Review Index:
Feedback

Antec High Current Pro Platinum 850W Power Supply Review

Manufacturer: Antec

Efficiency, Differential Temperature and Noise

Efficiency

The overall efficiency of a power supply is very important.  The less waste heat generated the better!  Efficiency is defined by the power output divided by the power input and is usually expressed as a percentage.  If a PSU were a 100% efficient (which none are) 850 watts of AC power going in would result in 850 watts of DC power coming out (with no waste heat to dissipate).  In the real world there are always inefficiencies and power is lost in the form of heat during the conversion process. Newer revisions to the ATX12V Power Supply Design Guide V 2.2 have continued to increase the efficiency recommendations for PC switching mode power supplies and now lists both required and recommended minimum efficiencies.

View Full Size

We measured the AC power input to the HCP-850 Platinum PSU with an Extech power analyzer while the total DC load was found by adding all the individual +3.3V, +5V, +12V, -12V and +5VSB loads together. 

View Full Size

View Full Size

During our tests the PSU easily met the 80Plus Platinum requirements while operating on 240 VAC but struggled to obtain 92% efficiency at the 50% load mark while operating on 115 VAC. This is likely due to the real world, elevated operating temperatures where we perform our tests, which are higher than the 25°C the 80Plus organization uses (lower operating temperatures typically result in higher efficiency).  However, these results are well within the range of experimental error and rounding up gives us 92% so we’ll call it a pass.

80 Plus Program

View Full Size

Note 1: Power Factor ≥0.90 (50% to 100% Load)
Note 2: Tests conducted at room temperature (25°C)

 

Differential Temperature and Noise Levels

To simulate real world operation, some of the warm exhaust air from the PSU under test is recirculated back to the intake through a passive air duct, which allows the PSU air inlet temperature to increase with load, just like it would in a real PC. 

The differential temperature across the power supply was calculated by subtracting the internal case air temperature (T in) from the temperature of the warm exhaust air flowing out the back of the power supply (T out). 

Thermocouples were placed at the air inlet and exhaust outlet. The ambient room air temperature was 23ºC (74ºF) +/- 0.5ºC during testing.

T out = temperature of air exhausting from power supply
T in = temperature of air entering power supply
Delta T = T out - T in

Sound pressure level readings were taken 3’ away from the rear of the case in an otherwise quiet room.  The ambient noise level was ~28 dBA.  I was not able to take SPL readings at the higher loads due to the background noise generated by all the DC Load cooling fans cycling on and off.

View Full Size

Below ~600W output and 30°C inlet air temperature, the HCP-850 Platinum PSU is very quiet.  As the load continues to increase, the cooling fan speeds up to where it becomes noticeable but never really loud.  Note: I was not able to take SPL readings at the higher loads due to all the programmable DC load cooling fans cycling on and off.
 

August 19, 2013 | 06:34 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

Modular causes more resistance...I look for a PSU with as few interconnects as possible.

August 20, 2013 | 07:49 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

Which does not make appreciable difference and top of the line modular PSUs can achieve as little as 0,5% deviation on main rails between idle and full load.

Also non-modular is too impractical above certain power level, with too many cables to hide.

August 19, 2013 | 06:36 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

Why doesn`t the US switch over to 240V ?
It is more efficient.

August 20, 2013 | 07:49 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

I'm guesing costs of adapting infrastructure will be pretty enormous.

August 20, 2013 | 10:29 AM - Posted by fhmuffman (not verified)

It is (was?) the biggest market for consumer electronics and appliances designed for 120 V since 1945. About half the current homes were built before 1970 and were not designed for the higher voltages (look up knob and tube wiring on wikipedia). Those all have to be upgraded along with the electrical grid and connections to the homes. Then you need some sort of 99.9% foolproof way for the current wave of people starting to suffer from Old-heimers to plug in all of the devices they have owned for 60 years.

August 20, 2013 | 07:27 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

I have 240 in the garage...I guess I meant to say on newer houses they could have a 240 option in the bedroom/living room...we could run more high-powered video cards easier !
240v standard in man-caves.
Is 240v a lot more dangerous ? I know the amps you can pull is at least double.
Why did Europe get to go 240 and not us ? Excepting most US garages. Welding/washers/dryers.

August 20, 2013 | 07:45 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

I got my answer...answer.com LOL
The US system theoretically could be made as good or better than the European system with no infrastructure change, except appliances and consumer structures themselves (collectively costing home owners billions). US houses get 240 volts at the panel. If wall outlets all were fed with 240V you'd have the lower current and higher power advantage of the European system and it would be safer too, since each "hot" would still be only 120V from ground (not 240V) which keeps the reduced shock hazard advantage. Of course it is still possible to touch the two hots.
(So in a way our system allows for more flexibility)

September 11, 2013 | 07:21 PM - Posted by justin (not verified)

Weve got 240v over here its fucking sweet if america was to switch to 240v from 120v i think the costs would be extreme plus all your electrical appliances would need to be replaced or you could use a coverter best of just getting solar or a beefy generator that supplies 240v 15amps

September 18, 2013 | 05:50 PM - Posted by KostasDiddy (not verified)

o nikos pinei iremos to kafedaki tou kapou sto syntagma,
kapoia stigmi vlepei to filo t to giwrgo kai pernaei apo
mprosta tou kai ton fonazei.
-giwrgo ela na se kerasw kafedaki kai na ta poume

-ti einai ola auta ta xartia pou exeis mprosta sou?

-logariasmoi giorgo mou eutixws tous eksoflisa kai to
apolamvanw....

-ti? kerdises to laxeio?

-oxi niko mou alla ekana kati pou mporousa na to kanw
eixe i gynaika mou kapoia kosmimata poume den ta forouse
kai kati skeuh asimenia pou den ta xrisimopoiousame,
ta peira loipon kai phga edw stin koloktroni 9 ston kurio
spiropoulo kai ta poulisa.
mou edwse kala leuta kai etsi eksoflisa olous tous logariasmous
mou kai tora to apolamvanw....

http://www.enexyra-athina.gr/

September 18, 2013 | 05:51 PM - Posted by KostasDiddy (not verified)

o nikos pinei iremos to kafedaki tou kapou sto syntagma,
kapoia stigmi vlepei to filo t to giwrgo kai pernaei apo
mprosta tou kai ton fonazei.
-giwrgo ela na se kerasw kafedaki kai na ta poume

-ti einai ola auta ta xartia pou exeis mprosta sou?

-logariasmoi giorgo mou eutixws tous eksoflisa kai to
apolamvanw....

-ti? kerdises to laxeio?

-oxi niko mou alla ekana kati pou mporousa na to kanw
eixe i gynaika mou kapoia kosmimata poume den ta forouse
kai kati skeuh asimenia pou den ta xrisimopoiousame,
ta peira loipon kai phga edw stin koloktroni 9 ston kurio
spiropoulo kai ta poulisa.
mou edwse kala leuta kai etsi eksoflisa olous tous logariasmous
mou kai tora to apolamvanw....

http://www.enexyra-athina.gr/

May 10, 2014 | 04:48 AM - Posted by Hendricks (not verified)

Wow... That looks like a perfect specification for the best power supply, especially when dealing with gaming PCs and workstations. New safety features and the improved cooling methods will make it more reliable. Thanks for the news.
microsoft updates help

September 3, 2014 | 04:01 AM - Posted by jaceki

Antec High Current Pro Platinum 850W definitely is the best poer supply that I have ever used. It works perfectly, I never had any problems what so ever with it.
Cheers
Homepage

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.