Review Index:
Feedback

Wyoming Whiskey: Going from Reviewing Hardware to Wetware

Author: Josh Walrath
Subject: Editorial
Manufacturer: Wyoming Whiskey

The Verdict

I like it.  I really do.  There are some things that need to be said though.  I had the chance to try the February release, and it was really green.  It had interesting flavors, but it was very overpowering- and not necessarily in a pleasant way.  It was not awful, but it needed more time in the barrel.  Unfortunately for Steve and the gang, the distillery needs to make money, and to do that they have to ship product.  The first year is always a rough one as the bourbon may not be aged to everyone’s liking.  Happily for the WW crew, they have sold every bottle that they have produced so far.  Positive cash flow is a good thing.

View Full Size

Each bottle has a label that states the date it was bottled on and the batch number.

This bottle is a big step up from what I tried in February.  The extra time and the summer that it sweated through gave it a much smoother feel and mellow flavor.  The nose is initially quite strong with alcohol, but that quickly diminishes.  There is a bite when first tasting, but once it rolls over the tongue I had the distinct impression of fresh baked banana bread.  The finish lingers for a little bit, but is clean.

My preference is to place two medium sized ice cubes in a glass and pour the bourbon over them.  I then wait a few minutes for the cubes to cool and dilute the bourbon.  This releases more flavors and the bourbon becomes quite a bit sweeter (and more palatable).  Once the bourbon hits a certain temp and dilution, then more of the vanilla flavors start to come to the fore and the finish lightens up with a definite sweetness on the tongue.

View Full Size

I happily shared this bottle with friends over the past month.  Poured over two cubes is my favorite way of enjoying Wyoming Whiskey.

I look forward to sampling more bottles once they get to their unlimited release, as well as what they have in store for limited releases in the years to come.  There is a certain excitement for people in Wyoming, and having a local bourbon carries a sense of pride.  This was produced by people in Wyoming, with raw materials from Wyoming, and with water that is as pure as anything out there piped in from the Big Horn Mountains of Wyoming (the limestone in the formation filters the water and removes iron).  Each limited release this past year got better and better as time drew on.  People here are very curious what every new batch will be like.  Eventually they will hit a sweet spot in terms of aging and shipping that will allow each batch to be more consistent and more refined.

All of the ingredients are there for a successful brand of bourbon.  The current product is good, but the promise of the product is better.

November 6, 2013 | 05:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have a feeling I can guess what the next pc per give away prize is...

November 6, 2013 | 06:12 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Amen to that ...A personally signed bottle of JoshDog 20/20 :)

November 6, 2013 | 06:14 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Must be a fan of wood alcohol!

November 7, 2013 | 12:27 AM - Posted by JWDickieson

Please let this be true.

November 6, 2013 | 05:48 PM - Posted by derz

They should send Ryan a bottle, so he can compare it with that Kentucky bourbon. He is probably a semi expert by now as I am sure he drinks after every podcast to dull the pain.

November 6, 2013 | 06:26 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

What am I even reading???

:D

November 6, 2013 | 06:29 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Pure envy...

November 6, 2013 | 06:31 PM - Posted by Trotline (not verified)

As a fellow bourbon fan, I really enjoyed this. It's good to see the distilling business getting a good spread of new operations out there. While the more traditional bourbons like Maker's Mark and Wild Turkey are great, new tastes can only improve the whole class. Good article, as always, Josh! :)

November 6, 2013 | 06:35 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I really enjoyed researching how they set up this distillery.  Plus it is kinda cool that it is in the little town where my dad would drag us to eat on Friday nights (Butch's Place- had huge burgers, pickled herring, and mushrooms saute'd in garlic butter...).

November 6, 2013 | 06:41 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Looks like someone is mask his alcoholism by calling himself a beer enthusiast.

http://niaaa.nih.gov/alcohol-health/support-treatment
National Drug and Alcohol Treatment Referral Routing Service

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's (SAMHSA) toll-free telephone number for alcohol and drug information/treatment referral assistance.

Telephone: 1-800-662-HELP (4357)

New Rules for Alcohol Companies to Advertise and Market on Social Networks
http://blogs.wsj.com/digits/2011/09/20/new-rules-for-alcohol-companies-t...

Might be violating laws since your not giving minors an opt out. Age verification might be needed to view alcohol advertisement and content.

November 6, 2013 | 06:51 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Looking at other reviews concerning alcohol... they didn't have age verification.  So, reviews do not fall under their pervue.  For an example, here!  http://cocktails.about.com/od/whiskeyreviews/fr/Makers-Mark-Bourbon-Whiskey-Review.htm

Remember, the first step in treating alcoholism is to admit that you have a problem!

November 6, 2013 | 08:13 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Anonymous, I think you need a drink. I don't think any one around here will be buying. But who knows? Enjoy.

November 7, 2013 | 06:26 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

your comment became invalid as soon as you said "Looks like someone is mask his alcoholism"

>someone is mask
...pls.

November 6, 2013 | 06:56 PM - Posted by jgstew

This article makes me sad that I live in a liquor control state and will likely never be able to get this or any other interesting liquor options that I read about. I suppose it is a good sign that I never remember to check out the options when I'm in another state.

November 6, 2013 | 08:17 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

You probably save money that way as well!  Win/Win!

November 6, 2013 | 08:35 PM - Posted by pdjblum

There is no fucking way you grew up in a small town in WY and branded cattle as a kid. I grew up in Manhattan and on Long Island, and I am sure you did the same. You are far more like woody allen than robert redford. Ok, maybe you look more like redford, but you certainly act more like allen. Anyway, still waiting for you to don that white helmet in your office on a podcast. And I was trying to get some work done when you had to post an article I could not help but read. Don't do it on my time. Really, thanks for the article.

November 7, 2013 | 11:12 AM - Posted by MrBlack

Found an old pick of Josh in his younger cowpoke days...
http://i.imgur.com/oPu2H1D.jpg

November 7, 2013 | 12:25 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Oh... my.

November 6, 2013 | 09:02 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I need a stiff drink, each and every time some of these so called tech journalists, not on PCper, comments about any new ARM based 64 bit mobile chips, first they assoicate the 64 bit data bus, registers, etc., that any CPU is measured on, 32 bit data bus, and registers for 32 bit CPU, and 64 bit data bus and registers, for 64 bit CPUs! These journalists (the so called tech experts) always make the mistake of assoicating the CPU's data width, with the amount of memory the CPU can address, and the data bus has nuthing to do with how much memory a CPU can address, memory addressing is a function of the CPU,s address bus, so the 32, and 64 bit size, for measuring the "bit size" of a CPU has nuthing to do with how much memory the CPU can adderess, want more memory to be addressed, make the address bus wider, but CPU size is measured on the size of the data bus, and the size of the CPUs standard maxium with of the general purpose internal registers! Want your tablet or cell phone to have 4 gigs of total addressable memory, you only need to have a 32 bit address bus, but why are these so call tech reporters allowed to continue to make these same mistakes, I need a drink!

P.S. I am not including the many special purpose CPU registers that exist on many CPUs of the 20 years, that can and do have registers larger than the standard word size of the CPU, via special extended instruction sets!

November 6, 2013 | 09:44 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ok, now that I've had a few more gin and Canada dry talls, I'm going to ramble on, 'bout the ARMs top tier archetecture liscense! Folks Apple takes the ARM instruction set [ONLY] and builds a CPU from the ground up that can execute the ARM 64 bit instruction set, just like AMD does with its x86 instruction set cross liscense from Intel (thank you IBM for forcing Intel to do this so many moons ago!) So Apple, Qualcomm, and in the future Samsung and AMD, and maybe Nvidia, will build custom ARM 64 bit CPUs based around the ARM 64 bit top teir archetecture liscense! Remember Apple's CPU is an all Apple design, that just so happins to execute the ARM Holdings 64 bit instruction set, via the large wad-o-cash that Apple, or any of the others with the clams to afford ARM holdings' Top teir archetecture liscense! In the the future there is going to be a whole crap load of ARM 64 bit instruction set based CPU/GPU custom mashups that will run circles around ARM's generaic refrence designs 64 bit CPUs that companys without the big Apple/Qualcomm/Samsung/AMD big bucks archetecture liscense, will offer! Look for some damn powerful and low cost Linux based CromeBook/laptops running custom ARM 64 bit CPUs with AMD/Nvidia/Other intrigrated GPUs, with some better than IRIS Pro graphics, and some good needed competition with the Chip Pimps at Intel!
Woops, Time for more hair of the dog!

November 6, 2013 | 09:59 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Drink more!  I'll join you!

November 6, 2013 | 10:00 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Hay, that's a good use for all that excess GPU heat, just put a pot-o-sour mash on that GPU an run the copper tubing out the back and through the copper coil, right into the ball jar it go! Or the OAK barrel for some age, with right moss and filtering!

November 6, 2013 | 10:34 PM - Posted by Robert23655124 (not verified)

That copper still looks amazing!

November 7, 2013 | 12:49 AM - Posted by razor512

Can the whiskey be overclocked?

November 7, 2013 | 01:30 AM - Posted by Prodeous

I'll be most likely a minority on this. But Honestly I'm disappointed and confused by this post. That is honestly not a reason I visit this site. It's called PC Perspective.. not AA Perspective.

November 7, 2013 | 05:45 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

The best part of reading a website is that you get to choose what you read!  Unlike TV shows where you have to sit through sections you might not care about, you don't have to click on articles or posts that you have no interest in.

November 7, 2013 | 06:28 AM - Posted by Stinger (not verified)

I laughed out loud!

November 7, 2013 | 05:48 AM - Posted by Goofus Maximus (not verified)

This explains the quality of the last few podcasts so very clearly now. ;)

Before we know it, there'll be a whole "barside chat" section in PCPer. I'm betting that soon we'll even see reviews for "Midnight Moon" authentic legal moonshine....

November 7, 2013 | 06:34 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Authentic legal moonshine... that sounds horrific.  Why would people do that to themselves?

November 7, 2013 | 06:55 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Everclear 190 proof would be close to legal shine, but not as smooth as the stuff in the ball jars, real shine goes down like spring water, and warms you up like a whole supercomputer rack of the hottest GPUs!

SnuffySmith'sPickledLiver.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.