Review Index:
Feedback

Building a Hackintosh Computer - Step by Step Guide and Hardware Suggestions

Author: Ken Addison
Manufacturer: Various

Configuring OS X

Congratulations!  You have now installed OS X on your PC!  Unfortunately, we aren’t quite done yet.   We now have to install a bootloader to the actual boot drive where you installed OS X, and configure the operating system to use the hardware that we have installed.

View Full Size

Before we can do any of that, we will need to boot into OS X before any of this can occur.  In order to boot into your new OS X install, once again boot from our “USB” installer, but this time select the “Mountain Lion” drive and hit Enter.

View Full Size

Once Mountain Lion boots for the first time, it will bring you to the standard OS X post-install setup. This process is the same as on a standard Mac, and will create your user account and some system preferences. No tricks here, just follow the instructions (although network configuration may need to be skipped if your ethernet connection is not recognized and does not work at this point).

Before we can configure OS X, we need to download some software. If your networking is working on your system at boot, you can download it through the operating system, otherwise, download it on another machine onto a separate USB thumb drive, as we did.

Download the following software/files from the included links:

  1. MultiBeast - Once again from tonymacx86, and registration is required
  2. An altered version of org.chameleon.Boot.plist
  3. 10.8.2 Supplemental Update
  4. Patched MacBook Air and MacBook Pro Update 2.0

We will explain what all of this does shortly, but make sure they are all downloaded and accessible on your Hackintosh before you continue.

First we install MultiBeast with our required options.

View Full Size

Run the Installer and select the options that match your hardware or as we have them displayed in the above screenshot if you are using the same hardware we outline earlier.

All of the different hierarchical categories displayed in MultiBeast represent the different supported hardware so you can easily include drivers for your hardware and software tweaks that best matches your configuration. As you can see in MultiBeast, the community has hacked together a surprising amount of support for different hardware in OS X.

Next, we will change the bootloader configuation (located in /Extra) to reflect our choice in GPU.

View Full Size

To do this, simply open Finder, access the “Go” Menu,  select “Go to Folder”, and type in /Extra.

View Full Size

Once in the /Extra Folder, replace the org.chameleon.Boot.plist file with the one you downloaded above.

View Full Size

After the bootloader is patched, run the installer for the 10.8.2 Supplemental update, to make sure our system is up to date.

Once the installer is finished, it will prompt you to restart the system, however, do not reboot at this time.  Leave this window in the background and move on.

View Full Size

After the supplemental update is installed, we need to install the patched version of the Macbook Air and Pro Update 2.0 which we downloaded earlier. This update improves support for the Intel USB 3.0 ports, as well as increased support for Kepler GPUs.

When this installer finishes, you are safe to remove the USB installer drive and reboot the machine.

After the machine reboots, you should see the Chameleon bootloader again, but it should automatically boot to your “Mountain Lion” drive and start the operating system.

Now you have a fully functioning Hackintosh!

December 19, 2012 | 05:03 PM - Posted by MarkT (not verified)

I don't support Macs but I do support this article :-)

December 19, 2012 | 05:52 PM - Posted by Thedarklord

Awesome, been waiting a while for this article ^.^

December 19, 2012 | 06:47 PM - Posted by Lenordais (not verified)

Installed on an Ivy Bridge using Intel mITX DH77DF, Samsung 840 Pro SSD, EVGA GTX660 (not supported). I had to install using Intel's 4000 graphics, installed NVIDIA drivers, installed the GTX, rebooted and it worked. The only other thing was to install sound in Multibeast. Intel's ethernet was automatic. Seems to have been easier than with the Gigabyte board. About Trim, Mountain Lion 10.8.2 supports Trim automatically. I found out when I tried to install some Trim support, it told me it was already activated and working. I had to first install Snow Leopard (20$ disk at the store) so I could download Mountain Lion and create the USB drive. I will be adding a second SSD with Windows 8 on. I have 16GB of RAM and it detected it all. I'm also using a WD Black 2TB, split in two, one partition for OS X stuff and the other for Windows stuff. It's a great little machine in a CM Elite 120 box.

December 19, 2012 | 09:33 PM - Posted by Bobo Bohannon (not verified)

IIRC, Mac OS X only supports TRIM on Apple supplied SSD's. On my real Mac with an added Samsung 830 Trim is disabled and requires a hack/utility to get it working.

December 20, 2012 | 03:12 AM - Posted by ea1985 (not verified)

< I'm also using a WD Black 2TB, split in two, one partition for OS X stuff and the other for Windows stuff. >

Any particular reason for separate partitions? It seems data is the only consideration since the OS is already on the SSD. If file system compatibility is an issue Id like to suggest NTFS 3G (or Paragon NTFS) on OS X. It allows read/write of NTFS partitions so you can keep the full drive capacity.

I seem to run out of space sooner than later whenever I setup partitions.

December 19, 2012 | 07:01 PM - Posted by mAxius

i would like to see and amd based hackintosh :D

December 19, 2012 | 07:15 PM - Posted by windwalker

AMD is not really supported much at all.
None of the tools at tonymacx86 work with AMD and there are no easy to follow alternatives.
You could spend months on forums reading about and attempting different hacks that take minutes on the recommended configurations.

December 19, 2012 | 07:14 PM - Posted by Lenordais (not verified)

From what I have seen, it would be recommended to use Gigabyte with older hardware since they have pre defined drivers available, but It seems that using Ivy Bridge with Asus or Intel boards might be even a better choice, maybe. The reason I chose Intel is because "if it's Intel it works" :-) Not sure Gigabyte are the more reliable ones on the market. It was an easy setup for my first experience at it. I forgot to say that USB 3 is also working. The only strange thing is when I shutdown, it will reboot by itself, nothing major. Sleep works by the way.

December 19, 2012 | 07:22 PM - Posted by windwalker

Gigabyte is recommended primarily because their boards have well formed and more compatible DSDT ACPI table implementations in firmware, so power management works well out of the box and without special driver hacks.

December 19, 2012 | 08:23 PM - Posted by windwalker

Cool article, thanks for the guide.

Could you please add some detail about the changes you made in the Boot.plist file (the device-properties key especially) and why they were needed?

December 19, 2012 | 09:31 PM - Posted by Bobo Bohannon (not verified)

As someone who built a Hackintosh years ago, it would be wise to mention that it's not as easy as most claim. Keeping up with problems, drivers, and updates is enough to make someone want to buy the real thing. I just want to use my computer, not fight with it.

December 20, 2012 | 10:56 AM - Posted by orvtrebor

Definitely good advice, but for a lot of people it's the difficulty that makes it cool ☺

I've been wanting to try this for a while now

December 20, 2012 | 01:22 AM - Posted by Ss3trnks2

Great Article. Glad to see the process for making one is a lot easier now :D

December 20, 2012 | 05:03 AM - Posted by imadman

Good to see you guys finally mentioning hackintoshes!

December 20, 2012 | 04:03 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Very informative and interesting and well done. I love all the videos. I run windows 7 on a few of my rigs and centos on another. Outside of mac users who want to build their own rigs to run osx on, I do not see the appeal.

December 22, 2012 | 05:44 PM - Posted by MrBlack

Last time I tried this a few years ago in a Windows7 VirtualBox with a retail OSX 10.6 disk and Chameleon Boot.iso on an i7-920 with GTS250 - it was pretty shaky.

Tried again with iBoot3.3 - VirtualBox 4.2 and it worked great
(with sound and network)

It was hanging at grey screen on reboot after initial install
but then installed VirtualBox Extension Pack
and it all started working :)

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/server-storage/virtualbox/downloads/in...

Used this as a guide:
http://www.macbreaker.com/2012/02/snow-leopard-virtualbox.html

January 1, 2013 | 11:28 PM - Posted by Hood

Never saw the point in any Apple product - overpriced and under-performing, proprietary formats, paying for music you don't own, etc. Don't see the point in wasting perfectly good hardware running inferior software for any reason, least of all for the "prestige" of owning a Macintosh. In my opinion, Apple is what's wrong with the whole technology scene; they are trying to promote a "lifestyle" in which the herd is led around to the latest "must have" technology on a regular basis and in which to be using last-generation hardware is to be a laughing-stock to the ultra-hip with the latest toys. It would make for a good laugh if it wasn't so sad. I guess there will always be those who think paying more for a logo is worth it even though the product is inferior. It's only value to me is to serve as a touchstone for technical credibility.

January 3, 2013 | 06:11 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Completely agree for the most part. Apple has gone to absurd lengths to make the new iMac...thin. The trouble is I am most productive with OS-X - that's all I need. I don't require dual CPUs and exquisite industrial design etc - just a fast, quiet, cheap, expandable machine that will run OS-X. Apple could build it (they could even call it the 'Mac'), but they choose not to, so I'm bookmarking this article.

January 13, 2013 | 09:22 AM - Posted by Oluode Isiaka (not verified)

Please I need a step by step guide on how to Dual Boot My Windows 7 and any mac Os X. My System configuration is Hp Pavilion Dm4-3055dx, corei5, 8gb RAM, 640GB hard drive.
I've tried different forum and downloaded about 2 different OS X Softwares via torrent, but face ne challenge or the other via extracting the contents or probably the file is damaged. please i'll be glad if you can give me a link where to download the file (MAC OS X) and a comprehensive guide on how to Dual Boot Windows and MAC OS X on my HP PC. Please i don't mind the stress involved, i'm a MAC freak so i don't mind going through stress.

Thanks in anticipation.

chiefhunter14@gmail.com

November 8, 2014 | 12:31 PM - Posted by Lillian (not verified)

Staying atone of the many lavish Phuket beach resorts will enable
you to experience ultimate luxury and comfort making your trip absolutely
perfect. There are numerous houses worth more than one million USD sitting on the top of the
hills. With more than 50 luxury villas to choose from, you can enjoy
a high standard of vacation living whenever you try
out these holiday homes.

Feel free to visit my web page ที่เที่ยวภูเก็ต ในเมือง

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.