Review Index:
Feedback

Corsair AX860i Digital ATX Platinum Power Supply Review

Manufacturer: Corsair

A Detailed Look (Cont'd)

ZVS / ZCS Technology

The AX860i Digital PSU utilizes Zero Voltage Switching / Zero Current Switching technology to maximize energy efficiency and performance.  Switching mode computer power supplies operate by rapidly switching the primary power transistors on and off with the output voltage being regulated by the associated switching duty cycle.  Conventional power supplies traditionally use "hard-switching", whereby the current and voltage are not switched at 0V and 0A.  This results in switching power losses and increased EMI.

View Full Size

(Courtesy of Corsair)

The Corsair AX860i utilizes ZVS / ZCS technology to switch at near 0V and 0A, which ensures there are minimal switching losses.  This helps maximize efficiency and further reduces waste heat.

View Full Size

Here are a few pictures showing the layout and components inside the Corsair AX860i Digital power supply.  The overall layout looks very good with components neatly organized and excellent soldering on the PCBs. 

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The following illustration and table identifies some of the AX860i’s main components with their location and function.

View Full Size

(Courtesy of Corsair)

View Full Size

 

December 16, 2012 | 03:14 PM - Posted by BetoAnonymous (not verified)

I wonder if Ron Holt would have ever imagine such awesomeness.

December 18, 2012 | 08:06 AM - Posted by Hood (not verified)

I wonder that nobody thought of PSU monitoring software before this; after all, the least a computer should be able to do is monitor itself, and user control of the power supply is a no-brainer. Kudos to Corsair for taking this bold step, which is kind of a gamble given the price range and state of the world economy. I think the "i" series will be a runaway best seller, despite the high price tag. Same for the "i" series of liquid CPU coolers. Enthusiasts love anything that gives them more info, control, or both, and Corsair has been delivering nicely.

December 28, 2012 | 10:00 PM - Posted by WillRock (not verified)

Gigabyte has thought of PSU monitoring software years ago, so did nVidia with ESA supportive PSU's.

The "i" series won't be the runaway best seller. How many people shell out $250 for a 860W unit like seriously?

Most people are after bang for the buck, which is what this unit definately is not.

February 22, 2013 | 07:45 AM - Posted by FearTec (not verified)

WillRock

I have one on the way to replace my Silverstone ST65ZF.

Silence and dual/tri SLI 680 will be awesome.

August 31, 2014 | 04:28 PM - Posted by Kristal (not verified)

Type "blogger job" into Google's search query box, without the quotes.
To become a part of it and promote your blog, you need
to learn to share useful information, while appreciating good
content through commenting. Tentunya sudah banyak yang telah membauas masalah memasang meta
tag pada blogger, namun kebanyakan hanya membahas tentang meta tag standart saja seoerti Description, Keyword dan Robot.
It promises to create, post, aand alsoo write special subject material for you.
Same goes for blogs. Link too Older Posts -
If you have been blogging for a while, it is most likely that manjy of your topics will overlap, sso why not provide your reader with reference to some of your oldder entries.

3) Nobody will ever read every word onn your blog Your biggest fan in the wordld won't even scan their eyes across eveery word you type on your blog.
If you tuink of yourself as a blogger, you are dead in the water.
Do you have a friend or family member that's a blogger? We guarantee
that the integrity of your work will be maintained 100 percent, and you will receive a pixel perfect final result.
But some mistakes cost dearly and can even jeopardize the future of a blog.

This well-known subject retains viewers from seekig for best spots to shell out holidays or juyst any places all through the globe that
significantly offers visual attraction. How to Be a Remarkable Blogger?: Context Counts For blogs, nidhe sites are popular now.Both areas
have companies which want and need bloggers, so choose one of those topics -- your blog will be interesting to your readers, because you're learning about your topic, and your enthusiasm forr it will
shine through. I've learned far more than I knew before, buut
it taaught me what I don't know. Second,you do not have to link up tto the blogger
before making your request. You have thee name; you can find the email address.

Thee importance of original and unique content cannot be
emphasized enough. The following liunk is a post I wrote on my
personal website that I think might be a good fit for vertical name.
Photobucket Uploader: Is a simple add-on which hels you upload images by right-clicking on an image displayed on any web
page and upload it to their Photobucket account.
For bloggers, you must believe in ylur blog for others to believe in you.
These sites are out there to make money after all. With his latest book "Let Go", he helps others
facing the same fears and doubts as he faced.

Blogging is a relatively new phenomenon. The work I'd done worked out well.

As long as ourr blogger successfully completes thee Chaptter
13 Bankruptcy our blogger will be out from under
that tax debt completely. If you have a personal blog, post your piece there andd then email a link of your post to the editor with a
quick message, something like: "I am a big fan of Huffpost vertical name and have been enjoying the articles and posts. Try them all out to failure.

Since early 2004, when it launched the first model of jeans, Cheap Monday has grown rapidly gaining the appreciation a lot of famours fashion blogger, starlettes and international reputation. Since, then blogging has come a long way. He also writes something that inspires him. Another 'on page' tool, which you can use is a facility which enables instant sharing of the blog on networking sites, by bookmarking them. This just goes on to show that you took the effort to build a relationship previously. Private blogs are ones in which only the blogger and others who have been approved by the blogger can view the blog postings.

Blogs about pets, specifically about cats are quite ordinary nowadays because many bloggers want to share with the whole world the everyday life of their cats. Once you be inflicted with a schedule and a theme or topics with the intention of you are passionate in this area, you need a forum. These also allow users to review music and share their preferences. I've spent my 10,000 in this process. Number of people have taken to blogging in a big way these days.

Like an online dairy. I appreciate mentorship. Certainly, any picked path will inevitably free up your time, so you will have a lot more space for advertising your autoblog.Let's not forget that autoblog can also be even far better monetized than a normal blog by the use of affiliate xml feeds, there are quantities of affiliate firms that supply personalized feeds embedded with your possess affiliate website link. The writer told me I had helped him evolve on a subject matter that is very important to me. Some of the individuals most likely to obtain hate mail on the web are normally people today with well-known political blogs because of their controversial opinion. One very popular cat blogger is a diva who talks with celebrities and stars.

Throw your view and comment related to that issue without mentioning you source of idea (famous blog). Change the Font All the templates Blogger offers come with preset fonts. Social Bookmarkleting, just in case your not quite sure, is simply a collection of your favorite articles, blogs, music, restaurant reviews, photo's or whatever it is that you find interesting on the web and is saved into your public profile through whatever Social Bookmarkleting service you choose. Whether or not this is a good thing remains to be seen. Search engines love websites with content that is constantly updated.

Blogging Professionally Blogging can actually be done as a source of income for some bloggers. Some of them are devoted to distinct celebrities and track them routinely. What is cat blogging? So it's very important you choose your Tags wisely. First, you would need to sign in to the Blogger dashboard. So, it is very important to submit your blog to search engines.

Find a subject matter that you are passionate about. While it's fine to write about how your son thought thunder was "God farting," there should still be a message behind it. If its an audience you seek, consider the following ways to attain more ffollowers on Blogger. Journalism practitioners preach complete objectivity while reporting news, which means, having an unbiased view. Not oonly can yyou advertise about your company, you also get to earn through blogging. It will take considerable time and effort to attract and reetain readers.

How too Be a Remarkable Blogger? Wiith time lines are added child (0-3 years), accessories and sunglasses, all products that fasahion blogger on their fashion blog have reviewaed and commented with enthusiasm. A little hard work might turn you into a successful cat blogger. Though there are a ffew drawbacks to blogging, vlogging, and photo jpurnaling online, the benefits often outweigh tthe drawbacks (as long as users maintain good online etiquette).

Feel free to visit mmy web site; http://www.iamsport.org/

March 20, 2014 | 10:59 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I bought one and it failed to self test. First time I've spent such an amount of a PSU thinking I was getting quality and all I've got is something they couldn't be bothered to QC before leaving the factory. Very disappointed, not buying anything from Corsair ever again.

January 9, 2013 | 06:41 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

One thing "i" version is worse at than non "i" version, is having lower quality fan. AX860 non "i" has San Ace fan - generally regarded as higher quality than Yate Loons. One can argue it doesn't matter with semi passive mode in place, but it still looks out of place to have lower end fan on a supposedly premium unit.

November 28, 2013 | 06:17 PM - Posted by the pirate bay.apk (not verified)

The two murdered troopers, Power and Cahill, were men from good Irish families.
Not only does a digger realize that it's very possible
he might discover a lots of gold with little or no
trouble, but, worse still, he knows he might work very, very
hard without getting any gold at all. Juni, als Bombenanschläge in
Kathmandu und anderen Städten Nepals acht Tote und 22 Verletzte forderten.

February 22, 2013 | 12:45 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Does anyone know if you have to use Corsair Link in order for this PSU to work?

July 15, 2014 | 08:55 PM - Posted by Paige Thompson (not verified)

You probably do, and assuming they insist that you do (Ive never seen the fan spin up on its own) you also need to use this powersupply exclusively on a windows machine, or at least have a windows virtual machine in linux running the software with the USB attached to the virtual machine (most VM apps support this) and yes I did do this until the stupid connector broke, now I just want to figure out the pinouts and voltages (which they don't release the spec for) to find out if it's really PMBus like they claim:

if it is, my motherboard has a connector for it granted I will have to make my own because the PSU's connector is missing a NC (no connection) "null" pin. This corsair link is the most idiotic thing I've ever seen and I expected to at least not get jacked for what I paid for my 1200i ... nothing more or short of that was acceptable when I made the decision to purchase it, I really shouldn't have to detail check things that are supposed to be standard.

July 15, 2014 | 08:47 PM - Posted by Paige Thompson (not verified)

This is a complete ripoff. Supposedly its a USB to PMBus (SMbus) interface and they indicate that it's pmbus, except every motherboard that supports pmbus is 5 pin at least, granted there is an NC pin. This power supply should be connected to mine, especially since the cheap cable broke and I never saw any advantage to this device (which is only supported in windows, so I had to attach it to a windows VM to do anything with it.) The ASMB4 management chip in my server does a decent job of managing the fan speeds and temp thresholds, and supposedly supports a conntected pmbus device, so I think I'll wait (which I really dont want to wait because I just want to be done with this already) until I can get my volt meter out of storage and see if I can hook this psu up to the pmbus connector on my motherboard. I can't think of any good reason why this wasn't done right the first time, especially on a "high end" power supply like this one.

I reckon if despite my best efforts and intentions, I may just pour lighter fluid all over the $5,000 dollar computer and set it on fire like I did the Senn. HD380 pros when I couldn't salvage the cable myself after 10 tries I could have just paid the 30 dollars, but no and I don't think I'll let this one go either.

mass produced crap is never worth what you pay for it: http://www.formfactors.org/developer%5Cspecs%5CATX_ATX12V_PS_1_1.pdf

August 20, 2014 | 01:26 PM - Posted by Fred B. (not verified)

It seems that Corsair has destroyed the value of the Link system by refusing to release the protocol used on it, so no one can do anything on Linux, or do anything on Windows for that matter other than through the GUI. Of course competitors will be motivated to reverse engineer the protocol, so the only one that Corsair is "protecting" itself from, are the army of eager software engineers that would write free software, boosting Corsair's sales. Good thinking Corsair!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.