Review Index:
Feedback

High Power Astro PT 700W Platinum Power Supply Review

A Detailed Look

View Full Size

The Astro PT 700W power supply enclosure features a dark gray finish with Platinum color logos and measures 160mm+ (6.3”) deep. One of the more unique features built into this power supply is the Eagle-Eye tri-colored LED real-time power meter. The bar graph like display is divided into three sections and ten LEDs.

• Light (yellow): 0-10-20-30% load
• Efficient (green): 40-50-60-70% load
• Heavy (red): 80-90-100% load

View Full Size

The addition to the Eagle-Eye power meter, the backside panel features an open grill and includes a power receptacle and master On-Off switch.  The honey comb grill allows air to exhaust out of the power supply for cooling the internal components with minimal turbulence and noise.

View Full Size

The APT-700 uses a 135mm Globe Fan (RL4Z B1352512M) that incorporates dual ball bearings for long life. The 11 white fan blades are dimpled to help optimize airflow and reduce noise generating fan turbulence.  The fan is rated for up to 0.28A at 12 VDC.

View Full Size

The Astro Pt 700W power supply comes with a good assortment of both fixed and modular cables.  The four fixed cables are covered with black, braided plastic mesh sleeving while the six modular cables are a flat ribbon-style. The two 8-pin PCI-E cable sockets and four 6-pin HDD/SATA/Floppy sockets are all nicely labeled.

View Full Size

View Full Size

Under the Hood

View Full Size

The internal layout of the Astro PT 700W power supply is neat and orderly, which allows for good airflow across the internal components. All of the capacitors are Japanese made with a mix of solid polymer and electrolytic caps.

View Full Size

The small daughter card on the secondary side contains the two DC-to-DC converters that generate the +3.3V and +5V outputs from +12V.

View Full Size

July 1, 2013 | 01:59 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Why don`t we convert to 240V in the USA as it is more efficient ?

July 3, 2013 | 06:44 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

We do have 240 volts in the US. All you need to do is hire an electrician to install a 240v 20 amp outlet where you use your computer and put a matching plug on your computer power cord and you can enjoy the efficiency of 240 volt power yourself.

July 2, 2013 | 04:30 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

the states are 115v 60hz due to lots of reasons, most of them historical and completely anachronistic, but no one wants to rip out the entire electrical system... just to dam entrenched...

July 8, 2013 | 10:21 AM - Posted by jonnyGURU (not verified)

The link from the overview to the actual review says "Please continue reading our Dark Power Pro 10 850W power supply review!!!" even though it's a review for a High Power Astro PT 700W. Cut and paste?

July 17, 2013 | 05:34 AM - Posted by Lee Garbutt aka...

Fixed - thanks!

August 13, 2014 | 03:50 PM - Posted by Fanny (not verified)

I don't know whether it's just me or if everyone else experiencing issues with
your site. It appears as though some of the text in your content
are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is
happening to them too? This may be a issue with my browser because I've
had this happen previously. Thanks

Feel free to visit my web site: alcohol rehab

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.