Review Index:
Feedback

Corsair Obsidian 750D Full-Tower ATX Case Review

Manufacturer: Corsair

Final Thoughts and Conclusions

The Obsidian Series 750D is the third new Obsidian case to be introduced by Corsair in 2013. It shares many of the same design elements present on Corsair’s popular Obsidian 350D micro-ATX chassis and the 900D Super-Tower. The new 750D offers more room, better cooling, and more drive location options than Corsair’s popular 650D enclosure, at a lower price.

The Obsidian 750D case can easily accommodate oversized motherboards and extended VGA adapters and offers six internal 3.5” HDD/SSD mounting trays, four internal 2.5” SSD trays, and three external 5.25” bays but does not have any built in 3.5”/2.5” HDD hot-swap options.

View Full Size

Case cooling is very good right out of the box thanks to the three included 140mm fans configured to provide positive case air pressure.  Three easily removable air filters help keep the dust out. And if you want to go with liquid cooling the 750D can accommodate just about anything you might plan to use; with four different radiator mounting locations supporting single, dual or triple fan combinations.

Overall the build quality is very good, the case is easy to work with, and it provides very good cooling in the base configuration with the three included 140mm fans. If you are looking for a high-end case with great looks and a little more room than a typical mid-tower enclosure has to offer, then the new Obsidian 750D might just be what you are looking for.

View Full Size

(Courtesy of Corsair)

The MSRP for the Corsair Obsidian Series 750D Full-Tower ATX case is $159.99 USD but you can find it online for less ($149.99 USD, Newegg.com, October 2013). 

(Check out Ryan’s video review of the 750D)

Strengths:
• Full-tower PC case for extra room with clean, elegant styling
• Very good case cooling options with support for liquid cooling
• Two 140mm intake fans and one 140mm exhaust fan included
• Eight different case fan mounting locations
• Three dust filters: easy to remove and washable
• Support for multiple location and different size liquid cooling radiators
• Very flexible drive mounting options
• Tool-free ODD, 3.5” HDD, and 2.5” SSD tray mounts
• Three 5.25" external drive bays
• Six 3.5” internal HDD and four 2.5” SSD bays
• Oversized CPU back plate cutout for easy CPU cooler installation
• Allows installing extended VGA adapters (up to 460mm long)
• Good cable routing cutouts and extra room for neat wiring
• Two front panel USB 3.0 ports and I/O panel

Minor Weaknesses:
• No external hot-swap 3.5” HDD bays
• We miss the sturdy side panels and latches on the Obsidian 650D

View Full Size

Corsair Obsidian Series 750D Full-Tower ATX Case

I would like to thank our friends at Corsair for sending us the 750D case to review – thank you!

October 11, 2013 | 05:42 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Now if only Corsair would manage to ship some of these to Finland... been waiting since the launch and still nothing.

October 11, 2013 | 07:50 PM - Posted by Daniel Nielsen (not verified)

Maybe im a bit dense, and its already written somewhere, but what brand is those red/black fans, looks pretty damn good.

October 11, 2013 | 07:55 PM - Posted by Daniel Nielsen (not verified)

To answer my own question i guess they are Corsair, sadly i can only find them with a blue design instead of the red.

October 11, 2013 | 10:10 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The rings are swappable on Corsair AF and SP series fans. The fans include blue, red, and white rings in the box.

October 11, 2013 | 08:57 PM - Posted by Dan (not verified)

Fuk. That side panel is ugly. Last thing I want to see is the inside of my PC. I'm not a 14 year old living at my mom's house.

All PC cases need to have full metal side panels. No one gives a shit at what the inside looks like.

October 12, 2013 | 12:17 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ready for this guy to scream, "Get off my lawn sonny!"

If you've got high end parts and have taken the time for great cable management, a side winow is a must.

Ignore the old codger above. I'm not 14, have a large disposable income and exactly the kind of customer who buys high end multi monitor/gpu's and other parts. Exactly the customer enthusiast PC vendor wants.

You're damn right I want a side window to enjoy my toys.

October 14, 2013 | 01:13 PM - Posted by Corsair George (not verified)

Sorry you feel that way, but the majority of sales are on the other side of this. We launched the 350D with a solid and a steel side panel window, and the window one outsells the solid one significantly. With the 750D we decided to avoid the headache and offer the windowed one only.

If you'd like, you can always buy a second solid side panel off our website and replace the windowed one. Not an ideal situation, and adds cost, but since such a small minority prefer cases without windows, we felt it was the best solution.

October 20, 2013 | 03:56 PM - Posted by OhMyGod (not verified)

I'm a girl, I'm in my 30's, and I love seeing inside cases. And no it's not because it's somehow new to me - built my own computers for over a decade now. The nondescript black boxes get awfully boring after a while.

Go back to your dead-end life with no imagination, and leave the rest of us alone.

November 6, 2013 | 09:10 PM - Posted by Nocturnal (not verified)

That's your opinion jerk-off! Everyone who has a PC with a see-thru side panel isn't a child...some people like to show off their high-end hardware to their friends. You obviously don't have any high-end hardware, nor do you have any friends for that matter...

October 13, 2013 | 12:47 AM - Posted by pdjblum

As usual I am envious of your having all that high end gear lying around to stuff in the box.

Anyway, any chance you can include the build materials, i.e. steel or aluminum or plastic or some combination, in the key feature list?

October 19, 2013 | 04:59 PM - Posted by ALXA (not verified)

Dear PCper.

I love your reviews. Please, please please don't make them video only. I'm not so lazy that I can't be bothered to read and I love reading your reviews.

Too many websites are getting lazy. I like this one !

October 24, 2013 | 05:48 AM - Posted by Anonymousimjp (not verified)

Amazing full tower case..I buy it the upcoming week...Only 1 question...I read tge case dont have rubber or foam strips for the psu...This mean the psu is most noisy because of vibrations?

December 19, 2013 | 11:58 AM - Posted by Adam Anon (not verified)

Hmm.... I'm 46yo guy, haven't lived with my parents since I was 17yo and I like side panels and lights. Those dual GPUs look cool :)

December 22, 2013 | 10:54 PM - Posted by melissa spears (not verified)

Id love to meet that 46 year old guy

December 4, 2014 | 05:55 AM - Posted by Spiner (not verified)

I'm over the hill and surprised older people are into window panels and lights inside the computer case . I'm searching for a good case (like this one) but without windows or weird case shapes.
Yes, I read I can buy a solid panel for this one.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.