Feedback

Video Perspective: Corsair Carbide 500R and 400R Case Review

Author:
Manufacturer: Corsair

Corsair Carbide Series

Corsair's successful entry into the case world has taken quite a few people by surprise including consumers and many competitors in the case market.  With the first Corsair Obsidian series, the 800D, Corsair standardized many features that were only seen in much more niche products like cable routing openings on the motherboard tray and fan filters.  Since that release in September of 2009 we have seen the 600T in the Graphite series as well as the 700D and 650D added to the Obsidian. 

When Corsair showed us the first versions of the Carbide series in Taiwan during Computex 2011, it was finally addressing the primary complaint that many had about its cases: price.  The Carbide 500R can be found today for about $139 and the 400R for under $100.  

View Full Size

The Corsair Carbide 400R (left) and 500R White (right)

Check out our video review of the pair of Carbide cases below!

You can find the Corsair Carbide cases for sale directly on the Corsair.com website or at Newegg.com:

My preference would be to get the 400R model with the noticeable price difference (relatively speaking) as it offers nearly identical performance and features, minus the larger side fan, very basic fan controller and removable drive cages.  Both are top notch designs for the low-cost gamer though and earn our PC Perspective Gold Award!

View Full Size

January 3, 2012 | 10:49 AM - Posted by Michael (not verified)

RE: Video Perspective: Corsair Carbide 500R and 400R Case Review

An excellent overview; however, could you please turn the music down or off? Thank-You, Michael

January 4, 2012 | 12:00 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Was it louder that normal? We'll look into it.

January 3, 2012 | 01:27 PM - Posted by John H (not verified)

Hey great overview- I totally love this case (500R), still fits an old external Koolance EXOS on top. Not sure why anyone would buy the more expensive 600/650 series over this case...

January 17, 2012 | 03:42 PM - Posted by Jason R. (not verified)

I agree, the 400/500R cases have pretty much everything you could ever want in a case. The only thing would be that they can't hold mobo's bigger than ATX...but with boards like the Rampage IV Formula....anything bigger seems like a waste of time, space and money. I'm honestly debating switching from my Cooler Master Storm Scout (which is a great case, don't get me wrong) to the 500R. Thanks for the review guys, another great one :)

January 4, 2012 | 09:35 AM - Posted by Tricky0502 (not verified)

i just got the 400r for christmas. i spent a few hours troubleshooting my system after installing all of my components into the case. turns out the power switch was was bad and shorting out my system. i am still waiting for corsair to send me a replacement front panel. i am running my system with the reset button as the power button for the time being.

January 4, 2012 | 10:27 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Wow, I have never heard of that problem on any case...

January 4, 2012 | 02:12 PM - Posted by Tricky0502 (not verified)

i got laughed at on another forum for not testing the case. who tests a case to make sure the power button works before they install components?

January 18, 2012 | 12:59 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I just love this case it is so huge and it feels so well put together. I had been wanting to get a new computer made for awhile and I was looking at all the Corsair cases because they all seemed to get rave reviews and awards. Well I originally wanted the 600T White Edition but the shipping was a little longer then need so I bought this case as Amazon could get it to me on time. This case is superb I haven't had a new PC in a few years and decided to get some really good items and this case works and looks great.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005E983JW/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=...

March 7, 2012 | 02:15 PM - Posted by studioguy (not verified)

Bad power switch here as well. On a 400r, this sounds like a common issue.

December 21, 2012 | 10:37 PM - Posted by fabaum22 (not verified)

So, since you guys got me into this website trough the 7870 giveway, I thought you could be of some assistance with my case problem (bear with me on this one).
I live in Brazil, which is a remarkably hot and humid country, and that makes me question if the 400r would really be the best option for me. Our summers reach temperatures of over 40°C with (very) high humidity, in which case the 500r's enormous side fan sounds somewhat crucial. Is it really?
What I mean to ask is, would the 400r properly take care of cooling in such situations? I do favor the 500 by default, but a cut in the budget wouldn't go unappreciated.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.