Review Index:
Feedback

NZXT H440 White Mid-Tower Case Review

Manufacturer: NZXT

A Detailed Look – At the Inside

Looking into the NZXT H440 case from the left side reveals a typical ATX mid-tower case layout with the power supply located at the bottom behind a shroud. There are no 5.25” drive bays; instead you get five removable 3.5”/2.5” HDD/SSD mounting trays from top to bottom across the front. The slide-out trays are made of steel and nicely spaced out for excellent airflow across each drive and into the case. The lower trays can be removed to provide additional room for extra long VGA adapters if desired (up to 406mm, 16”).

View Full Size

The H440 can support up to eight 3.5”/2.5” HDDs/SSDs. There are five removable drive trays in the front which can mount either 3.5” or 2.5” drives, and there is a sixth location on the bottom panel underneath the removable trays. And finally, there are two 2.5” drive trays mounted on top of the power supply section shroud, below the motherboard area.

View Full Size

Looking up towards the top panel shows the three different fan/radiator mounting locations for three 120mm fans or two 140mm fans. The top panel can also be used to mount a dual fan radiator (240mm) or a triple fan radiator (360mm).

View Full Size

Looking down towards the bottom of the H440 case reveals the single 140mm NZXT FN V2 fan on the back and the two 2.5” drive trays located on top of the power supply shroud.  

View Full Size

Moving around to the right side of the case shows the backside of the motherboard tray (note the large CPU area cutout) and the five removable 3.5”/2.5” drive trays. A sixth 3.5”/2.5” HDD/SSD mounting location is provided on the bottom panel.

View Full Size

The two small printed circuit boards and associated cabling take care of powering all four fans, the lighted NZXT logo and the two LED work lights on the back.

February 8, 2014 | 12:19 PM - Posted by Disappointed! (not verified)

I used to look up to you guys, but: I cannot believe that you claim to have done a case review, yet you do not seem to have installed a system into it, certainly not a working one!? Moreover this case is designed for a high level of water cooling and not a radiator in sight! Images also just taken directly from NZXT!? Disappointed...

February 8, 2014 | 02:49 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Yeah, it is kind of outrageous to award a Gold Award to a case without installing a system and testing its cooling performance. The more I think about it, the more outrageous it seems. Come on Ryan, editor and chief, consider the integrity of the site before you OK the reviews. I have always considered you, Ryan, to have a great deal of integrity, though you do seem to take AMD to task more than necessary. But I have to say, you keep them on their toes and that is much appreciated.

February 9, 2014 | 09:17 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Where do the 5.25" optical drives go for my Windows DVD? Oh right NZXT forgot about those.........what a worthless case....

February 12, 2014 | 01:38 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Install your windows image from a USB stick or external HDD. Get with the fucking times.

April 19, 2014 | 06:58 AM - Posted by Danny (not verified)

Bottom line here is that intel processors are a lot more expensive than
AMD. In electronics, the existence of electronic switches is pretty a
great deal established. Making low cost international calls is straightforward.

Have a look at my page h6

February 12, 2014 | 10:08 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Wow, you need an optical drive for ONE CD. What a fucking waste

March 26, 2014 | 11:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

NOT THE 5 25' BAYS!!! -_- no offence but seriously usb and external drives

February 9, 2014 | 10:04 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Lol yeah nzxt sure forgot that only morons require an optical drive to install windows because they can't figure out how to make a bootable USB... Caveman

February 9, 2014 | 10:31 AM - Posted by pdjblum

Hey Anonymous,

Why are you lashing out at yourself? Give yourself a break. You sure do post a lot; often with completely different views on the same article, as the case is here. Very confusing.

February 10, 2014 | 04:44 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

jackass

February 9, 2014 | 10:59 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Dissociative identity disorder is a very serious thing. We all struggle with... Lol

February 9, 2014 | 11:28 AM - Posted by pdjblum

That explains it. Well, sorry for giving you a hard time about it as it is hard disorder to live with, as are all the different personalities, I gather. I look forward to hearing from all your selves, especially when they are at odds.

February 12, 2014 | 01:35 AM - Posted by SwiftSilentDeath (not verified)

SteamOS build me thinks, goodbye Optical drive who uses CD's now anyway? everything is digital and as for windows and other operating systems. Just use a USB drive or if you can't cope with that, then get an external drive you keep in the cupboard.

March 16, 2014 | 08:43 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

wow, this community seems full of very rude people.

As for optical drives, some people burn CDs for long drives and family outings as well an burning movies for family and friends.

Stop acting like you are better than anyone else, you surely have proved otherwise in your immature and ignorant comments.

March 30, 2014 | 07:30 PM - Posted by Anon (not verified)

would have liked to see the hdd drive sleds have the option to mount a hdd to the under side as well. would have made for a pretty swish looking nas server. perhaps also make a version for e-atx. i like the clean look as well as the led lights for the rear io.

another thing they could have done, that would be unique is have replaceable front io boards so people can choose what io they want.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.