Review Index:
Feedback

Gaming Like Its 1999: Building A Legacy Windows Gaming PC

Author: Matt Smith
Subject: Editorial
Manufacturer:

My Build, Buying Tips

 

Here’s the hardware I purchased for my legacy gaming PC.
 
Monitor: Sony Trinitron Multiscan 200sf 17” - $25
 
View Full Size
 
My first computer was a Sony Vaio that came complete with a Sony Trinitron 15” monitor. It was a beautiful piece of equipment and I was overjoyed to find that a similar 17” monitor was available on Craigslist for just $25. I immediately went over to look at it and found it to be in mint condition with the exception of some marks on the top of the monitor where something hot obviously touched and melted the plastic. 
 
The 17” size worked for me, as well. It fits on my desk besides my other monitors. I may have been able to squeeze in a 19” but I am not sure it would have been comfortable.
 
Computer: Custom Built Used PC - $40 + $10 (For Windows 98 SE)
 
View Full Size
 
Portland has a computer parts thrift store called Free Geek that, according to its mission statement, believes “reuse is the highest and best form of recycling.” They take old computer parts, refurbish them, and re-sell them. It’s hardware geek heaven.
 
There I found, after about a week searching elsewhere, a system that would be perfect. It was a no-name build in a no-name case that someone had obviously put together themselves. And they apparently knew what they were doing – it had an ASUS K8V-XM motherboard with an (unused) AGP slot, an AMD Sempron 2400+ processor, 512MB of RAM and a 40GB hard drive. 
 
Yes, this is a newer system than I had aimed for and you don’t need hardware this fast. But the price is what sold me. Forty bucks. What a steal! The only problem was that it ran Ubuntu, so I had to track down a copy of Windows 98 SE on Craigslist. Most computers will already have a copy of Windows installed.
 
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 5600 MX 128MB - $5
 
View Full Size
 
This fell into my lap while I was at Free Geek hunting for the PC. What sold me on it was the fact that Nvidia still had drivers compatible with Windows 98 available for download. Older video cards that are more accurate for the era are often hard to find drivers for.
 
Sound Card: Onboard
 
I picked up a Sound Blaster Audigy that supposedly had driver support for Windows 98 SE via an .iso available on a Sound Blaster fan site, but I could not get the card to produce sound. Fortunately the ASUS motherboard had a decent onboard solution and the official drivers were still available. I’m still on the lookout for a dedicated card, but the onboard solution will do for now.
 
Joystick: Microsoft Sidewinder Force Feedback 2 - $5
 
View Full Size
 
Having a vintage joystick is an important part of this era’s gaming experience. Many titles only worked well if you had a joystick to play them with. I had originally wanted a Sidewinder 3D Pro, but I decided to give the Force Feedback 2 a try. Despite its 13 years of age the joystick’s force feedback motors still work, as do all of its buttons and inputs. I picked this Joystick up as Free Geek as well, but any Goodwill or other large thrift store is likely to have a few joysticks sitting around.
 
Keyboard + Mouse: $10
 
View Full Size
 
A simple Microsoft mouse and a IBM keyboard - found both at Goodwill, which usually has a ton of old perpherials in stock. 
 
Total Cost Of Hardware
 
I ended up coming way under budget for the build. Let’s review.
  • Monitor - $25
  • Computer - $40
  • Operating System: $10
  • Video Card: $5
  • Joystick: $5
  • Total: $95
 
For less than one hundred dollars I had everything I needed for a vintage gaming machine. This figure may not impress you, but if you decide to go hunting for your own parts, your perspective will change quickly. 
 
You’ve Gained Experience! Purchasing Tips
 
Buy Local
 
View Full Size
Image Credit: Jeff Kubina
When I first decided on this project I thought that hitting my budget goal would be a cakewalk. The real issue, I imagined, would be getting the computer to work properly.
 
Reality quickly humbled me. Some of the people who are in possession of old hardware seem to know what they have. At any time you can purchase a ready-to-go vintage gaming PC on eBay. But you’ll be looking at prices that range between $100 and $400 for the computer alone. And that’s before shipping. Vintage components are often at least $20 each.
 
It turns out that going local is your best bet. You don’t have to pay shipping, which automatically cuts money out of the budget. Prices are usually lower, as well. While you have access to fewer sellers, they have access to fewer buyers, and this balance seems to work out in your favor. 
 
Patience is required. While I lucked out on my monitor, I had to check Craigslist every day for a week and check twelve different shops (a combination of Goodwills, pawn shops and computer thrift stores) before finding an acceptable system at an acceptable price. Don’t let your impulses get the better of you. 
 
The Driver Tango
 
Sniping hardware at the right price is half the battle. The other half is sniping the right hardware – and driver availability is often the difference between right and wrong.
 
Manufacturers understandably discontinue driver support for old products. Unfortunately, they often take the drivers off the Internet and close relevant product support pages. And hardware is useless without the right drivers. 
 
Sometimes you will have to download a driver from a third party because the driver is no longer available on the official site and sometimes you won’t be able to find a driver at all. Checking for this issue before you buy will save you from wasting money. 
 
Be Prepared For Trouble
 
When I set out on this project I wanted to keep it within a certain budget. However, I also knew that I was dealing with older computer components with limited or no driver support. This meant it was likely that I was going to have to deal with hardware that isn’t working properly and may need to be replaced. There needed to be room in the budget to cover that.
 
I was right. The sound card that I purchased, a Sound Blaster Audigy, would not function after the drivers were installed. I simply could not get it to produce any sound or provide any indication that it was working. It was detected, and listed in the device manager as functional, but wasn’t doing its job.
 
Since I had bought the Audigy at a thrift store I was able to return it. But I could have just as easily experienced a problem with the $25 monitor sold on Craiglist by a guy preparing to move across the country. 
July 20, 2012 | 01:52 PM - Posted by Arb1 (not verified)

um just a thought wouldn't it be cheaper to say run win98 in VMware or something? being graphic's being what they were back then it should be more then fast enough.

July 22, 2012 | 02:50 PM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

True. Emulation is sufficient performance wise for such old games, and you don't have to bother with extra junk PC.

July 22, 2012 | 06:46 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I initially went the VMware route. And the VirtualBox route. And the Virtual PC route. While in theory it sure does sound nice, many of these games were created in a chaotic time of hardware and their related drivers. Plus, with virtualization, the graphics and sound hardware that's emulated tends to stress more application compatibility, and aren't exactly optimal for virtualized Windows gaming.

MechWarrior II (at least the Titanium edition) on a very fast PC has weird quirks involving accel/deceleration, weight, and jumpjet capacity.

MechWarrior III in a virtualized environment has a tendency to randomly send vehicles flying several kilometers into the sky at breakneck speeds, eventually throwing them off the map and leaving you unable to complete missions.

Some games just don't want to run due to extensive hardware and DirectX utilization.

There's a substantial difference in classic Windows gaming and classic DOS gaming, with the older DOS gaming ironically far easier as it was far simpler to emulate via DOSBox.

July 23, 2012 | 12:48 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Or VirtualBox. 100% free and supports 3d acceleration on some Guest OSes

July 20, 2012 | 02:17 PM - Posted by Kev (not verified)

Im ashamed to say... "I remember those days".

July 20, 2012 | 02:39 PM - Posted by Vlad (not verified)

Why are you ashamed? Those days were awesome! I'm proud that I lived through that golden era of gaming.

July 20, 2012 | 07:31 PM - Posted by DreadStorm (not verified)

Golden era? Try Wolfenstein on a 386. heh

July 22, 2012 | 11:22 AM - Posted by Old School Gamer (not verified)

I built my first PC which was a 386-25 that was going to be a screamer playing Doom at net parties. Cost me damn near $2,000. Tired of losing because of lag.

July 20, 2012 | 02:26 PM - Posted by KngtRider

Audigy 1 does work on windows 98, I was dual booting 98 and 2000

The first cards shipped after XP went gold but before general avalibilty,the drivers bundled were for windows 2000(WDM) and 98(VXD) and had compatiblty issues with XP.

They did not support XP or had XP drivers in the box (august 2001, sep 2001 for AUS)
XP formally launched in October. The drivers were buggy on RTM Win XP and later fixed.

Windows 2000 was not too good at multimedia or gaming

Some older games especially if you want to access the native MIDI compatibilty of the game you'll need VXD not WDM drivers as different features are exposed. (For ANY sound card of th era - SB, Yamaha, Aureal, CMedia)

98/ME can use WDM drivers - ie shared drivers witrh 2000/XP but only in certain instances and many features missing

I cant find my Audigy 1 review (long story) but I did find a screenshot showing the driver properties
heres

AIDA32 showing the Audigy 98SE(or did I have ME?) VXD driver
2002

http://www.nitroware.net/images/stories/audigy1/aida32.gif

Audigy 2 ZS (2003) launch units came with partial 98 "VXD" drivers

There is a zip on the CD that included the 98_ME VXD driver, however you had to install it yourself manually no installer. Creative Download Packages did allow a choice of VXD or WDM but VXD eventually disapeard.

The situation is much worse with other brand cards especially Yamaha and Aureal as in some cases even SPDIF control or hardware MIDI was not avallible.

Thats not the half of it. NT 4.0 audio drivers. wow. Modern Technology.

I was a mod a popular pc audio forum called 3dsoundsurge, some of you old hats may remeber it.I spent too much time providing tech support in the various audio card sub forums.

Realtek have 95/98/NT drivers for their older chips still for download.

I personally think this system is too new for 'legacy gaming', in fact the hardware is too new for 98SE also.

July 20, 2012 | 09:55 PM - Posted by Matt Smith

I'll have to give it another shot when I have time. I really want to get an older sound card working.

The hardware is newer than I intended, but I outlined the reasons for that. If you want to go pure era hardware you by all means can, but you have to spend a lot more time looking for hardware, or you need to expand your budget. 

Functionally, I don't think the hardware I picked is at any disadvantage. I mean, I suppose it is true that the video card won't support some older rendering methods, but the system is more than quick enough to go with the software renderer in those cases.

August 29, 2012 | 01:38 PM - Posted by HeavyG (not verified)

You are right about the Audigy 2 drivers. I used 7Zip to pull out the drivers, then manually updated them with the files I extracted. They work perfectly fine.

July 20, 2012 | 02:38 PM - Posted by D1RTYD1Z619

I used to have a pc running win 98se just to play combat flight similator and mechwarrior 2 with my sidewinder forcefeed back joystick. Sadly I had to get rid of it due to space constraints.

July 20, 2012 | 09:56 PM - Posted by Matt Smith

Yep, space is a problem. I have just enough room. I suspect some people would go DOSBox or virtualization no matter the cost or difficulity of a system like this, just because they don't have enough room for it.

July 20, 2012 | 02:55 PM - Posted by collie (not verified)

this is an amazingly fun project that I have done myself 2 times, one for a windows 98 pentium 2, and one for a dos 6.2.2 486. I Most of what Matt says is true, correct and good advice...... Except for "As far as I know you could also use Windows ME without compatibility issues"
While compatibility would not be a problem, Windows ME is! It is the worst OS that Microsoft has ever released. Random Degradation starts on day one of install, all of the "New Features" it included, system restore in particular, were not ready for the consumer, and the blue screen of death was almost as common a sight as the desktop.
The legend is that Windows ME was only released due to the fact that Microsoft had promised a "New OS for the new Millennium" but "Whistler" wasn't ready, so they patched together an updated windows 98 that never realy worked properly, so they wouldn't look bad for promising a impossible to achieve release date, and What was supposed to be ME became XP, one of the best operating systems to date.

So the moral of the story is, NO WIN ME!!!!!!

July 21, 2012 | 12:22 AM - Posted by Collie man (not verified)

Side note, as of 5 mins ago I now have a full k-6 system to play with. Did somebody say DOOM?

July 22, 2012 | 11:24 AM - Posted by KngtRider

PCPER is a place of facts logic and reason not hate or hearsay which is why I like to frequent here.

Win Me came out because it was time for Windows release cycle. There is no conspiracy.

Roughly without aid of wikipedia

1995 Win 95 Gold/Retail/Upgrade
1996 95A and 95B
1997 95 OSR 2.X
1998 Win 98/98SE
1999 Windows 2000
2000 Win ME
2001 Win XP
2002-3 Win MCE, Server 2003/Win X64
2004-5 XP service Packs
2006 vista
2009 7
2012 8

Approx every 3 years = new major OS with minor OS in between and that excludes betas which void this rule.

Have people forgotten how many versions of WIn 3.x/NT there were too? some of these should have been free updates
Win 3.1
Win 3.11
Win 3.12* some claim it exists some dont
Win 3.11 for Workgroups
NT 3.1,3.5,3.51, NT4
MSDOS was as much as a clustef!@# too 3.x to 6.x and point releases mattered.

Windows 2000 was NOT a consumer oriented OS.

The only issue with winme for legacy gaming is they removed the exit to dos feature.

It even had USB mass storage support, 98se needs random drivers from random websites for mass storage.

98SE bsods on most systems let alone me. It also had the 'degrading' you speak of after a few hours. It is for this reason that 'professionals' used NT4.0 and later Win2000 for any system that had to be depended on.

There were many known issues for 98SE, such as issues with fast processors, high ram or large disks.

It does not support SMP let alone WinME. But winme has been a scapegoat for years when the finger should have been at the whole win9x family for being too directly dependant on hw/drivers and not being abstracted from a driver sense.

Its funny how many on the internet who criticise ME are obvilious to the fact that MS had to release 98SE to 'improve' 98 and 95a,b and a few more updates, some of which were not avalible as a download/covercd patch.

MS released some kernel updates for 95 (they never have since only full service packs)

And to this day I am still annoyed that MS didnt let 98 GOLD owners patch to 98 SE either free or cheaply

95 gold AKA 95A on CDROM was nasty in terms of its hardware support.

July 22, 2012 | 02:52 PM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

Entire 9x line was BSOD prone, that was inherent architectural fault, that couldn't be fixed with any service pack - that's why MS moved to NT kernel line, which was completely different beast.

July 22, 2012 | 06:42 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I hear ya', brother.

Back in the day, you tended to just by a machine with Windows rather than upgrade. 95 and 98 were interesting and still good OS'es, but they definitely had their share of crashes and BSoDs. I never got to use WinME until a few years ago while playing around with an older machine from 2002, but it was far less of a hassle than people made it out to be. Yeah, it crashed, but not any more than I remember in 95 and 98/98SE.

People tend to forget the days before WinXP and its giant cache of drivers that did its best to make sure your hardware would run.

July 20, 2012 | 03:08 PM - Posted by Finedaible

Ahh, I remember the days when I had a Windows 98 pc. My favorite game was Descent 3. I had even built various levels to play on. It was awesome!

July 20, 2012 | 03:28 PM - Posted by Octavean (not verified)

dude, I just tossed out a lot of old hardware that would have made for a good legacy gaming PC. I blame my Wife for this,..... ;-)

I must have tossed out three 17" Viewsonic CRT monitors. A couple of cases with PII / PIII motherboards (I kept the CPUs, HDD and RAM). All sorts of other nick-nacks.

Damn it!

July 20, 2012 | 03:40 PM - Posted by Luke (not verified)

Note that with an old school rig like this, you could install a 'Good Old Game' and copy the files to your rig, playing them 'au naturale'.

Good article! Props!
Luke

July 20, 2012 | 03:46 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

A couple of things:

The GPU you used is newer than the one in this system (5200FX)
When you partitioned the drive, did you run into the 32GB partition limit? I'm sure I remember this being a problem with FAT 32.
I find that booting into something like Ubuntu is a good way of testing nonfunctioning hardware like your sound card.

Very interesting read.

July 21, 2012 | 01:32 AM - Posted by Thedarklord

FAT32 is able to create volumes up to 2TB in size, you go around the 32GB limit during the (in this case) Windows 98 install, it will prompt you early on in the install for something like "enable large disk support" which will allow you to create volumes larger than 32GB. :)

July 22, 2012 | 11:31 AM - Posted by KngtRider

2000/xp/vista, not sure on win7 have a FAT formatting limit (versus volume limit) that is documented as a known issue-nofix by Microsoft. Third party disk/USB formatting tools overcome this issue.

Third party tools are often faster or support boot also

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314463

July 20, 2012 | 05:48 PM - Posted by Nilbog

Great article

I have to ask, how is this easier that just running games through DOSBox?
DOSBox is what GoG and Steam use to get these old games to run on modern hardware.
Its easy.

July 20, 2012 | 09:57 PM - Posted by Matt Smith

No doubt, DOSBox is easier than this, and cheaper too. 

July 20, 2012 | 06:20 PM - Posted by TechXero (not verified)

WoW Awesome little Project man !

Seems am one of few lucky ones ! My dad, back in the Pentium III days bought me one as a gift ... I can now safely say he did well preserving it and still using it to this day as his office internet and faxing machine ....

Finally I can ask for it back since he got another machine he can use instead, to use it for this Memory lane project ...

Thanks for this ;)

July 20, 2012 | 11:18 PM - Posted by anonimous (not verified)

Would this work for ya?
http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0389068
it costs $99.99
AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3200 @ 2GHz
1Gb RAM
40GB Hdd
AMD Radeon X200
AC'97 Audio Chipset
Comes with XP Profesional instead of 98SE.
It's also on the first page of the catalog top left.

July 21, 2012 | 02:18 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Gee, I wish I had Total Annihilation 2!:P

You must be a little younger than I; these are games from late high school!

Amiga days were where it was at!

Were a few classics released around the time win95 introduced the directX stranglehold on PC hardware.(quake, duke3d,warcraft,few lucasarts adventure games,etc.) They were, of course, DOS games. Remember how bad 95 made your hardware seem? Why the fuck doesn't the next version of windows run better than the previous? More time to tweak it! I swear Microsoft is the most fucking

*rant detected: ABORTING*

July 21, 2012 | 02:58 AM - Posted by Atari6502 (not verified)

Wow, I was just thinking of doing this very thing with an old Shuttle w/ an AMD XP 2400. I knew there was a reason I didn't throw away my copy of Win 98se. :)
I have a bunch of old games still in their boxes.
I didn't think about having to patch them though.
Good advice of finding them on a separate system and transferring them over.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.