Review Index:
Feedback

NZXT H440 White Mid-Tower Case Review

Manufacturer: NZXT

Case Cooling – Air and/or Water

Air Cooling

The NZXT H440 Mid-Tower case was designed with excellent air-flow in mind to keep all your high-end gaming hardware running cool and reliable. Instead of 5.25” drive bays on the front panel you get three 120mm intake fans pre-installed with a nice dust filter that runs top to bottom. A fourth NZXT fan comes pre-installed on the back panel, 140mm rear exhaust. And assuming you mount the power supply with its intake fan on the bottom drawing outside air in through the bottom of the case (also fitted with a removable dust filter) this will result in having four intake fans creating a positive pressure inside the case, which helps keep dust out.

View Full Size

In addition to the four included NZXT fans the H440 enclosure provides three more mounting locations on the top panel for either three 120mm or two 140mm fans of your choice.

View Full Size

(NZXT FN V2 Fan - Courtesy of NZXT)

All four of the included case fans are NZXT FN V2 fans, their latest design, which are designed for long life and quiet operation. The 120mm fan spins up to 1,200 rpm and can move up to 45 CFM, while the 140mm version spins at 1,000 rpm and can move up to 50CFM. Both sizes of the VN F2 fans incorporate rifle bearings.

120mm NZXT FN V2 Case Fan Specifications (Courtesy of NZXT)

View Full Size

140mm NZXT FN V2 Case Fan Specifications (Courtesy of NZXT)

View Full Size

The following table lists the noise generated by the four included case fans while operating at different speeds with the side panels on.  Sound Pressure Levels were taken 3’ from the front of the enclosure.  The ambient background noise level was approximately 26 dBA in a quiet room.

View Full Size

With all four fans running at full speed (12 VDC) the noise is barely noticeable and certainly not loud while providing very good airflow through the case.  Slowing the fans down by reducing the voltage (or by adding your own fan speed controller) makes the H440 virtually silent.

Liquid Cooling

The NZXT H440 Mid-Tower case also supports liquid cooling with three different areas available for mounting one or more radiators of different sizes.
•    Front: up to three 120mm or two 140mm fan/radiator
•    Top: up to three 120mm or two 140mm fan/radiator
•    Rear: one 140/120mm

February 8, 2014 | 03:19 PM - Posted by Disappointed! (not verified)

I used to look up to you guys, but: I cannot believe that you claim to have done a case review, yet you do not seem to have installed a system into it, certainly not a working one!? Moreover this case is designed for a high level of water cooling and not a radiator in sight! Images also just taken directly from NZXT!? Disappointed...

February 8, 2014 | 05:49 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Yeah, it is kind of outrageous to award a Gold Award to a case without installing a system and testing its cooling performance. The more I think about it, the more outrageous it seems. Come on Ryan, editor and chief, consider the integrity of the site before you OK the reviews. I have always considered you, Ryan, to have a great deal of integrity, though you do seem to take AMD to task more than necessary. But I have to say, you keep them on their toes and that is much appreciated.

February 9, 2014 | 12:17 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Where do the 5.25" optical drives go for my Windows DVD? Oh right NZXT forgot about those.........what a worthless case....

February 12, 2014 | 04:38 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Install your windows image from a USB stick or external HDD. Get with the fucking times.

April 19, 2014 | 09:58 AM - Posted by Danny (not verified)

Bottom line here is that intel processors are a lot more expensive than
AMD. In electronics, the existence of electronic switches is pretty a
great deal established. Making low cost international calls is straightforward.

Have a look at my page h6

February 13, 2014 | 01:08 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Wow, you need an optical drive for ONE CD. What a fucking waste

March 27, 2014 | 02:32 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

NOT THE 5 25' BAYS!!! -_- no offence but seriously usb and external drives

February 9, 2014 | 01:04 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Lol yeah nzxt sure forgot that only morons require an optical drive to install windows because they can't figure out how to make a bootable USB... Caveman

February 9, 2014 | 01:31 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Hey Anonymous,

Why are you lashing out at yourself? Give yourself a break. You sure do post a lot; often with completely different views on the same article, as the case is here. Very confusing.

February 10, 2014 | 07:44 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

jackass

February 9, 2014 | 01:59 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Dissociative identity disorder is a very serious thing. We all struggle with... Lol

February 9, 2014 | 02:28 PM - Posted by pdjblum

That explains it. Well, sorry for giving you a hard time about it as it is hard disorder to live with, as are all the different personalities, I gather. I look forward to hearing from all your selves, especially when they are at odds.

February 12, 2014 | 04:35 AM - Posted by SwiftSilentDeath (not verified)

SteamOS build me thinks, goodbye Optical drive who uses CD's now anyway? everything is digital and as for windows and other operating systems. Just use a USB drive or if you can't cope with that, then get an external drive you keep in the cupboard.

March 16, 2014 | 11:43 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

wow, this community seems full of very rude people.

As for optical drives, some people burn CDs for long drives and family outings as well an burning movies for family and friends.

Stop acting like you are better than anyone else, you surely have proved otherwise in your immature and ignorant comments.

March 30, 2014 | 10:30 PM - Posted by Anon (not verified)

would have liked to see the hdd drive sleds have the option to mount a hdd to the under side as well. would have made for a pretty swish looking nas server. perhaps also make a version for e-atx. i like the clean look as well as the led lights for the rear io.

another thing they could have done, that would be unique is have replaceable front io boards so people can choose what io they want.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.