Review Index:
Feedback

That's not a monitor, this is a monitor! Meet the Dell UltraSharp U3011 Review

Subject: Displays
Manufacturer: Dell

Introduction to the Dell U3011

The days of “Dude, you're getting a Dell” might be long gone but when you are talking about monitors it suddenly becomes apropos again. Dell has been making good quality, large size monitors for long enough to be recognized as a major player in the field and the 30” Dell U3011 is a perfect example of why. Anyone who has seen a true 16:10, 2560x1600 display has probably had the temptation to tell a smug owner of a 50”+ 1080p LCD TV that their computer monitor goes up to 1600p. That jump in resolution has far more effect on your enjoyment than slapping on 3D glasses to watch golf with golfball sized pixels.

View Full Size

This particular display is a CCFL backlit H-IPS TFT, using an LG LM300WQ5 panel and does indeed have a full 30” viewing area, the actual monitor is over 32” horizontally with the bezel included, something to keep in mind if you plan on using multiple displays. With that great size comes some difficulties, while nowhere near the weigh of a large sized CRT the over 20lbs of the U3011 can make removing it from the box and positioning it interesting to say the least. Also something to keep in mind is that according to Dell, in regular use this monitor draws 110W and can pull up to 250W when USB drives are in use and you’ve bought and installed a Dell Soundbar.

View Full Size

View Full Size

April 29, 2011 | 07:12 PM - Posted by undermined (not verified)

It can do full resolution over dual-dvi cable

http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/MONITORS/U3011/en/ug/optimal.htm

like most modern monitors the default windows pnp driver will not always set a proper resolution.

HDMI is limited still

May 1, 2011 | 11:57 AM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

I was using the Catalyst 11.2's for this review and I could not coax them to see above 1920x1200 as a maximum resolution with the dual DVI cord. I am sure there exist some driver versions that will reach their full potential for those with a 30" monitor and a card without DisplayPort but really, isn't it simpler to invest in a card that can manage DisplayPort than hunt down a specific driver?

May 9, 2011 | 07:04 PM - Posted by HeavyG_TPG (not verified)

Well, that is an interesting statement. Mainly because I purchased two EVGA GTX 570 cards to run in SLI and ended up purchasing two EK water blocks to cool them with my WC loop. So I basically invested over $900 in my graphics cards, discovering shortly after that the reference GTX 570 cards did not feature display port!

Sure, they had the mini HDMI port, but no display port? I was just confused as to why they would have mini HDMI but no display port. Of course, the EVGA GTX 570 HD now features display port! Go figure.

April 30, 2011 | 05:54 PM - Posted by ThorAxe

I have a U2711 and it is amazing with the smallest dotch pitch available on a monitor.

I wish I had the cash for a U3011 but as also have a U2410 and U2311 as well I think my wife would kill me!

May 2, 2011 | 07:47 AM - Posted by ana3mic

I have a 2311 and it's awesome! I can't imagine how better the bigger guys could be, also they are kinda pricey for me so never given 'em a thought. Hail IPS!!!

May 9, 2011 | 06:58 PM - Posted by HeavyG_TPG (not verified)

I also have the U2711. Although it is a bit smaller than the U3011, it is still "big" for a monitor. I immediately noticed the color difference when playing BC2: Vietnam. It changed my gaming experience for good.

Maybe next year I will upgrade to the U3011, unless there is something better. Either that or I will get a 2nd U2711.

May 1, 2011 | 05:32 AM - Posted by 63jax

very nice, but i can't understand why they are not using ATW Polarizers anymore, it's a shame really, they could make really nice blacks on IPS.

May 1, 2011 | 12:04 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

Looking straight on the blacks on this are great, it is only if you are a bit off of true that you notice a bit of lightness to it at the edges. I do prefer that to the colour changes you get going off of true on a TN monitor.

May 2, 2011 | 02:15 AM - Posted by 63jax

of course is vastly superior to any TN crap but they should use ATW Polarizer for hi-end IPS monitors.

May 4, 2011 | 05:56 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

wonder if I can convince someone to send me a display with it so I can compare

May 6, 2011 | 07:16 AM - Posted by 63jax

with that ATW Polarizers we have nice black just like PVA's, they look really nice

May 11, 2011 | 02:59 AM - Posted by ThorAxe

The U2412HM looks like a step backwards from the U2410. :(

August 9, 2011 | 05:57 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

"...work to pay for it or use it as a task write off..."

task-->tax

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.