Review Index:
Feedback

Antec High Current Pro Platinum 850W Power Supply Review

Manufacturer: Antec

A Detailed Look

View Full Size

The steel enclosure of the Antec High Current Pro Platinum 850W power supply features a black-matte, scratch-resistant finish and measures 190mm (7.5”) long and is printed with yellow and white lettering.   

View Full Size

The High Current Pro Platinum PSU uses a single 135mm dual ball bearing fan (Delta Electronics AFB1312M-SM02) on the bottom for cooling (0.38A @ 12 VDC).

View Full Size

The fan speed is automatically controlled by the onboard Thermal Manager Control System – an advanced low voltage fan control circuit designed for optimal cooling and noise management.

View Full Size

In addition to the Antec nameplate, the backside panel includes a power receptacle and On-Off switch along with an open grill structure that allows air to exhaust out of the power supply with minimal restriction and turbulence.

View Full Size

(Courtesy of Antec)

The Antec High Current Pro Platinum PSUs are compliant with the new ErP Lot 6: 2013 standard, which defines how much power (or how little power) a PSU should use when in the Off-Standby Mode. All three High Current Pro Platinum PSUs are also Intel Haswell & C7 state ready.

OC Link

Antec’s new OC Link technology allows connecting two HCP Platinum PSUs together with the included OC Link cable, which allows them to work in tandem to power even the most demanding systems.  For example, you could use one HCP Platinum as the “master” PSU (24-pin ATX cable attached to PC motherboard) and a second HCP Platinum PSU as a “slave”, powering additional PCI-E connectors, HDDs, etc. Combining two HCP-1300s could result in delivering up to 2,600 Watts of DC power (217A) with 20 PCI-E connectors!

View Full Size

OC Link Cable (21.5” long)

View Full Size

(Courtesy of Antec)

The good folks at Antec sent over a second HCP Platinum PSU so we could check out OC Link for ourselves. For our testing we setup the HCP-850 Platinum as the “master” (675W load) and used an HCP-1000 Platinum as the “slave” (636W load). Each PSU was powered from a dedicated 120 VAC, 20A circuit. As expected, powering up the system resulted in both power supplies turning on and delivering over 1,300W combined DC load! Under normal operating conditions OC Link functioned perfectly.

However, we did find that in the unlikely event that the "slave" PSU doesn't power up (might be turned off , or unplugged, etc.) or if the "slave" PSU shuts down for some reason (overload, over temp, etc.) the “master” PSU continues operating, leaving the system with only one PSU instead of two. For example, if you configured a system to have the "master" PSU connected to the mobo and powering most of the PC components and used a second OC Link "slave" PSU to provide extra power to three power-hungry graphic adapters and maybe a couple HDDs; if the "slave" PSU doesn't start up or shuts down later while the PC is operating, the three graphics adapters and HDDs will suddenly become under powered or not powered at all while the PC continues to try operating, not a good scenario.  While admittedly unlikely, leaving a system that is configured to run off two PSUs with one PSU shut down and the other one running is not good and could potentially place a lot of expensive hardware at risk. So while OC Link sounds good in theory, we don’t feel like it has been fully or properly implemented. We have discussed our findings with Antec and they are actively working to find a solution to this potential problem. We’ll update you as more information becomes available.

View Full Size

There also aren’t too many PC enclosures on the market that can mount two ATX power supplies and Antec does not currently offer one (but I’m guessing they might have one in the works). The only two cases that can mount dual ATX PSUs that come to my mind are:
• Corsair Obsidian Series 900D
• SilverStone Temjin Series TJ11

Note: If you decide to go this route, you will most likely need to connect each HCP Platinum PSU to its own dedicated 120 VAC circuit. Plugging them both into one 15A residential circuit won’t work if you truly put a heavy load on both PSUs.

August 19, 2013 | 09:34 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

Modular causes more resistance...I look for a PSU with as few interconnects as possible.

August 20, 2013 | 10:49 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

Which does not make appreciable difference and top of the line modular PSUs can achieve as little as 0,5% deviation on main rails between idle and full load.

Also non-modular is too impractical above certain power level, with too many cables to hide.

August 19, 2013 | 09:36 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

Why doesn`t the US switch over to 240V ?
It is more efficient.

August 20, 2013 | 10:49 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

I'm guesing costs of adapting infrastructure will be pretty enormous.

August 20, 2013 | 01:29 PM - Posted by fhmuffman (not verified)

It is (was?) the biggest market for consumer electronics and appliances designed for 120 V since 1945. About half the current homes were built before 1970 and were not designed for the higher voltages (look up knob and tube wiring on wikipedia). Those all have to be upgraded along with the electrical grid and connections to the homes. Then you need some sort of 99.9% foolproof way for the current wave of people starting to suffer from Old-heimers to plug in all of the devices they have owned for 60 years.

August 20, 2013 | 10:27 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

I have 240 in the garage...I guess I meant to say on newer houses they could have a 240 option in the bedroom/living room...we could run more high-powered video cards easier !
240v standard in man-caves.
Is 240v a lot more dangerous ? I know the amps you can pull is at least double.
Why did Europe get to go 240 and not us ? Excepting most US garages. Welding/washers/dryers.

August 20, 2013 | 10:45 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

I got my answer...answer.com LOL
The US system theoretically could be made as good or better than the European system with no infrastructure change, except appliances and consumer structures themselves (collectively costing home owners billions). US houses get 240 volts at the panel. If wall outlets all were fed with 240V you'd have the lower current and higher power advantage of the European system and it would be safer too, since each "hot" would still be only 120V from ground (not 240V) which keeps the reduced shock hazard advantage. Of course it is still possible to touch the two hots.
(So in a way our system allows for more flexibility)

September 11, 2013 | 10:21 PM - Posted by justin (not verified)

Weve got 240v over here its fucking sweet if america was to switch to 240v from 120v i think the costs would be extreme plus all your electrical appliances would need to be replaced or you could use a coverter best of just getting solar or a beefy generator that supplies 240v 15amps

September 18, 2013 | 08:50 PM - Posted by KostasDiddy (not verified)

o nikos pinei iremos to kafedaki tou kapou sto syntagma,
kapoia stigmi vlepei to filo t to giwrgo kai pernaei apo
mprosta tou kai ton fonazei.
-giwrgo ela na se kerasw kafedaki kai na ta poume

-ti einai ola auta ta xartia pou exeis mprosta sou?

-logariasmoi giorgo mou eutixws tous eksoflisa kai to
apolamvanw....

-ti? kerdises to laxeio?

-oxi niko mou alla ekana kati pou mporousa na to kanw
eixe i gynaika mou kapoia kosmimata poume den ta forouse
kai kati skeuh asimenia pou den ta xrisimopoiousame,
ta peira loipon kai phga edw stin koloktroni 9 ston kurio
spiropoulo kai ta poulisa.
mou edwse kala leuta kai etsi eksoflisa olous tous logariasmous
mou kai tora to apolamvanw....

http://www.enexyra-athina.gr/

September 18, 2013 | 08:51 PM - Posted by KostasDiddy (not verified)

o nikos pinei iremos to kafedaki tou kapou sto syntagma,
kapoia stigmi vlepei to filo t to giwrgo kai pernaei apo
mprosta tou kai ton fonazei.
-giwrgo ela na se kerasw kafedaki kai na ta poume

-ti einai ola auta ta xartia pou exeis mprosta sou?

-logariasmoi giorgo mou eutixws tous eksoflisa kai to
apolamvanw....

-ti? kerdises to laxeio?

-oxi niko mou alla ekana kati pou mporousa na to kanw
eixe i gynaika mou kapoia kosmimata poume den ta forouse
kai kati skeuh asimenia pou den ta xrisimopoiousame,
ta peira loipon kai phga edw stin koloktroni 9 ston kurio
spiropoulo kai ta poulisa.
mou edwse kala leuta kai etsi eksoflisa olous tous logariasmous
mou kai tora to apolamvanw....

http://www.enexyra-athina.gr/

May 10, 2014 | 07:48 AM - Posted by Hendricks (not verified)

Wow... That looks like a perfect specification for the best power supply, especially when dealing with gaming PCs and workstations. New safety features and the improved cooling methods will make it more reliable. Thanks for the news.
microsoft updates help

September 3, 2014 | 07:01 AM - Posted by jaceki

Antec High Current Pro Platinum 850W definitely is the best poer supply that I have ever used. It works perfectly, I never had any problems what so ever with it.
Cheers
Homepage

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.