Review Index:
Feedback

Corsair Obsidian 750D Full-Tower ATX Case Review

Manufacturer: Corsair

A Detailed Look – From the Outside

View Full Size

From the outside the Obsidian 750D looks a lot like the 350D and 900D. The overall styling, especially the front panel/bezel area, looks nearly identical except for size. The 750D incorporates a steel chassis with a few plastic and brushed aluminum trim pieces.  The case is painted matte black inside and out with black anodized, brushed aluminum trim plates on the front. The riveted SECC chassis is light weight but rigid and the black matte powder coat finish matches the black plastic and aluminum parts well.

View Full Size

The 750D front side includes three external 5.25” optical drive bays at the top and a removable panel at the bottom, which conceals the two front intake fans. Pressing the two top corners of the lower panel releases it and then it just lifts out, exposing the dust filter, which is also easily removed without tools.

View Full Size

An external I/O panel is located at the top of the 750D case and contains:

• Headphone Out
• Microphone In
• System Reset Button
• Main Power Button
• Power and HDD Activity light
• (2) USB 3.0 ports
• (2) USB 2.0 ports

View Full Size

All of the attached wires are nicely labeled.

View Full Size

The left side panel features a large acrylic window. Both side panels are removable and secured with two thumb screws at the back. In practice, both side panels are relatively easy to take off and re-install and fit securely once in place. However, they don’t feel as robust as the 650D side panels and the thumb screws are not as convenient as the 650D’s built-in latches.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The top of the Obsidian 750D case features a large grill area that has numerous fan mounting locations for both air and liquid cooling. The top grill is covered by a large, easy to remove filter, which is held in place with magnetic strips along all four edges.

View Full Size

Looking at the rear of the enclosure reveals a typical ATX-tower style layout with the power supply mounted at the bottom of the enclosure instead of the top.  A 140mm exhaust fan comes pre-installed and there are two pop-out openings below the fan for routing external liquid-cooling hoses in and out of the chassis if desired. Be careful though, if you punch out the knock-out plugs to route water-cooling hoses, it will leave potentially sharp edges – a couple nice grommetted holes would have been nicer. The grill area at the top reveals an extra couple inches in height.

All of the expansion card brackets contain ventilation slots to allow warm air to exhaust out the rear of the case and are secured with thumb screws.

View Full Size

Flipping the 750D case upside down exposes four rubber feet, two more optional fan locations, and a large dust filter for the power supply air intake area. The filter slides in from the back and fits into guide rails so it can be easily removed and cleaned.

View Full Size

October 11, 2013 | 05:42 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Now if only Corsair would manage to ship some of these to Finland... been waiting since the launch and still nothing.

October 11, 2013 | 07:50 PM - Posted by Daniel Nielsen (not verified)

Maybe im a bit dense, and its already written somewhere, but what brand is those red/black fans, looks pretty damn good.

October 11, 2013 | 07:55 PM - Posted by Daniel Nielsen (not verified)

To answer my own question i guess they are Corsair, sadly i can only find them with a blue design instead of the red.

October 11, 2013 | 10:10 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The rings are swappable on Corsair AF and SP series fans. The fans include blue, red, and white rings in the box.

October 11, 2013 | 08:57 PM - Posted by Dan (not verified)

Fuk. That side panel is ugly. Last thing I want to see is the inside of my PC. I'm not a 14 year old living at my mom's house.

All PC cases need to have full metal side panels. No one gives a shit at what the inside looks like.

October 12, 2013 | 12:17 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ready for this guy to scream, "Get off my lawn sonny!"

If you've got high end parts and have taken the time for great cable management, a side winow is a must.

Ignore the old codger above. I'm not 14, have a large disposable income and exactly the kind of customer who buys high end multi monitor/gpu's and other parts. Exactly the customer enthusiast PC vendor wants.

You're damn right I want a side window to enjoy my toys.

October 14, 2013 | 01:13 PM - Posted by Corsair George (not verified)

Sorry you feel that way, but the majority of sales are on the other side of this. We launched the 350D with a solid and a steel side panel window, and the window one outsells the solid one significantly. With the 750D we decided to avoid the headache and offer the windowed one only.

If you'd like, you can always buy a second solid side panel off our website and replace the windowed one. Not an ideal situation, and adds cost, but since such a small minority prefer cases without windows, we felt it was the best solution.

October 20, 2013 | 03:56 PM - Posted by OhMyGod (not verified)

I'm a girl, I'm in my 30's, and I love seeing inside cases. And no it's not because it's somehow new to me - built my own computers for over a decade now. The nondescript black boxes get awfully boring after a while.

Go back to your dead-end life with no imagination, and leave the rest of us alone.

November 6, 2013 | 09:10 PM - Posted by Nocturnal (not verified)

That's your opinion jerk-off! Everyone who has a PC with a see-thru side panel isn't a child...some people like to show off their high-end hardware to their friends. You obviously don't have any high-end hardware, nor do you have any friends for that matter...

October 13, 2013 | 12:47 AM - Posted by pdjblum

As usual I am envious of your having all that high end gear lying around to stuff in the box.

Anyway, any chance you can include the build materials, i.e. steel or aluminum or plastic or some combination, in the key feature list?

October 19, 2013 | 04:59 PM - Posted by ALXA (not verified)

Dear PCper.

I love your reviews. Please, please please don't make them video only. I'm not so lazy that I can't be bothered to read and I love reading your reviews.

Too many websites are getting lazy. I like this one !

October 24, 2013 | 05:48 AM - Posted by Anonymousimjp (not verified)

Amazing full tower case..I buy it the upcoming week...Only 1 question...I read tge case dont have rubber or foam strips for the psu...This mean the psu is most noisy because of vibrations?

December 19, 2013 | 11:58 AM - Posted by Adam Anon (not verified)

Hmm.... I'm 46yo guy, haven't lived with my parents since I was 17yo and I like side panels and lights. Those dual GPUs look cool :)

December 22, 2013 | 10:54 PM - Posted by melissa spears (not verified)

Id love to meet that 46 year old guy

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.