don't know if they finally fixed it with this new version of the card that you've linked to, or if the chipsets for AMD's APUs are any less problematic than their 800 and 900 series chipsets could be. Good luck.

December 6, 2012 | 01:20 AM - Posted by Chris Barbere

Interesting, I may have to experiment a bit with it, but to be honest, the plan is to never let this box go to sleep because it's going to be feeding extenders in other rooms.

December 6, 2012 | 02:46 AM - Posted by AnonymousBob (not verified)

The Silicon Dust network tuners are the way to go for OTA/Cable. Nothing like being able to watch on every single computer in your house. I used to use PCI/PCI-E cards, but why waste the space inside the computer with a very limited tuner?

December 6, 2012 | 03:04 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

As a SiliconDust HDHR3 user, I agree with this statement :). 

December 6, 2012 | 03:33 PM - Posted by zeiker

Did you look at / consider the Mede8er line at all prior to deciding upon the Silicon Dust? I'm seriously considering their HD700. The video juke boxes on these little machines are pretty slick.

December 6, 2012 | 03:09 PM - Posted by Chris Barbere

The network tuners are great, but I'm trying to get down to a single HTPC in the house and then go with Media Extenders (which I'll take more about in a later installment) for the other machines.  With my first go around we had 3 HTPC's running at once, and I'd like to get away from having all the extra PC's lying around the house, sucking up power, windows licenses and components.

That being said, I know a few people (Tim included) that love the network tuners, and it's certainly something people should consider.

December 6, 2012 | 02:42 AM - Posted by AnonymousBob (not verified)

"I still don’t understand why Microsoft hasn’t licensed or even produced their own device with their excellent Media Center UI."

Actually, Microsoft has licensed WMC to companies that sell high end custom home installations (System Integrators) for years. Try a Google search for "Media Center Integrator Alliance".

December 6, 2012 | 03:15 PM - Posted by Chris Barbere

Ah, that's great to know.  I hadn't ever heard about that.  Yet I still don't get why MS didn't license it for lower end consumer products.  I see all these little set top boxes like Roku, Boxee Box, WD TV, etc. and don't think any of their interfaces hold a candle to the WMC UI.

Boxee is actually releasing their new "Boxee TV" with an integrated tuner and tons of streaming apps for $99.  If MS could have just partnered with someone to do something similar with their Media Center UI I think they would have done very well with it.

December 17, 2012 | 07:47 PM - Posted by TheBradyReport

Chris, I bought a Boxee TV (weird obsession with streaming media players) and I can say it isn't worth $20... Horrible. I'll send you some details, but this thing is so disappointing.

I've been MIA and didn't see this until today. Great to see PCPer picking up this area. I been messing with this stuff for 10+ years now and own just about every streaming device you've never heard of... LOL.

Great case - I have the LC16M and just built a second box using the Fortress Mini. Also have a ThermalTake Lanbox that doubles as an HTPC.

Need to finish the article reading :-)

December 6, 2012 | 03:16 AM - Posted by Jingles (not verified)

Good to see some more HTPC articles. I have been writing about HTPCs on my Kulture blog ever since I built myself a new HTPC:

Case: A-Tech Fabrication 2800HP
Motherboard: Intel DH77DF H77
CPU: Intel Core i7-3770T
RAM: Corsair CML8GX3M2A1600C9 8GB Kit (2x4GB) 1600Mhz DDR3
HDD #1: Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SSD
HDD #2: Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EZRX 1TB
ODD: Sony Optiarc BC-5650H
TV Tuner: DigitalNow Quad DVB-T Receiver
Wireless NIC: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6235 Mini PCIe (6235AN-HMWWB)
PSU: 160 Watt PicoPSU

Overkill yes, but it's totally awesome. It's so silent I struggle to hear the HDD during seek even when I put my ear right next to it. The ambient noise easily drowns out any noise my HTPC makes.

December 6, 2012 | 01:13 PM - Posted by collie (not verified)

just a question, why not use a A10-5700 instead {my new budget champion} For $50 more you get about $100 more video power, a nice little boost in CPU speed all at the same wattage. Adding some light gaming potential for $50 seems like a no brainier.

December 6, 2012 | 03:05 PM - Posted by Chris Barbere

If you're looking to do some gaming on the box, I defnitely agree the A10 would have been a better choice.  For that $50 you do get a nice increase in CPU/GPU power.  But in my case, I already have a pretty hefty dedicated gaming machine, and the A6 more than covers what I need the HTPC to do.  That $50 in savings on the APU just about covers the motherboard cost, so for my build it was worth going with the A6.

December 6, 2012 | 04:16 PM - Posted by collie (not verified)

Fair enough.

December 6, 2012 | 05:18 PM - Posted by zeiker

I know i may be jumping the gun on the next article, but did you experience any issues with sound devices / drivers 'colliding' with each other (i.e., the APU HDMI sound drivers, the integrated sound drivers on the mobo, and the two Avermedia tuner card sound drivers)?

I've had issues with this in the past - especially when using Logitech PC surround speakers and an SB live discrete sound card; and an LCD and HDMI feed from a Radeon HD discrete vid card. The HDMI sound would tend to override the SoundBlaster and 5.1 speakers.

Just curious.

These days, I'm seriously considering going the Networked Media Player route vice HTPC - having a stand-alone BRDVD player alleviates one of my main needs for the HTPC.

As an aside, I echo your 'rant' about Win8 and Media Center. Kudos on the remainder of the article.

December 7, 2012 | 12:57 PM - Posted by Chris Barbere

Haven't had any sound issues as of yet, and the box has been up and running for about a week.  I'm pushing everything out through HDMI into a receiver which then passes on to the TV.

December 7, 2012 | 10:44 AM - Posted by KTL

I had built a system with the ML03B case. In choosing the power supply, Silverstone had indicated one that is less than 140-mm long would allow an optical drive to be installed, without the need in going to a microATX PSU. I had put an Antec 380W (non-modular) in there and the optical drive (BD-ROM/DVD/CD) fit without any issues with the 90-degree connectors. My question is, why did you go with the Rosewill unit?

December 7, 2012 | 01:01 PM - Posted by Chris Barbere

Which Antec unit did you go with?  I'd be interested in checking it out.  Main reason why I went with the Rosewill unit is pretty much why I pick any hardware component, it had great reviews on Newegg and Amazon and had a good price.  Also the big 140mm fan and 80 plus gold certification were perfect for an HTPC build for noise and power efficiency.

December 8, 2012 | 06:32 PM - Posted by KTL

The Antec I used was the EA-380D. I have a Corsair CMPSU-400CX that I plan to try, but it seems it's also capable of fitting in without problems.

[UPDATE]
The Corsair PSU fitted without problems either. Here are the pictures.
Antec
Corsair

December 7, 2012 | 12:09 PM - Posted by Prem0

Good to see someone writing about HTPCs.

I just recently build mine using some old parts I had around the house. The case that I used was a nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum panel & Steel HTPC 1000B Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811204030 this case will allow full sized PCI cards in case you want to add a true video card to your system. I used a HD7770 so that I could use the HTPC with emulators and steam to make it a true Home Entertainment System.

I also wanted to mention that if you are going to use MCE that you get the Media Browser plugin, I don't have a tuner card so this is all that I use MCE for at this time.

December 10, 2012 | 11:56 AM - Posted by john Minto (not verified)

You can simply download VLC for free which now supports Blu-ray play. I have had no issues with mine and in fact prefer it to PowerDVD I had before VLC came out with Blu-ray support.

December 10, 2012 | 03:25 PM - Posted by aparsh335i (not verified)

I think your HTPC is overpriced for what you need it to do.
I built a system last week with Foxconn barebones ($59.99 for H61 itx/htpc case/mini psu) + Sandy bridge Celeron ($34.99) + 8gb ddr3 1866 ($29.99) + old hdd's + tv tuner.
AMD A6-5400K passmark score 2141
Celeron G530 2274

Cost of CPU+case+psu+memory = around $120-130.
Your A6 build comes to over $300 for the same components.

December 10, 2012 | 04:13 PM - Posted by aparsh335i (not verified)

Another thing -
You can use a nintendo Wii controller as your remote.
http://www.houseofnintendo.com/50226711/use_the_wii_remote_to_control_yo...
You can buy a $1 bluetooth USB dongle, download bluetooth recognizing software (I think this is free in win 8). I used a toshiba one i found online for free.

March 22, 2013 | 07:47 PM - Posted by RAID5 (not verified)

Will the " DVR/Storage Drive – Western Digital AV-GP WD20EURS 2 TB Hard Drive" cope with recording 4 simultanious HD channels? Or do I need to look for a RAID solution?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.