The Windows You Love is Gone

Manufacturer: PC Perspective

Windows RT: Runtime? Or Get Up and Run Time?

Update #1, 10/26/2012: Apparently it does not take long to see the first tremors of certification woes. A Windows developer by the name of Jeffrey Harmon allegedly wrestled with Microsoft certification support 6 times over 2 months because his app did not meet minimum standards. He was not given clear and specific reasons why -- apparently little more than copy/paste of the regulations he failed to achieve. Kind-of what to expect from a closed platform... right? Imagine if some nonsensical terms become mandated or other problems crop up?

Also, Microsoft has just said they will allow PEGI 18 games which would have received an ESRB M rating. Of course their regulations can and will change further over time... the point is the difference between a store refusing to carry versus banishing from the whole platform even for limited sharing. The necessity of uproars, especially so early on and so frequently, should be red flags for censorship to come. Could be for artistically-intentioned nudity or sexual themes. Could even be not about sex, language, and violence at all.


Last month, I suggested that the transition to Windows RT bares the same hurdles as transitioning to Linux. Many obstacles blocking our path, like Adobe and PC gaming, are considering Linux; the rest have good reason to follow.

This month we receive Windows RT and Microsoft’s attempt to shackle us to it: Windows 8.

View Full Size

To be clear: Microsoft has large incentives to banish the legacy of Windows. The way Windows 8 is structured reduces it to a benign tumorous growth atop Windows RT. The applications we love and the openness we adore are contained to an app.

I will explain how you should hate this -- after I explain why and support it with evidence.

Microsoft is currently in the rare state of sharp and aggressive focus to a vision. Do not misrepresent this as greed: it is not. Microsoft must face countless jokes about security and stability. Microsoft designed Windows with strong slants towards convenience over security.

That ideology faded early into the life of Windows XP. How Windows operates is fundamentally different. Windows machines are quite secure, architecturally. Con-artists are getting desperate. Recent attacks are almost exclusively based on fear and deception of the user. Common examples are fake anti-virus software or fraudulent call center phone calls. We all win when attackers get innovative: survival of the fittest implies death of the weakest.

Continue reading why we think the Windows you Love is gone...

The WinRT architecture distrusts its users to an extreme end: like Apple, Microsoft removes user control.

WinRT is the layer which forms the basis for Windows RT and Windows 8. Apps designed for WinRT will run anywhere WinRT does. Windows RT will only run WinRT apps and those apps must come from Windows Update or Windows Store. Web apps in Internet Explorer are the only exception.

Again, do not think Microsoft designed Windows RT out of greed. Microsoft supports open web standards even over Silverlight, their platform with a now uncertain future. Security and stability are favored over selling proprietary development tools.

View Full Size

Yes that was Photoshopped... to remove whitespace and make it smaller without scaling.

No UI elements were cut out, just pushed together. The full size image is just as ironic.

It makes sense for Microsoft to slowly end Windows as we know it and transition to Windows RT. Microsoft will never be dependent on a hardware platform again and they can finally shake their insecure stereotype. They certainly seem to be trying.

Removing legacy UI elements enables a less cluttered experience with their new interface. The concern is not that Microsoft removed the Start Menu and boots to the Start Screen. Microsoft did not stop there. Microsoft breaks numerous hacks to restore previous functionality. That extra effort is an attempt to make the past uncomfortable.

Windows Server is even more telling. Windows Server is not a consumer operating system and yet your choice is the “Modern UI”, a telling name to occasionally replace “Metro” with, or Powershell. Visual Studio Express was WinRT-or-bust until developer outcry made Microsoft sweat. Just this week Bill Gates discussed how Windows 8 and Windows Phone platforms are “evolving literally into be(ing) a single platform.” Compare Windows 8 and Windows Phone 8: Windows RT is the middle ground.

Do not be surprised if Microsoft intends to remove the cancer it considers its legacy.

… The Bad and the Ugly

Applications in the Windows store must adhere to strict but not permanent guidelines.

A curated platform is also a censored one. Microsoft will only allow an equivalent of ESRB M for North America or PEGI 16 for Europe. You might feel okay with Windows Store not carrying ESRB AO -- like most retailers -- but that is not the issue we face. This abolishes content from the platform. European gamers might be worse off as the following games exceed PEGI 16: Bioshock, Dishonored, XCOM, Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, Borderlands 2, The Elder Scrolls, Fallout, and of course Grand Theft Auto. I just name a few.

Again, this is not a refusal to carry in the store. This eradicates content from the platform.

View Full Size

Steam chooses what they carry, not what you carry.

If they don't carry it?, Amazon, the author's website, you can make it yourself...

Parental filters are one issue but a strict ban on the basis of sex and violence is a whole other one. It even puts pressure upon censoring sensitive political topics such as same-sex relationships -- as allegedly the case with Harvest Moon -- and it throws the baby out with the bathwater.

Problems are prevented by discussion and context -- not by silence.

The power of art marries societal issues with their consequences. You benefit when art contextualizes the general issues of humanity and that is especially true for an audience in a time of personal struggle. Such as the case of a kidnapping where the captor views the victim as an object instead of a real person, violence is often a result of the dissociation between actions and consequences to a being. Likewise, art helps victims recover through a similar contextualization. Check out ConnectSafely for their discussion about child access to violent media.

Then consider if Microsoft faces pressure to change their mandate and require official ESRB/PEGI rating? Getting told that your content is safe for children is expensive; even worse, those who can pay are less likely interested in art.

Before we stray too far from the topic of certification fees, Xbox Live Arcade developers must pay an estimated $40,000 to validate a single patch.

Not a full game, just a patch.

What if Microsoft decides that Windows cert fees are the burden of the developer? Consider the impact on free or open source software should Microsoft invoice them. If they do on Xbox they can on Windows RT.

Mods are at risk too. Six years ago we faced Games for Windows Live. Mike Capps of Epic said it best: “I think the thing gamers need to worry about right now is that we’re seeing the console mod community coming to the PC -- which is that -- you cannot ship content to people because Microsoft is afraid of what you might put into it. Right? They are putting a cert process, or considering it, for Games for Windows Live: and that’s scary.”

Déjà vu?

Is artistic censorship or developer restraint not important enough? Consider a government who demands Microsoft block encryption apps. Well that is really scary. We know Microsoft complies with a law despite its political intent. Why shorten your own leash? If you build censorship, they will come.

A few silly problems: maybe Microsoft eventually wants you to include controller or Kinect support? Maybe your app replicates core functionality? Maybe you gave up your recourse when you entered the walled garden.

View Full Size

Seem fishy, yet?

I fear for users and developers. There will be perpetual problems when Microsoft finally drops the hammer on legacy Windows and closes the platform. The average person stresses, “I am just doing simple things.” Simple is subconsciously defined as what they do: Flash support, Outlook, PowerPoint, the rest of Office, a specific web browser, doing their taxes, a game, or even printing documents. It is all simple until it is found simply impossible.

Then they are stuck.

Keep your options open in case Windows RT becomes Windows. If you truly have simple needs Linux should be dead simple. Most Linux distributions are designed for the simple and typical needs of most users, right from install. You do not need to move immediately or maybe at all. Just consider an action plan and keep it as easy on yourself as possible if Microsoft bares decision day upon you.

Does the mention of Linux remove your confidence that your needs are simple? That might be more reason to consider an open and community-supported platform.

At least then a single company cannot say no.

For more coverage on Windows 8/RT and other topics from PC Perspective you can subscribe to our podcast, our YouTube channel or just stop by the home page to see other editorials and reviews!

October 25, 2012 | 07:21 AM - Posted by thesporei (not verified)

This is one incredibly well written article.

October 25, 2012 | 08:06 AM - Posted by Daniel Meier (not verified)

I agree, i really liked it too.

October 25, 2012 | 10:54 AM - Posted by Scott Michaud

Thanks everyone for the kind compliments!

October 25, 2012 | 06:48 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Agreed, very well done.

October 25, 2012 | 09:45 AM - Posted by ET3D (not verified)

It has an interesting point, but I won't say that it's incredibly well written. Just look at things like: "The applications we love and the openness we adore are contained to an app. I will explain how you should hate this..."

"contained to an app"? "how you should hate this"? Not the best writing IMO.

October 25, 2012 | 10:53 AM - Posted by Scott Michaud

I come from Canada, and they say I'm slow...

... ... ... ehhhhhhhhh?

October 25, 2012 | 04:21 PM - Posted by aparsh335i (not verified)

I don't understand why some people are so damn rude on the internet. Don't listen to this guy who has nothing to say about the content of your article.

The article was great, written better than most computer reviewers, and the ending lead exactly to the conclusion most gamers (the primary audience of PCPer) should be considering right now - Am I going to have to head to linux, and how soon will steam be on linux?

October 26, 2012 | 11:28 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I don't see how you can claim the guy is rude. He addressed a statement claiming that the article is not in fact incredible as far as the writing goes, even if it has valid points. I agree - it's a good article, well-written and about important issue but is not incredible.

You are quite rude and unfair by calling others to ignore his opinion just because it doesn't fit yours.

October 26, 2012 | 12:22 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It was quite rude that you called him rude for calling the original poster rude.

November 29, 2012 | 02:46 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)


October 25, 2012 | 09:29 AM - Posted by Olternaut (not verified)

All I know is that I'm not touching Windows 8 (tablet or desktop) with a 10 foot pole. It's windows 7 desktop and iPads for me for the foreseeable future.

October 25, 2012 | 10:51 AM - Posted by Scott Michaud

iPads have all the same problems. That's why people infect it with a rootkit, specifically one with a payload beneficial to the device owner, to gain admin priviledges from Apple jailbreak it.

The issue here is that people do not understand those problems.

As I said in the post: Imagine if a government wants encryption software gone? Not in the appstore, it will be gone unless the user jailbreaks their device... and that relies upon a permission-escalation security vulnerability being reliably found.

October 26, 2012 | 06:12 AM - Posted by MinecrafterOfWindows7 (not verified)

Windows 7 is a masterpeice.
Windows 8 is just... Blooggghhhh... Luke warm...
Really Microsoft? Really? I know that you are abandoning Windows to go over to your gaming dreams.
Ugh... And that's why I don't have an Xbox 360...
But still, I have Windows.
Seriously, Macs...

October 26, 2012 | 11:40 AM - Posted by Ryann (not verified)


Also: "Seriously, Macs..." That is the perfect option for someone who wants to pay 2x as much for the same piece of equipment and the same lack of control. But, you're probably right. Before you start to flame me, I have the top of the line MBP as well as an 6core/decent video/decent ram/etc. PC.

October 26, 2012 | 12:33 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

U mad bro? Apple ftw!

October 26, 2012 | 05:34 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Haha. Apple, more like going for broke. They look nice, but are definetly not worth the price. You could get a PC for the same price and it would have 5 times the amount of hardware. Apple is a joke when it comes to pricing. Naive people will buy it though.

June 3, 2013 | 10:00 PM - Posted by (not verified)

Soon after all these years I had been undertaking this workout
considering it was going to whip me in shape, wow!

October 25, 2012 | 09:54 AM - Posted by ET3D (not verified)

It's interesting speculation and I didn't know about the app age limitations, which I think was worth reading the article for.

I doubt that Microsoft is going to kill Windows as a serious gaming platform. I won't rule that option out completely, but I don't think there's a point to worrying about it now. If Microsoft ever does it, people will simply not upgrade to the latest OS. Which is also why I think it's unlikely to happen.

October 25, 2012 | 11:10 AM - Posted by Scott Michaud

It's more than age app limitations: once you curate a platform you can limit applications for whatever reason you want, even for reasons that weren't there when the app was launched.

It looks like Microsoft is just hoping that enough Windows 8 and Windows RT apps will be made to get us to forget (enough) about the applications and the openness we used to have. Will that ever happen? Who knows. Just be careful that it doesn't happen to you in case you need to jump.

And "cert" is very seductive for them. Again, they've tried this back in ~2006-2007 and the industry said, "hecks noes!"

October 28, 2012 | 08:40 AM - Posted by Matthias (not verified)

You don't even need people to forget the freedom they once had. Just wait for a new generation of junkies who never experienced it, and thus won't miss it either.
Consider Apple. Their app store has much the same limitations ("Freedom means freedom from porn" -- Steve Jobs). Plus, they take a huge cut from in-app purchases. And still these iThings sell like crazy.

October 25, 2012 | 10:00 AM - Posted by Windyanna Jones (not verified)

Windows 3.1, Windows ME, Vista, Windows RT ... what's in a pattern?

I took one look at Windows 8 and I had a cloudy (pun intended) feeling we were taking a giant- if not larger- step towards finishing what Windows Vista tried hard to do:

The destruction of Microsoft.

October 25, 2012 | 10:29 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Please get an editor to review your grammar and diction!
I have windows, and windows has never been a good operating system, Windows 8/RT is total crap! I will live with windows 7, but now is the time to begin to move away from the Microsoft kiosk style / Apple closed ecosystem "Operating Systems"!

October 26, 2012 | 01:55 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

^This. Grab an English teacher somewhere, as this article has a horrible flow. Few examples of what's wrong with this article:-
- Massive use of short sentences, in a row.
- Few sentences in a row has the same words at the beginning. The only time you should do this is when you want to define conditions. i.e. Rules and regulations.
- Trippy way of starting a sentence. Also, a lack of variance on sentence structure.
- Meaningless sentences that fails to convey any proper message.

I know that you're trying to tell us something but the grammar/style is killing the message. I'm even more surprised by the lack of complaint from the readers, apart from one or two, as I've been used to reading articles with a much, much higher quality than this.

October 26, 2012 | 01:58 PM - Posted by blindbox (not verified)

Now before someone go grammar nazi on my previous post (I've given myself a proper nick this time), do realize I made no attempts to fix any grammar, only gave pointers on what to fix. I also told the author to grab someone else and not me, for editing.

October 25, 2012 | 11:11 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

thesporei, I see your irony, and raise it by some sarcasm. What standard does pcper's editorial department utilize before allowing such a cogent display of writing prowess find its way onto this website?

October 25, 2012 | 12:04 PM - Posted by Mark (not verified)

Loyd Case did a nice review of Windows 8 that is up. Though, I hate the new UI, his review is very good.

October 25, 2012 | 12:10 PM - Posted by ShaneB (not verified)

Its pretty gutsy/ignorant to put all your eggs in the same basket as the failed windows phone os thats essentially being relaunched with windows 8. They are seeing the iappliance is succeeding with controlled content and think that control is a major part of its success.

October 25, 2012 | 12:48 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

It even started before that... long before that.

Microsoft wants to abolish their insecure and unstable stereotype. It was one of the major points for Games for Windows Live, over a year before the iPhone and long before the App Store.

But yes, Apple did help re-enforce and refine their idea.

October 25, 2012 | 12:52 PM - Posted by Shambles (not verified)

When the power of marketing can make you tell customers what they want instead of customers telling you what you want it's hard to resist the power that gives you as a company. After seeing Apple pull it off so well many other companies would love to be able to dictate to the world how 'things are going to be'.

October 25, 2012 | 12:57 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

If only companies spent a fraction of the money they spend trying to crush each other's closed platforms on making a great open one where everyone can profit in their own way.

October 26, 2012 | 11:43 AM - Posted by Ryann (not verified)

I don't know that calling the windows phone was failed. Where it was bad is that it did not make it into upper end phones which automatically made it the David v Goliath going against iPhone and Android.

I have a windows phone, I've had both of the other OSs, and I quite like W7.5 on my Nokia Lumia710.

October 25, 2012 | 12:33 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Your concerns about the windows app store are not really justified. They do not allow PEGI 18 software in the app store, yes, but that does not mean that you cannot go to your local gamestop and buy those games and install them.

And your jump to conclusion from sex and violence to same sex issues? really?

There are also a lot of what ifs you've written and they pertain to the app store itself, and again not software you just go in and buy yourself.

Windows 8 is just like regular windows, but with a full screen start menu, and many performance improvements under the hood and all this fearmongering is just unwarranted

/2 cents

October 25, 2012 | 12:40 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

Thanks for the comments.

Unfortunately that just is not true in the case of Windows RT. It's Windows Store, Windows Update, or Internet Explorer. You cannot just put a disc in the tray and install something.

The first part of the post focuses on evidence that Microsoft intends to end legacy Windows support at some point in the future and migrate everyone to some equivalent of Windows RT. Microsoft really wants all content to be certified which it just cannot do with legacy sideloading.

And how they're treating Windows Server and attempts to restore legacy functionality seriously suggests it.

And then when you consider what Bill Gates said about wanting to merge Windows 8 with Windows Phone...

October 25, 2012 | 01:37 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

That could be true, but we won't know for sure until tomorrow when people start getting their hands on some Windows RT tablets and there's ARM compatible software to be had that's not in the windows store

But with RT, yes, they want everything to be certified which shouldn't be too much of an issue as the same thing happens with all mobile OSes.

If that's the worry, then just use Windows Pro rather than RT. I doubt Microsoft will stop the ability for people to install software from their DVD/USB drives or other stores as that would piss off a lot of people (Valve) and cause them to move to other platforms

I don't think merging the two is too much of an issue either, anything that makes it easier for mom and pop to use their computers I'm all for, even though yes, there will be a learning curve to transition to Metro. As long as this merging doesn't take away the main desktop for power users

October 25, 2012 | 01:58 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

The thing is then Microsoft would need to maintain that lump of legacy, that doesn't jive with WinRT, just for the power users.

And that's why companies, actually yes, like Valve... as well as Blizzard and Mojang... are pissed off.

October 25, 2012 | 02:30 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Yes, but their software isn't targeting RT, it's targeting Windows 8 and in that respect, they shouldn't be upset, Valve still has Steam, Blizzard still has BNet, it doesn't change anything since people can install it on Windows 8. And Mojang can still produce an RT version of their games, as they do on Android and iOS.

Now if they have/want to get Steam/BNet onto RT that's a different story and we really won't know for awhile

October 25, 2012 | 02:34 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

Storefront apps are allowed... the goal is not greed. Heck they may or may not even decide to not take a cut of sales from storefront apps.

((Their current definition of storefront apps is pretty clearly focused on non-executable content so it's possible they could block Steam/others -- they haven't made any moves to officially do it though. But that never really was the problem... the problem was the cert and curation itself.))

The goal is to force cert and curation. That is what has the scariest results to me and likely is why Mojang and others are outspoken.

October 25, 2012 | 03:01 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

But why the worry about certification? It only makes sure that the software runs correctly on the hardware. And I'm pretty sure they will price it like the Mac App Store, i.e. free. Apple doesn't charge for updates and patches if I'm correct and I don't see why Microsoft will do so.

And as for curation, we still get all the games as they allow ESRB M rated games, and if there's enough backlash, i'm sure they'll change it to a maximum of a PEGI 18 rating for Europe.

And again, this is all based just on Windows RT. If it's an issue, then get a Windows 8 based tablet or computer and you can install Steam/Origin to get your games that way.

October 25, 2012 | 03:20 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

As I said in the article -- the worry about cert is two fold: lack of recourse and adding a middleman.

Like I said -- when you add curation and certifrication you'll get abuse and ridiculous terms because you need to appease the middleman... and the middleman needs to appease other forces: politicial, financial, their ignorance, etc.

And again -- that will be fine so long as they continue to let us do that. It doesn't look like they will.

October 25, 2012 | 03:42 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

But there are already middlemen; Steam, Origin, BNet. There also wasn't this huge backlash against the Mac App Store, and in fact there was high praise, so i don't see why there should be now with the Windows store. There really is no difference between the two, the models and rules are pretty much the same.

Why are there not any of these complaints about these stores as well? Steam is arguably the biggest online games store, and the Mac App store the biggest general purpose store. Do these other forces affect them? Not really, and yet people still flock to them without worry

October 25, 2012 | 07:44 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

Because they do not prevent you from installing anything not from the store.

As for my opinion on other app stores that are required to use a device like the iOS app store? Hate them too.

October 26, 2012 | 02:15 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Haha, like I mentioned, they're not preventing anything from being installed. They will allow all apps rating from E-M so they're not excluding anything nor anyone except anything rated AO. So it's fair to say, whatever people want published, they will put on and if not, just go into desktop mode and install it there

I'm just saying it's a very far stretch to say that their ignorance, anything political, or financial will stop them from putting apps into their store. The more apps, the more revenue they will generate by selling them.

All of this is just a big assumption based on Windows RT which is ARM based. You're forgetting that Windows 8 and it's next iterations will have x86 compatibility which will allow you to install whatever programs you want

October 26, 2012 | 02:49 AM - Posted by Scott Michaud

You assume later iterations of x86 Windows will have legacy support.

Again, it's not about greed.

Same interview with Mike Capps -- actually the question before the one I quote:

"Mods for UT3 on Xbox Live... *sighs a couple of times trying to think* I mean... we haven't seen any yet, right? We haven't seen a mod business yet on Xbox Live and that's because they want to cert all the content onto the Xbox, that goes through the Xbox Live Portal. And I mean, certing a game takes tonnes of effort and expertise and I just don't see that happening anytime soon."

Microsoft is even more strict than Sony about cert. It is not unreasonable to expect this would come to the PC platform.

October 26, 2012 | 07:18 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Perhaps, but your assumption is that they won't have legacy support. It only makes sense that they keep it, especially with x86 compatibility. Why would they discontinue it? It doesn't make sense. Just because they are merging their OS into one platform does NOT at all conclude that they are closing the entire ecosystem up. Gates is just saying that they are unifying their UI from desktop to mobile so that transitioning back and forth would be easier.

As I mentioned, certification on XBL and on the Windows Store will be different, as they will more closely match what Apple is doing with the Mac App store. You're correlating what they're doing on XBL to the Windows store which I do believe is unreasonable. How are they going to get small time developers to put their apps into their store? It doesn't make sense

Looking at what is on the Windows store now, you can see that they're not super strict about what goes on into the store (within reason)

October 25, 2012 | 04:24 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Also, they mentioned today that they WILL have ESRB M rated software on their store even if they are rated PEGI 18

October 26, 2012 | 12:53 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

Added it to my update, and my opinion on it too.

October 25, 2012 | 07:20 PM - Posted by zicoz (not verified)

You can't really state that the goal is to force cert and curation. That is only what you personally fear.

Also, you starting this attack on Microsoft while proclaiming Ubuntu as the savior is also kinda crazy when we see what I believe is the largest ditro out there (Ubuntu) is actually running a curated store as well.

October 25, 2012 | 07:42 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

I said there is quite a bit of evidence to suggest it, and I gave it... including a quote from Bill Gates.

Also, I never mentioned Ubuntu -- but since you did -- the difference is the application is not reliant on Ubuntu's curation for survival as is the case on Windows RT.

There's nothing wrong with providing a curated avenue. I was originally going to program Windows 8 apps for the Windows Store if you look back to the, I believe, Oct 17th podcast. It just seriously looks like they want to make it the only method.

October 27, 2012 | 01:58 PM - Posted by Dominhiho (not verified)

I honestly can't see the problem here.

What is the difference between downloading and installing software on Windows 8 and Windows 7? Absolutely nothing. Literally. I have Windows 8, I tried the consumer review beforehand and I really liked it and I can tell you everything I used to run on Windows 7 is available on my Windows 8 installation. Steam, Skype, Chrome (Even has metro integration proving further that you don't need to have the windows store to get apps).

Here's an idea, instead of windows developers complaining about how the windows store is a limited platform, how about they just develop for the desktop environment? You know, LIKE THEY ALWAYS HAVE DONE.

This trash talk about Windows 8 has gotten out of hand. People rushing into talking shit about the operating system when they know absolutely nothing about it. The only actual difference between Windows 7 and 8 is that aero is gone (Good riddance) and they've added a shiny new start menu under the name metro. And also the vast improvements to the task manager and windows explorer.

Enjoy using Windows 7/Vista/Xp. I'll just be chilling over here with my 3 times faster boot speed. Ciao.

October 27, 2012 | 09:59 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

<<Here's an idea, instead of windows developers complaining about how the windows store is a limited platform, how about they just develop for the desktop environment? You know, LIKE THEY ALWAYS HAVE DONE.>>

And we fear, will not continue to do... at some point... because Microsoft removed support for it to have their hardware-agnositc fully certified platform.

October 25, 2012 | 12:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

RT is for ARM.

intel is making inroads to crush ARM, the future is x86

October 25, 2012 | 12:44 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

Even if Intel crushes ARM, WinRT can be ported to really any hardware platform Microsoft deems worth it, like PowerPC.

Underlying hardware really does not matter since everything is run under a common compatibility layer.

Very seductive for Microsoft... terrible for people who want to use their PCs in a way that Microsoft does not intend or want, though.

October 25, 2012 | 01:29 PM - Posted by brisa117

I can see using a Win RT tablet as a substitute for an Andriod/iOS tablet, but I'm sticking with Win7 for now. It's an excellent operating system... now down the road, if things don't change, I would be more than happy to switch to a Linux Distro. I've used Linux distros many times before for home servers and when Windows has crapped out on friend's PC, via jump drive.

Honestly, if Steam and driver support substantially moved to Linux, I would be there. There are suitable replacements for almost everything else. PLUS, there are alot of awesome developers out there who only develop for Linux even now!

The majority of people won't move, let's face it. The average consumer likes the rosy smell of the walled garden, but I am willing to bet that the Linux market share will increase several fold (which is still not much. haha)

October 25, 2012 | 01:53 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

You have no idea how close that post is to my actual beliefs.

The average consumer only really thinks they like the walled garden though until they realize where the walls are.

Think of it like the difference between "mass transit" and "a car". Cars are horrifically complicated and have terrible ramifications if the user fails. A bus route is laid out to serve the needs of most the the common customers. Most people would put up with all of the headaches to have the freedoms of a car though.

People just have not pieced together all of the small problems that popcorn up with closed computer platforms yet. Some do not even know the benefits of an open platform.

That's one of the main reasons why I try.

October 25, 2012 | 01:29 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

WinRT is like WinCE.. made to run on special hardware.

for me a WinRT device was never even in the picture..... Win8 x86/64 or nothing.

but MS has to get on all those little crappy android ARM devices as well so they make the the crappy RT version of win8

oh yea.. for phones as well, I can see why they did it but i'd say hell would freeze before they'd actually shove this thing on everything.. if the devs freaked out over the visual studio thing what would you think would happen if it was RT only ha they'd have people with pitch forks at the HQ.

Anything can be read anyway between whatever lines are given.

October 25, 2012 | 01:55 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

It's made to run on any supported hardware, not special hardware. It is the basis for Windows 8 too... although Windows 8 has that growth of legacy software hanging off of it.

October 25, 2012 | 02:15 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

For x86, ARM, and any other CPU, the future for tablets is low power with good graphics. x86 may be a contender but will the x86 + graphics be Intel or AMD! Maybe ARM + AMD(GPU), I will wait and see! I do not see Intel x86 replacing ARM, because ARM can already run most of the software that a tablet user would need to use. In fact, I see Apple some time in the future building laptops based on ARM 64 bit(instruction set) processors based on Apple custom designs, with possibly on chip AMD licensed GPUs.
AMD's work through the HSA foundation will allow AMD IP to be used much the same way ARM's IP is licensed and used currently! RT replacing all of the open OSs will never be, in much the same way iOS is now, for people who care about being locked into a closed ecosystem, iOS or Win RT is not the way to go!

October 25, 2012 | 02:59 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Im really sick of your constant complaining about windows 8. Yeah your precious start button is gone, get over it. And yes, Microsoft has their own app store which requires developers to get their apps certified in order to be in there. This is to protect the average consumer so they don't install malware or whatever malicious crap they've downloaded. Us power users will still have our desktop environment to install whatever the hell we want. I don't understand your concerns. You really think Microsoft is going to take that away from us? I don't see that happening, at least not any time soon. You sound like an old man who is afraid of change. Windows 8 is just fine. RT, might not be your cup of tea, but it has the potential to be a nice alternative to iOS or Android. Windows 8 is the best of both worlds. SO what is there not to like? All you need to do is use windows 8 for a week or two and you will learn how to use it properly. All your complaints are based on speculation and you irrational fear of change. One more thing. Valve and Mojangs concerns about windows 8 are bullshit. Notch is an idiot who was just hoping on the "hate microsoft" bandwagon and Gabe Newell just has his panties in a twist because steam is now offering applications and the windows store has the potential to undermine that fact. From a purely consumer stand-point, we have nothing to worry about.

October 25, 2012 | 03:11 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

I actually like Windows 8 as an operating system. I have no hard feelings over the start menu disappearing -- and if that were my gripe I would just install Stardock's software. I was not just considering upgrading to it, I started developing apps until I saw how Microsoft was lining up.

And I'm sick of people making false assumptions about me -- and then arguing with me about those assumptions which are not even true. It's like whenever I talk about stupid anti-piracy -- people try to discredit me by sayin "Just buy your dang software!" o.O No. I don't pirate. I'm saying ((X/Y/Z reason or math error they made or whatever))

If Microsoft decides to keep legacy support and the ability to develop and install whatever I want... great. I win.

I wrote this to make sure that if they DO remove that ability -- and it certainly seems like they will in a few years -- people would have been warned to not put up with it. Maybe even rhile up development of alternatives to give people a place to go.

But if you lock yourself too far in -- you'll be that much closer to just putting up with it when the hammer falls.

October 25, 2012 | 03:00 PM - Posted by Coupe

This article isn't too professional. It relies way too much on emotion. It reminds me of sports press and tabloids.

October 25, 2012 | 03:01 PM - Posted by brisa117

Scott, assuming (without the classic joke making us asses) that the average consumer, and more immediately the pro-sumer/power user, feels the constraint of the proverbial walled garden, what do you think will happen?

Do you feel that there will be a mass exodus to the land of Linux, do you think people will just hold onto Win7 (like they did with XP), or do you think they'll, heaven forbid, all pay a couple grand for a Mac?

October 25, 2012 | 03:14 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

I think they'll hold on to Windows 7 or Windows 8 until they can't put up with it anymore... and either give up for Windows RT not knowing or caring about the consequences... or jump to an alternative OS then. I'm hoping more the latter.

October 25, 2012 | 03:53 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

A lot of people seem to be missing the point that WinRT is more similar to the .NET framework. It is not the core of Windows 8 (not talking about Windows RT running on ARM). You don’t need to write a program using WinRT, in fact you can still write an application using .NET or C++ and install it in the Windows 8 Desktop.

The only time you need to write an application using WinRT is if you want to sell it through the app store and install it to use in the new “Modern UI” / Start screen.

October 25, 2012 | 07:11 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

Which is the only way you can install software on Windows RT, unless you get it on Windows Update or it can execute through Internet Explorer as a website app. (HTML5/JS/CSS)

The point raised by the article is that it looks like Microsoft wants to cut off the legacy support in a future version of Windows leaving us with JUST the Windows Store/Windows Update/Internet Explorer.

That is the scary part... because of certification (and the bag of hurt that causes) and loss of legacy support... Windows 8 itself is fine I just don't want people to get sucked in and can't get out if Microsoft says "Make a choice -- drop legacy or drop Windows"

October 30, 2012 | 06:22 PM - Posted by Brooke (not verified)

Fantastic post however I was wondering if you could write a litte
more on this topic? I'd be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Appreciate it!

my homepage - herpes prevention

October 25, 2012 | 04:20 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The closed Win/Apple ecosystem will just give a needed boost to start a serious push to a third more open choice. All the people who use windows 7 beacuse it had a more open ecosystem will now be looking for a more open choice from some other source! They will stick with windows 7, until Microsoft trys to push their closed ecosystem onto the most used windows applications, Office etc., then the computer OEMs and those outside of the Microsoft/Apple business model will have to support an open OS.

October 25, 2012 | 04:22 PM - Posted by thesporei (not verified)

Kinda disappointed with the reaction people have here, I guess this article may be slightly above them. There really isn't one thing factually incorrect with it either.

I've actually read the thing 3 times because it flows so well and I rarely read articles in full. Right down to the choice of pictures and their captions. It's beautifully done.

October 26, 2012 | 12:24 AM - Posted by Scott Michaud

Thanks a lot for the compliments!

October 25, 2012 | 04:58 PM - Posted by Fozee (not verified)

I think looking at the Desktop as an "app" within Windows 8 is a seriously flawed way of thinking. That's not how it works for me, and I use it every day. The start menu is simply fullscreen now and hosts a bunch of fullscreen applications.

As for tablets, of course they're going to cut Desktop to save on performance, that's why it's a tablet and not our desktops, and you won't be seeing RT on your typical desktop.

I dunno, I was one of those people that were able to use Vista without a single issue as well. Maybe it's me.

October 25, 2012 | 07:38 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

I used Vista without too much issue (except for soundcards).

I also liked Windows 8. I just cannot give them the confidence to pull out legacy support and roll Windows into RT. I was actually telling the other PCPer staffers how much of a shame it is because I was actually interested in upgrading.

But it seriously looks like they want to.

October 25, 2012 | 08:37 PM - Posted by Fozee (not verified)

The sound card issue is still a problem sadly, Vista and up have just shown us which vendors were never capable of intelligent driver creation. ASUS was starting to scare me, but thankfully they were only failing to support pre-RTM adopters of Win8.

I think the fact that it would cause a move towards Linux is exactly why Microsoft isn't going to push for the destruction of Desktop. They're very good at making money and market share with Windows, and I think that if we can see that mistake, they can too. Let's hope.

I personally won't buy any RT products, but that's because Android is more of a complete OS to me. Tablets including Win8 with the desktop, however, will be another story when they show up.

October 25, 2012 | 06:58 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

na, I was able to use vista without issue as well. Every user I configed vista for worked fine with no gripes as well.

October 25, 2012 | 07:17 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

im skerred of Windows8 WAHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!

October 25, 2012 | 07:39 PM - Posted by Chefbenito (not verified)

You mean the makers of "Costume Quest" and "Middle Manager of Justice" can't afford the patch fee? 40k in a multi billion dollar industry is peanuts. It costs me like 600 bucks to buy a full copy of office and I'm just some dude. 40k seems about for the patch. Oh no! The people who invented DirectX are baaad for gamers everywhere! Am I missing something? This is big money MS why is anyone surprised.

Does anyone really think that gamers will be hopping over to ARM processors for their custom frag boxes?

FWIW Apple does almost all of these practices and actually is far more controlling and unreasonable and taxing. You have to take the good with the bad. You mean old, old, old ancient unsafe OS's are being snubbed out? Great! That's millions less unsecured PCs online waiting the be hijacked for some BotNet scheme or used to send and distribute viruses. It is common knowledge that Windows 8 is a tablet/mobile OS. Businesses, PC users/computer gamers can sit back and skip this one because its not designed for their uses and MS is smart enough to know nobody cares. Win7 us the greatest OS ever created (IMHO) and the modern hardware to pair it with has a much, much longer lifespan. 8 cores @ 5ghz? 8G's of ram for 50 bucks? Super Cheap SSDs? Faster GPUs than anyone ever dreamed of.

Let me break it to you: NO ONE IS RUSHING TO LINUX. I am sure I will offend some people, but absolutely nobody (general terms) cares about or is rushing to Linux. Unless MS is issuing patches to brick my copy of Win7 then actually, the Windows I love is here to stay.

"Most Linux distributions are designed for the simple and typical needs of most users, right from install."

Really? I've been gaming/computing for 25+ years and build my own boxes and fix software/hardware issues and I've never had a painless install of any version of linux. In my experience it is always buggy, has driver issues, hardware compatibility issues, requires a ton of work to get basic hardware functioning or common file types to even be recognized.

This article is spreading FUD.

October 26, 2012 | 12:21 AM - Posted by Scott Michaud

1) It's not just Tim Schafer developing software. The point is the precedents that have been set in the past and the potential for the future. I can see open source and hobbyist software getting harmed in one or more of several possible ways.

2) Yeah I have not been on happy terms with Apple for quite some time.

3) So long as people don't screw themselves, give up, and just put up with the crap I am concerned with in my article? Great. Sit back on Windows 7. Upgrade to Windows 8 but don't suck yourself in to "Metro apps". Switch to Linux. Doesn't matter to me. Just so long as Microsoft knows we will not put up with a closed platform.

If Windows stays open/backwards compatible or we switch to an open platform? Either way I'm happy.

4) I was referring to using a PC with Linux installed... because you don't expect a user to install Windows.

Even then: there were also quite a few years (before Vista, which was the first one to be nice to install) where installing Linux was much more user friendly than installing Windows (XP and earlier).


Once Linux is up and running -- which has very rarely been anywhere near as bad as you suggest, except for dial-up modems -- if the user truly has simple needs... they probably don't need to do anything. The web browser is there pre-installed. The office software is there pre-installed. There's pretty simple repositories and app stores for users to get a simple app here or there if they want to. If you exceed that you might need to tinker here or there... but at least there's an option to get it running unlike many simple platforms that just say "no" and that's it..

... And the whole point-of-the-point is to show people that "Simple needs" are not to be taken for granted.

October 25, 2012 | 07:42 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

There has never been a version of windows that I have loved, there are versions of windows that I can live with, and windows versions I can live without! I can live with #7 but #8 will never have a home on any of my computers! As far as any future windows #, buying any future Microsoft OS will only lead to more M$ foolishness, and the time for the open source OS has come!

October 25, 2012 | 09:03 PM - Posted by Virtuous (not verified)

To install non Windows Store apps people will have to jailbreak their RT tablets just like iPads. MS has locked down Windows RT tablets. MS also wants to make it difficult for people to run Linux on new Windows 8 computers.

October 26, 2012 | 03:22 AM - Posted by Scott Michaud

I expect it will be some level harder to jailbreak Windows RT than iOS.

Apple tends to be a very complacent company. I mean heck -- they used to protect their battery firmware with one of two static and company-wide passwords until after a security researcher showed how malware could wreck havoc.

They also waited for a couple of months to fix the SMS vulnerability because they didn't get around to it.

Not to mention they at least used to wait until they collected a quarter of a gigabyte of patches to bother fixing security vulnerabilities in Mac OSX.

Microsoft has been burned several times about security so I expect they'll at least be more careful. Jailbreaking will still likely happen at some points, but probably not nearly as prevalent as iOS. That's mostly just my prediction though.

October 26, 2012 | 05:32 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I'm not sure how you can make it difficult to DBAN a harddisk... or even to disallow GRUB to override/ supercede the windows bootloader... so how are they making it difficult?

October 26, 2012 | 01:13 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

Microsoft is getting motherboard manufacturers who want a "Designed for Windows 8" promotional logo to only boot operating systems signed with an encryption key.

The idea is that if a virus messes with Windows bootloader (or anything else that would cause the key to not certify -- such as not actually being Windows), it would fail and not boot.

Linux community was concerned because even though it was mandated that you could turn it off, that was one more barrier to installing Linux. It's not really as much of a concern anymore because the Linux Foundation is making their own signed UEFI Secure Boot bootloader.

October 25, 2012 | 09:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

M$ ? really did you just type that?

is this 1997? oh gosh a big bad money making machine... like apple isn't?

I loved windows NT, 2000, 7

the time for open source OS has come? yea come and gone... see ya bye bye.

October 26, 2012 | 12:01 AM - Posted by Ben Haube (not verified)

This article is way off point, and I don't thing anyone has anything to worry about. Windows RT is heavily aimed toward the average consumer, and the app store was created to give that average consumer a simple, easy way to find and install applications to their computers. Lets not forget that enterprise is the majority of Microsoft's business, and Windows 8 Pro is geared toward the enterprise users. Microsoft is not going to cut off the business that brings in most of their revenue. It's frankly embarrassing to see an article from a tech journalist stating that Microsoft is attempting to screw over the general public.

Microsoft is simply trying to be more like Apple and change the perception people have of the company. Right now, the average person sees Mac's as hip and cool, while looking at windows as boring. Microsoft is going through a change attempting to make Windows more "hip", and gain back a huge percentage of market share lost to Apple.

October 26, 2012 | 12:30 AM - Posted by Scott Michaud

I seriously hope I am either wrong or I was right and Microsoft changes their minds.

And it is not attempting to screw over the general public... it is attempting to release the product they want.

... to the detriment, haphazardly or intentionally, of the general public.

October 26, 2012 | 02:25 AM - Posted by Sublym3 (not verified)

Can we get this stuff off PCPer?

Fair enough you have an opinion but you seem to be freaking out over nothing.

October 26, 2012 | 02:52 AM - Posted by Scott Michaud

So you ask to censor a piece about potential censorship?

October 26, 2012 | 03:09 AM - Posted by Sublym3 (not verified)

How many articles have been typed up about this subject already (on this site and the lenghty discussion in the podcast). You have been beating the horse so much that there is no horse left to beat.

October 26, 2012 | 05:39 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have started to think this whole thing was click bate.

October 26, 2012 | 02:14 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

Not enough : (

It pains me to see things like: 

- What? Amazon can delete content from your Kindle?

- You mean I don't own my game on OnLive forever?

- Why can Sony remove Linux from the PS3?

You let them by agreeing to their terms of use. It's something you need to think about going forward. That is the nature of closed platforms.

October 26, 2012 | 03:13 AM - Posted by billgatez (not verified)

I cant't see Microsoft forcing people to run apps that are only from there app store.
Look at apple they are pretty wall in when it comes to OSX but even they still allow users to run software not from there app store.

Microsoft hopefully will see what a mess Windows 8 is and give us back what we want. And make the app store a simple program you run like it is in OSX.

October 26, 2012 | 05:38 AM - Posted by cyow

Windows 3.1, Windows ME, Vista, Windows RT ... what's in a pattern?

Ok I give you all bar one and that is Vista it rocks as the day I first use it!

it work great from day one for me and most people I know.

it real just bad press and that why everyone said it bad more then anything

and Windows Rt is just dumb as but if it works right it will be where we all end up one day god help us all!

October 26, 2012 | 05:40 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

CLICK BAIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

October 26, 2012 | 06:02 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I do hope people will switch to linux. No restrictions there, no privacy violations, painfully simple, wide platform support (even games are coming across)
I mean, wake up people. Linux is free. And it's honest. Why all this nonsense...
If you wont use a companies product, they'll fall. Simple as that, they will have to take action to drag you back.

October 26, 2012 | 08:38 AM - Posted by Jesse (not verified)

Very good article. And I'm glad someone is writing about this. It may be a bit naive, but maybe this could be just the push a lot of devs and users need to make the switch to open-source. Linux brings new challenges, sure. But the last few years alone have been very good to a lot of distros. Both aesthetically, and technically. For me Linux is the way to go and always has been. I may use Windows a big part of the time for gaming, but using and learning Linux is something I feel good about. My hate for Windows didn't start with Windows 8. The platform has always been a huge scam to me. But that's a whole other rant. Haha.

October 26, 2012 | 09:36 AM - Posted by Brian (not verified)

Okay first off.
I wanna say that I have had the full release of Windows 8 Pro for about 1-2 months, if a little background is needed. I am a IT-supporter, and we got a deal from microsoft to test the real version 2 months prior to release, and so it was possible to make apps for it.

I don't really get this.. why are people so upset about this?
That microsoft wants to control their app store.
It's not like they are making it impossible for you to use your computer like you use it everyday. you can install all the games you want and all the applications you want.

The only thing they want to certify is what goes in their app store. it's just like having your itunes app store or google play on your pc thats all, even apple and google control what's on their mobile app store.

I just don't see what's the problem. please enlighten me.

October 27, 2012 | 02:43 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

Yeah I had the RTM version too (actually my laptop or a VM on my PC had all four public builds installed), and I was all set up to make apps for it. It was a couple of days after I installed RTM that I decided I would not support the whole thing at all. I did not want to encourage Microsoft to go down the path they seem to want to go down.

The problem lies with Microsoft wanting to control their app store and that they are acting suspiciously like they want the appstore to be the only way to access content as is the case on Windows RT.

If the appstore is the only way to install applications, then the appstore's requirements (whatever they might be at any given moment in time) are the requirements the applications need to fit to exist.

There could be a bunch of stupid requirements like "All games must have an Xbox Live component."

There could be government requirements like "No encryption" or "The government must certify all apps too." -- That's not so much a Western concern but still one to consider globally.

Or there could be pressure from the cert people to prevent sensitive political topics from being discussed, again like same-sex relationships as allegedly happened with Harvest Moon on the Nintendo when it was brought to America, out of fear of political backlash of "what Microsoft lets in the store".

And if Microsoft really doesn't like you, they can pull your dev certificate and you won't be developing anything again.

This is not much of a concern if you view your PC as a tool. This is not much of a concern if you view your PC as an entertainment consumption device. This is frickin' terrifying if you view your PC as an art medium.

You can't even, as it stands now, make something and give it to a friend for them to install on their PC if it doesn't go through cert. (There's work-arounds with development, but yeah)

Don't really look at Windows 8... look at Windows RT and consider the problems that could be faced.

October 26, 2012 | 01:23 PM - Posted by Jeremy A. (not verified)

very good article. linux is what i use, the only thing we open source developers want is justice. force microsoft to fully open source directx; end of problems forever... not just a public sdk/api... i mean fully open source... back in 1998 or so microsoft was pitching to us that it was closed source for our own good. think of all the hardware we are saving.... yea ok no thanks...

October 26, 2012 | 03:44 PM - Posted by Stan Zaske (not verified)

Great article Scott! Thanks for giving me food for thought on the whole Win7 Pro upgrade decision for my PC's I was facing. I really like the underlying improvements made to Win8 and understand there is software that can bypass the "Metro" crap. Seeing as how Gabe Newell and Steam are being ported to Ubuntu and that Win7 will be supported for years to come I'll pass on Win8. I'm embarrassed to say how much time I've ruminated this year on this whole thing. Have a nice weekend!

October 31, 2012 | 12:58 AM - Posted by Chefbenito (not verified)

Wow. Just Wow. So many linux fanboys and MS haters it is disgusting. Fully Open Source DirectX! Hah! I guess companies do not have a right to make money anymore?

I think the author, Scott, digs his hole deep and deeper the more he responds trying to get to everyone. It is no longer linear this discussion.

Enough with your "There Could Be..." "There Could be..."

That's not journalism or even helpful, its just speculation.

"Don't really look at Windows 8... look at Windows RT and consider the problems that could be faced"

Read that to back to yourself Scott.

My fav is....

"again like same-sex relationships as allegedly happened with Harvest Moon on the Nintendo when it was brought to America"

OK rly WTF does this have to do with anything. It's time to step away from the keyboard man.

October 31, 2012 | 01:38 AM - Posted by Scott Michaud

It has to do with pressures to change the message of artistic content.

With a closed platform, such as Windows RT, you cannot even share your applications with a limited audience without Microsoft's explicit consent. As such you have content censored for political topics, language, violence, sexuality, and so forth.

So "WTF does that have to do with anything."

It has happened in the past and will continue to happen. An art medium should be based around free (as in speech, not as in beer) and preserved expression. Any time you expose an art platform to censorship it will be used and abused. Pressure through age ratings to censor "sexuality" in North America is one such example.


Companies can easily make money on open-source platforms. RedHat Enterprise Linux is the obvious example. Samsung, LG, and other TV manufacturers use the Linux Kernel as the basis for their televisions. They used Linux to make money on their TVs... including implementing features that their competitors shared alike.



"Don't really look at Windows 8... look at Windows RT and consider the problems that could be faced"

<<End of Quote>>

People look at Windows 8 and see the legacy support still there. It is. The point of the editorial is to show how Microsoft: is making moves to deprecate legacy, has incentive to remove legacy, and why that is absolutely terrible from so many perspectives.

Also, that is journalism.

((Also, as you no doubt read from other comments: I really liked Windows 8. I was planning to develop from Windows 8 including switching my main machine over. It was only a couple of months ago that I looked down the path of where Windows was headed and got very uncomfortable. Hope I'm wrong... but if I'm not -- and Microsoft doesn't shy away -- know that you've been warned.))

November 1, 2012 | 12:23 AM - Posted by Andrew (not verified)

Thanks Scott,
This is scary but,not surprising.

November 5, 2012 | 01:25 AM - Posted by Chefbenito (not verified)

Hate to state the obvious, but if it is as bad as you say then nobody will use it and it will fail. If the point of the article is to discuss how big companies (banks, phone co's,software, hardware, insurance co's) have incentives to remove legacy I think that is a bit obvious.

It all about new, new and change or diminish the old. Everyone has been "grandfathered in" with an old plan because new plans change. New iOS updates and now my first gen ipod touch (which works flawlessly) will no longer play netflix and many apps are broken. Car companies, insurance companies all big business follows this model. That you have dissected Microsoft and Windows RT and their nefariousness hopefully we can move on to say, every other major company that does the same thing.

As for using the linux kernel, there are countless for profit, closed systems that use some linux kernal or another.

Still really feels like finger pointing and FUD

December 18, 2012 | 08:05 PM - Posted by Marjory Quezad (not verified)

As soon as I observed this internet site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.