Review Index:
Feedback

EVGA SuperNOVA NEX750G Gold Power Supply Review

Manufacturer: EVGA

Introduction and Features

EVGA was founded in 1999 with headquarters in Brea, California. They currently specialize in producing NVIDIA based graphics adapters and Intel based motherboards and they are continuing to expand their product line to include enthusiast grade power supplies, starting with the NEX1500 last year and now adding the SuperNOVA NEX750G and NEX650G models.

Back in September 2012 we reviewed the SuperNOVA NEX1500 digital power supply that delivered 1500 watts of power and came bundled with EVGA’s SuperNOVA software that allows monitoring all of the power supply’s functions in real-time from your desktop. We liked the NEX1500, especially the SuperNOVA monitoring software, so when EVGA asked us to review the new SuperNOVA NEX750G Gold, we said yes and assumed it would incorporate similar features to the flagship SuperNOVA NEX1500. While the NEX1500 PSU was targeted towards an elite few with deep pockets, the new NEX750G and NEX650G models are aimed at more mainstream, cost-conscious consumers. And to our disappointment, neither of the new power supplies feature digital control, so they can't be used with EVGA's SuperNOVA monitoring software.

View Full Size

Here is what EVGA has to say about the new SuperNOVA NEX 750G Gold PSU: “The EVGA NEX750G Gold PSU is a premium quality power supply intended to meet the needs of the most demanding enthusiasts systems. Designed with enthusiast needs in mind the NEX series is the best choice to power next generation enthusiast computers. Combining 750W of continuous power with exceptional performance, stunning efficiency, and cutting-edge design and features, the NEX750G Gold is what you need to take your system to the next level.

You can also count on EVGA to provide the utmost reliability and performance, with 100% Japanese capacitors and a durable dual-ball bearing fan. The NEX750G Gold is designed from start to finish to be the best choice for today's most demanding enthusiast computers. Bring you’re a-game with the NEX750G Gold power supply!"

View Full Size

Please continue reading our review of the EVGA SuperNOVA NEX750G PSU!!!

EVGA SuperNOVA NEX750G Gold PSU Key Features:

• 5-Year Warranty and unparalleled EVGA Customer Support
• 80PLUS Gold certified, with up to 90% efficiency under typical loads
• Highest quality Japanese brand capacitors ensure long-term reliability
• Fully modular to reduce clutter and improve airflow
• Quiet dual-ball bearing fan for near-silent operation
• High amperage multi-rail design for maximum power and efficiency
• Universal AC input (100-240V) with Active PFC
• Heavy-duty Protections: OVP, UVP, OCP, OPP, SCP and OTP
• Dimensions: 150mm (W) x 86mm (H) x 200mm (L)
• MSRP $139.99 USD

Testing Methodology

Establishing an accurate load is critical to testing and evaluating a PC power supply.  PCPerspective’s power supply test bench can place a precise DC load on the PSU under test.  Each power supply is tested under controlled, real-world conditions up to its maximum rated load (at 40ºC), using both 115 VAC and 240 VAC line voltage.  Our current suite of tests includes:

• DC Load Regulation
• AC Ripple and Noise
• Efficiency
• Differential Temperature
• Noise

View Full Size

The EVGA SuperNOVA NEX750G Gold power supply was evaluated on both features and performance.  A full range of equipment was used to test the power supply under controlled load conditions. 

• (2) CSI3710A Programmable DC load (+3.3V and +5V outputs)
• (4) CSI3711A Programmable DC load (+12V1, +12V2, +12V3, and +12V4)
• (2) 200W Precision resistor load bank (+12V5 and +12V6)
• Switchable precision resistor load bank (-12V and +5VSB)
• Agilent 34401A digital multimeter (Accuracy ±0.0035% vDC)
• Extech 380803 Power Analyzer (Accuracy ±0.5% of full scale)
• DS1M12 "StingRay" digital oscilloscope (20M S/s with 12 Bit ADC)
• Powerstat Variable Autotransformer, 1.4 KVA, 0-140 VAC
• Extech Model 407738 digital sound level meter (Accuracy ±1.5 dB)

February 1, 2013 | 10:21 PM - Posted by Markon101

Shame that the regulation isn't a bit better. I love the modular design, but at the price there are some really nice Corsair models that are hard to compete with.

February 5, 2013 | 09:37 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

Indeed, why did they go with group regulated Aurum, when there are way better designs on the market. I guess they thought having Gold certificate immediately makes unit premium class. Hint: it doesn't.

October 16, 2013 | 04:24 PM - Posted by Tommoto (not verified)

Corsair makes the shittiest products since the comming of the so called "i" generation.
I've had 3 broken h100i's so far.. A customer returning an AX760i and a AX1200i.. they all had the same issues, link broke after a while, causing shortage or something like that matter. And making the unit completely useless..

So b**** please, don't tell people to go to corsair nowadays, it's a shame how you people deny quality over a "name".

I have this unit since the beginning and it never bricked on me.. the multi rails seem to be working super and I have none to minor fluctuation what so ever in my voltages and amps.

And I hear people say stuff, like yeah MULTI RAIL IS BAD.. Damn people this aren't the 2004's anymore.. This unit was build like a GOOD multi rail.. not a dual rail 10a + 25a hybrided together like OCZ used to do.

February 15, 2013 | 05:15 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

This PSU is a joke, end of story.

September 12, 2013 | 11:30 AM - Posted by Bob42263 (not verified)

I got the 650 supernova for $70. From the small number of reviews I have read I think it is a bargain. $100 seems to be about the price now. I also got free shipping.:-) I have a Thermaltake toughpower 675 which has been great. The evga is going to replace a old thermaltake 430 with only 20 pin atx connector and 4 pin cpu..

October 10, 2013 | 08:27 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It is amazing to me all the power supply aficionados. Well they think they are anyway. They are in fact followers not leaders and parrot what they hear from their masters....really, it gets old. Spend their life in their moms basement and spend someone elses money to get their rigs built.

This is a quality unit, it is not the best out there but it is light years from the worst. If you get it at a good price it will serve you well. The 650G runs an overclocked AMD FX based system complete with all the accessories, water cooling system etc.......also drive two 770s heavily overclocked with the voltage to board mod to run the voltages I want and the clocks as high as I can. That wasnt the original plan, it was planned for a single 770, but thats what it is and it runs it fine because it doesnt just say "650" on the side of it, it runs at just below that number continuously. Hold it in your hand and you will see and feel the quality. Then there is the 10 year warranty, you can see how scared that EVGA is the build quality of this PSU sucks. I get tired of the disinfo. To the above negative poster, put down your coolermaster or sparkle magic PSU and step up to a decent PSU. Thank me later.

March 6, 2014 | 05:34 PM - Posted by mary effin poppins (not verified)

cheers for the sensible comments, I was struggling to decide on a psu as I keep running into dumbass commentors, I narrowed it down to this precisely because they were bold enough to stick a 10 year warranty on it... 10 years for christs sake,, 10 yrs is a great statement on their belief in this psu.. what could you possibly whinge about with that....

October 10, 2013 | 08:29 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

and before it even gets said, when you register this unit with evga, it adds 5 more years on the warranty.

January 7, 2014 | 07:40 PM - Posted by Peedster (not verified)

$89 with rebate at MicroCenter. That makes this a very good PSU for the price.

April 11, 2014 | 03:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Is it really that bad+ i am 14 and i have a i5 4670K, Asus maximus Hero and a 780 Classy. Is this psu so bad? :(

April 11, 2014 | 03:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Is it really that bad+ i am 14 and i have a i5 4670K, Asus maximus Hero and a 780 Classy. Is this psu so bad? :(

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.