Review Index:
Feedback

NZXT H440 White Mid-Tower Case Review

Manufacturer: NZXT

Installation

Power Supply

View Full Size

The NZXT H440 Mid-Tower case is designed to mount a standard ATX style power supply at the bottom.  The power supply is first mounted to a sub plate and then easily slides into position from the back and is secured with four thumb screws on the backside panel.  

View Full Size

The power supply can be mounted either with the fan up to pull air out of the case or with the fan down. The dust filter covered opening on the bottom of the case allows outside air into the PSU when the PSU is mounted with its intake fan down.

ATX Motherboard and VGA Adapter

View Full Size

The H440 case is designed to accommodate ATX, Micro ATX, and Mini-ITX motherboards.  To see how things line up we installed a standard ATX motherboard and VGA adapter.  There is a large cutout behind the CPU socket area and the case uses pre-installed standoffs to mount the motherboard. The motherboard slid into position easily and mated up with the mounting holes and rear I/O opening as expected.  So did the graphic adapter. Thumb screws are used to secure expansion cards so you won’t have to worry about cards coming loose during transport.

The H440 chassis will accept graphic adapters up to 294mm (11.6”) long with the internal HDD/SSD trays all in place.  Removing a couple of the lower drive trays will allow mounting graphics adapters up to 406mm (16”) in length.

Internal Hard Disc Drives

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The internal 3.5” / 2.5” HDD trays are made out of steel, not plastic, and come fitted with rubber grommets (3.5” drives).  The trays are held in place with two thumb screws and there is a sixth location on the bottom panel underneath the removable trays.  

View Full Size

And last but not least, there are two 2.5” drive trays mounted on top of the power supply section shroud, below the motherboard area.

February 8, 2014 | 12:19 PM - Posted by Disappointed! (not verified)

I used to look up to you guys, but: I cannot believe that you claim to have done a case review, yet you do not seem to have installed a system into it, certainly not a working one!? Moreover this case is designed for a high level of water cooling and not a radiator in sight! Images also just taken directly from NZXT!? Disappointed...

February 8, 2014 | 02:49 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Yeah, it is kind of outrageous to award a Gold Award to a case without installing a system and testing its cooling performance. The more I think about it, the more outrageous it seems. Come on Ryan, editor and chief, consider the integrity of the site before you OK the reviews. I have always considered you, Ryan, to have a great deal of integrity, though you do seem to take AMD to task more than necessary. But I have to say, you keep them on their toes and that is much appreciated.

February 9, 2014 | 09:17 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Where do the 5.25" optical drives go for my Windows DVD? Oh right NZXT forgot about those.........what a worthless case....

February 12, 2014 | 01:38 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Install your windows image from a USB stick or external HDD. Get with the fucking times.

April 19, 2014 | 06:58 AM - Posted by Danny (not verified)

Bottom line here is that intel processors are a lot more expensive than
AMD. In electronics, the existence of electronic switches is pretty a
great deal established. Making low cost international calls is straightforward.

Have a look at my page h6

February 12, 2014 | 10:08 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Wow, you need an optical drive for ONE CD. What a fucking waste

March 26, 2014 | 11:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

NOT THE 5 25' BAYS!!! -_- no offence but seriously usb and external drives

February 9, 2014 | 10:04 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Lol yeah nzxt sure forgot that only morons require an optical drive to install windows because they can't figure out how to make a bootable USB... Caveman

February 9, 2014 | 10:31 AM - Posted by pdjblum

Hey Anonymous,

Why are you lashing out at yourself? Give yourself a break. You sure do post a lot; often with completely different views on the same article, as the case is here. Very confusing.

February 10, 2014 | 04:44 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

jackass

February 9, 2014 | 10:59 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Dissociative identity disorder is a very serious thing. We all struggle with... Lol

February 9, 2014 | 11:28 AM - Posted by pdjblum

That explains it. Well, sorry for giving you a hard time about it as it is hard disorder to live with, as are all the different personalities, I gather. I look forward to hearing from all your selves, especially when they are at odds.

February 12, 2014 | 01:35 AM - Posted by SwiftSilentDeath (not verified)

SteamOS build me thinks, goodbye Optical drive who uses CD's now anyway? everything is digital and as for windows and other operating systems. Just use a USB drive or if you can't cope with that, then get an external drive you keep in the cupboard.

March 16, 2014 | 08:43 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

wow, this community seems full of very rude people.

As for optical drives, some people burn CDs for long drives and family outings as well an burning movies for family and friends.

Stop acting like you are better than anyone else, you surely have proved otherwise in your immature and ignorant comments.

March 30, 2014 | 07:30 PM - Posted by Anon (not verified)

would have liked to see the hdd drive sleds have the option to mount a hdd to the under side as well. would have made for a pretty swish looking nas server. perhaps also make a version for e-atx. i like the clean look as well as the led lights for the rear io.

another thing they could have done, that would be unique is have replaceable front io boards so people can choose what io they want.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.