Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS PB287Q 4K UHD 28-in Monitor Review

Author:
Subject: Displays
Manufacturer: ASUS

4K for $649

The growth and adoption of 4K resolution panels (most commonly 3840x2160) has really been the biggest story of the past year or so in the world of PC gaming. After a couple of TVs that ran at 3840x2160 over HDMI at 30 Hz found there way into our offices, the first real 60 Hz 4K monitor that I got some hands on time with was the ASUS PQ321Q. This monitor was definitely targeted at the profressional market with its IGZO display (near IPS quality) and somewhat high price tag of $3500. It has since dropped to $2400 or so but it remains somewhat complicated by the use of MST technology (multi-stream transport) that was required to hit 60 Hz.

Earlier this month I took a look at the Samsung U28D590D 28-in 4K panel that was capable of 60 Hz refresh rates for just $699. This display used a single-stream transport DisplayPort connection to keep setup simple but used a TN panel rather than IPS/IGZO. This meant viewing angles were not as strong (though better than most TN screens you have seen before) but...that price! 

Today we have our second low cost, SST 4K monitor to evaluate, the ASUS PB287Q. We saw it at CES back in January and with a launch date of June 10th and an MSRP $649, ASUS is setting itself up for an impressive release. 

So what can you expect if you purchase the ASUS PB287Q 4K monitor? In short you get an adequate screen that won't live up to IPS standards but is just good enough for the PC gamer and productivity user in all of us. You'll also get a form factor that well exceeds that of the Samsung U28D590D with fully moveable stand and VESA mounting. And a price of $649 for a 3840x2160 screen doesn't hurt either.

View Full Size

Read on the next pages for more details on the user experience in Windows 8.1 as well as while gaming to see if this is the right monitor for you to buy this summer!

Continue reading our review of the ASUS PB287Q 4K 60 Hz 28-in Monitor!!

Specifications (from ASUS.com)



Display  
Panel Size Wide Screen 28" (71.12cm) 16
True Resolution 3840x2160 at 60Hz (DisplayPort) ,3840x2160 at 30Hz (HDMI)
Pixel Pitch 0.16mm
Brightness(Max) 300 cd/㎡
ASUS Smart Contrast Ratio (ASCR) 100000000
Viewing Angle (CR≧10) 170°(H)/160°(V)
Response Time 1ms (Gray to Gray)
Display Colors 1073.7M (10bit)
LCD ZBD Warranty Yes
Video Feature  
  Trace Free Technology
  SPLENDID Video Intelligence Technology
SPLENDID Video Preset Modes 8 Modes (sRGB Mode/Scenery Mode/Theater Mode/Standard Mode/Night View Mode/Game Mode/Reading Mode/Darkroom Mode)
Skin-Tone Selection 3 Modes
Color Temperature Selection 4 Modes
QuickFit (modes) Yes ( Modes)
GamePlus(modes) Yes (Aimpoint/Timer)
  Picture-in-Picture
  Picture-by-Picture
  HDCP support
  VividPixel
Audio Features  
Stereo Speakers 2W x 2 Stereo RMS
  Convenient Hotkey
SPLENDID Video Preset Mode Selection  
  Auto. Adjustment
  Brightness Adjustment
  Contrast Adjustment
  Volume Adjustment
  Input Selection
  Picture-in-Picture
  QuickFit
I/O Ports  
Signal Input HDMI , HDMI/MHL, DisplayPort
PC Audio Input 3.5mm Mini-Jack
Earphone jack 3.5mm Mini-Jack (for HDMI & DisplayPort Only)
Signal Frequency  
Digital Signal Frequency 24~99KHz(H) / 30~75Hz(V)
Power Consumption  
Power ON (Typical) < 60W*
Power Saving Mode < 0.5W
Power Off Mode < 0.5W
Voltage 100–240V, 50 / 60 Hz
Mechanical Design  
Chassis Colors Black
Tilt +20°~-5°
Swivel Yes
Pivot Yes
Height Adjustment Yes
VESA Wall Mounting 100x100mm
Security Kensington lock
Dimensions  
Phys. Dimension with Stand(WxHxD) 660x414(lowest)x220.06 mm
Phys. Dimension without Stand(WxHxD) 660.26x380.67x63.55 mm
Box Dimension (WxHxD) 764x465x224 mm
Weight  
Net Weight (Esti.) 7.9kg
Gross Weight (Esti.) 10.6kg
Accessories  
  Cable Clamp
  Audio cable
  Power cord
  DisplayPort cable (Optional)
  Quick start guide
  HDMI cable (Optional)
  Warranty Card
  MHL cable (Optional)

Though not specifically stated, the PB287Q is definitely a TN panel, though as I mentioned above, probably looks better than any other TN monitor you have seen before. The screen itself is basically identical to that of the Samsung 4K U28D590D so the viewing quality of these two competing monitors are going to be the same. It's the rest of the package around the ASUS PB287Q that helps it stand out. You have the improved stand, you have a better on-screen display, more features integrated. 

May 27, 2014 | 10:00 AM - Posted by Alancsjr (not verified)

"The ASUS monitor, on the left just has a level of flexibility that the Samsung option cannot offer"

It is your other left :) Great review though...

May 27, 2014 | 11:37 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thanks, fixed!

May 27, 2014 | 10:03 AM - Posted by mAxius

now cram this into a 24" :)

May 27, 2014 | 11:38 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Why would you want to? I already think 28-in might be too small to really take advantage of this kind of pixel count.

May 27, 2014 | 12:10 PM - Posted by pastuch

I couldn't agree more. I have a 27 inch 1440P that I need to increase font sizes on to be comfortable. I have 20/20 vision in both eyes and I'm only 33 years old. I actually really like the look of the 32inch 1440P Benq just came out with but it's a little slow for gaming. (TFTCentral)

I'm planning on using a Vizio P Series 50 Inch 4k as my primary computer monitor when it comes out. Assuming it supports Chroma Subsampling (4:4:4.) At 50 inches it would have almost the same PPI as a current 24 inch 1080p monitor.

For more info on Chroma Subsampling reference:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1381724/official-4-4-4-chroma-subsampling-thre...

May 27, 2014 | 12:16 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I find the Dell UP2414Q perfectly usable at normal distances with no scaling.

May 27, 2014 | 04:48 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Will these SST 4k monitors ever come in larger sizes like 34-36"?

May 29, 2014 | 11:49 AM - Posted by OctaveanActually (not verified)

I agree with Ryan on this. A 28" 4K monitor is about the minimum size IMO without employing scaling / pixel doubling. 32" is probably a bit more comfortable at native 3840x2160 but 24" is likely unusable.

If you really want a 24" 4K monitor then the Dell UP2414Q has been out for some time and has a better quality IPS display that will do 60Hz at 3840x2160. I've seen it for a low as ~$850 USD. I would have bought one myself but IMO it was too small overall and too small for the then MSRP of about ~$1300. Its also MST at 60Hz using the older UHD scales and I have heard some people stating that the two halves of the MST aren't always in sync (this causes rips / tearing down the center of the screen).

I wouldn't touch anything smaller then 28" for 4K desktop use personally. I wish they would make 32" or larger TN 4K displays for about ~$1000 USD or so.

May 27, 2014 | 10:44 AM - Posted by Polycrastinator (not verified)

Here’s the Chrome High DPI fix:

Go to chrome://flags and find the “HiDPI Support Windows” then set to enabled. Save, restart Chrome. Close Chrome again, and go to its properties. Go to the compatibility tab, and select “Disable display scaling on High DPI settings.” Apply, open up Chrome again, and voila, Chrome works just fine.

Why doesn't Google enable this by default? No idea. But it's frustrating because if you don't know the option is there, there's no way to find out about it. And it's not exactly easy to enable.

May 27, 2014 | 11:38 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I'll give this a shot.

But you're right, it's beyond annoying that somehow this wasn't better integrated.

May 27, 2014 | 02:06 PM - Posted by Polycrastinator (not verified)

I've used it on a 32" Dell 4K monitor we got in at work. It definitely improves things a lot in terms of clarity. It still doesn't look as good as IE does with scaling on, but it's better.

May 30, 2014 | 12:08 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I could not find the setting you mentioned.
I only found "Force high DPI mode Chrome OS".

May 30, 2014 | 03:41 PM - Posted by Polycrastinator (not verified)

One of my colleagues discovered this this morning. They removed the setting with the latest version of Chrome. You now need to enter a registry change to enable High DPI mode. Honestly, at this point my feeling is Google wants to make it as difficult to enable as possible in an effort to make Windows look bad, but keep the code in there so as High DPI screen proliferate they can flip the switch once they start looking out of step.
Anyway, here's a link to the changes that need to be made. I haven't had the opportunity to see if this works, so use at your own risk:

https://groups.google.com/a/chromium.org/forum/#!topic/chromium-dev/U_K1NHuMLic

May 27, 2014 | 10:53 AM - Posted by JosiahBradley

For monitor reviews can we get a picture taken from the bottom of the monitor for extreme angles. I have found TN panels fair far worse when veiwed from the bottom. This presents itself as a very obvious problem when you use portrait mode as either your left or right will go completely black. This has prevented me from setting up a portrait eyefinity display in the past. Thanks for the review.

May 27, 2014 | 11:40 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Even if you set it up in portait mode, you would still aim to look at the center, correct?

We did include one image from the top - but I'll look at the bottom to see if anything is different there.

May 27, 2014 | 01:06 PM - Posted by JosiahBradley

In my line of work I have my monitors on arms to show projects to clients sitting next to me, each view the monitor off center. When I did dual portrait the TN panels were completely unusable due to the aforementioned black effect. I prefer portrait mode becasue I work on webpages were height beats out width. And portrait is beautiful for long pages of code.

May 27, 2014 | 01:34 PM - Posted by Fishbait

Although graphics performance scaling is mostly linear (for single card machines), I just drew a parallel between this and automobile top speed. The amount of hp needed to just push the air in front of your car increases dramatically with speed. :D

May 27, 2014 | 02:20 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

My eyes are not that good anymore...I'll pass.

May 27, 2014 | 02:23 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I thought it was 4320...Quad HD ?

May 28, 2014 | 12:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Qhd stands for 1280x720 * 4.
4k commonly refers to 1920x1080 * 4.

720p is also HD. 1080p is FHD. QFHD doesn't have the same ring as 4k.

May 30, 2014 | 05:14 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

4K is also known as UHD

June 12, 2014 | 04:31 AM - Posted by Aaron (not verified)

4k and UHD are different.
DCI 4k = 4096 × 2160
UHD = 3840 × 2160

May 27, 2014 | 03:28 PM - Posted by VitalSyntax (not verified)

What are the chances of future G-Sync support? Do you think ASUS will offer a 4k G-Sync monitor within the next year? I know they have the SWIFT at 1440p, but I'm looking for 4k. I see that ACER has a 4k G-Sync monitor coming soon, hope ASUS offers this as well. Do you think 4k is worth it without G-Sync, because most games will run sub 60fps, and G-Sync would be very helpful.

May 28, 2014 | 01:05 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Hey Ryan

What do you think of the new LG 34UM95 34" UltraWide Monitor
21:9 3440x1440

especially for gaming?

Will you be getting one in for review?

cheers

May 28, 2014 | 05:44 PM - Posted by Carl W (not verified)

I am primarily a Photoshop user as opposed to being a gamer.
FPS will not be an issue in my case as I am looking for raw real estate. I need to know if my AMD A8-5600 on-board GPU will be able to push the necessary resolution?
Thanks.

May 28, 2014 | 09:51 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ryan.. need to fix this line contained in the third from last paragraph of the article..

"I am guessing that demand, at least early in the release, will outstrip demand."

Demand outstrip demand? Supply needs to replace one of those demands!!

June 12, 2014 | 04:40 AM - Posted by Aaron (not verified)

Personally I find the good old 30" 2560/1600 still works a treat, no need for any scaling and not that taxing that I need $3k worth of graphics card(s).

Still, why can't Nvidia let us have 4x 750ti's?

2x dual 750ti cards will do the trick.

If the 750ti can drive 1080p gaming with a 60w tdp then four of these at 240w tdp, much lower than the 1000+ watts of the high end cards, should be able to drive UHD resolutions.

June 22, 2014 | 12:19 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I am wondering if you ran into any of the issues many of us early adopters have? 1st I had to test out 3 DP cables before I could get one that handled the 4k @ 60hz. 2nd the monitor doesn't wake up from sleep and often clicks off and requires the power to be removed because it will detect the video signal again.

June 25, 2014 | 07:59 PM - Posted by Jared T (not verified)

yeah my pb287q does this as well, it is really annoying to reach back and unplug it...

August 6, 2014 | 07:16 AM - Posted by Jara Ja (not verified)

I found this Germany Review of the 4K Monitor: Asus PB287Q Test
It seems to be quite good - but the translation sucks. :)

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.