Review Index:
Feedback

Antec High Current Pro Platinum 850W Power Supply Review

Manufacturer: Antec

DC Load Regulation and AC Ripple

DC Output Load Regulation

To simulate real world and maximum loading conditions, the Antec High Current Pro 850W Platinum PSU was connected to the load testers and supplied with a constant 115 VAC.  In this test we are interested in seeing how well a PSU can maintain the various output voltages while operating under different loads. 

The ATX12V V2.2 tolerance for voltages states how much each output (rail) is allowed to fluctuate and has tighter tolerances now for the +12V outputs.  I have also included a second table of expanded tolerances (±1% to ±6%) for reference.

View Full Size

The following tables list the DC voltage results for the PSU while operating on 115 VAC, 60 Hz.

View Full Size

The PSU maintained excellent load regulation on all of the outputs across a broad range of loads; even when delivering the maximum rated capacity of 850 watts DC power.  The three primary outputs stayed within ±2% the entire time; well within Antec’s claimed ±3% regulation and much better than the ATX guideline recommendations of ±5%.   

View Full Size

AC Ripple and Noise on the DC Outputs

The amount of AC ripple and noise present on the DC outputs was checked using a digital oscilloscope.  This AC component may be present in the KHz range where most switching power supplies operate or it may be more prevalent at the 60 Hz line frequency.  We adjust the O-scope time base to look for AC ripple at both low and high frequencies.  The ATX12V V2.2 specification for DC output noise/ripple is defined in the ATX12V Power Supply Design Guide.

View Full Size

Ideally we would like to see no AC ripple (repetitive) or noise (random) on the DC outputs – the cleaner the better!  But in reality there will always be some present.  I measured the amplitude of the AC signal (in millivolts, peak-to-peak) to see how well the power supply complied with the ATX standard.  The following table lists the ripple/noise results during all of the load tests for the main output voltages of interest.

View Full Size

The High Current Pro 850W Platinum power supply exhibited excellent AC ripple suppression on all of the outputs, even while delivering 850W and once again stayed easily within Antec’s own claims (<30mV for +3.3V and +5V, and <50mV for +12V).
 

August 19, 2013 | 06:34 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

Modular causes more resistance...I look for a PSU with as few interconnects as possible.

August 20, 2013 | 07:49 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

Which does not make appreciable difference and top of the line modular PSUs can achieve as little as 0,5% deviation on main rails between idle and full load.

Also non-modular is too impractical above certain power level, with too many cables to hide.

August 19, 2013 | 06:36 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

Why doesn`t the US switch over to 240V ?
It is more efficient.

August 20, 2013 | 07:49 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

I'm guesing costs of adapting infrastructure will be pretty enormous.

August 20, 2013 | 10:29 AM - Posted by fhmuffman (not verified)

It is (was?) the biggest market for consumer electronics and appliances designed for 120 V since 1945. About half the current homes were built before 1970 and were not designed for the higher voltages (look up knob and tube wiring on wikipedia). Those all have to be upgraded along with the electrical grid and connections to the homes. Then you need some sort of 99.9% foolproof way for the current wave of people starting to suffer from Old-heimers to plug in all of the devices they have owned for 60 years.

August 20, 2013 | 07:27 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

I have 240 in the garage...I guess I meant to say on newer houses they could have a 240 option in the bedroom/living room...we could run more high-powered video cards easier !
240v standard in man-caves.
Is 240v a lot more dangerous ? I know the amps you can pull is at least double.
Why did Europe get to go 240 and not us ? Excepting most US garages. Welding/washers/dryers.

August 20, 2013 | 07:45 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

I got my answer...answer.com LOL
The US system theoretically could be made as good or better than the European system with no infrastructure change, except appliances and consumer structures themselves (collectively costing home owners billions). US houses get 240 volts at the panel. If wall outlets all were fed with 240V you'd have the lower current and higher power advantage of the European system and it would be safer too, since each "hot" would still be only 120V from ground (not 240V) which keeps the reduced shock hazard advantage. Of course it is still possible to touch the two hots.
(So in a way our system allows for more flexibility)

September 11, 2013 | 07:21 PM - Posted by justin (not verified)

Weve got 240v over here its fucking sweet if america was to switch to 240v from 120v i think the costs would be extreme plus all your electrical appliances would need to be replaced or you could use a coverter best of just getting solar or a beefy generator that supplies 240v 15amps

September 18, 2013 | 05:50 PM - Posted by KostasDiddy (not verified)

o nikos pinei iremos to kafedaki tou kapou sto syntagma,
kapoia stigmi vlepei to filo t to giwrgo kai pernaei apo
mprosta tou kai ton fonazei.
-giwrgo ela na se kerasw kafedaki kai na ta poume

-ti einai ola auta ta xartia pou exeis mprosta sou?

-logariasmoi giorgo mou eutixws tous eksoflisa kai to
apolamvanw....

-ti? kerdises to laxeio?

-oxi niko mou alla ekana kati pou mporousa na to kanw
eixe i gynaika mou kapoia kosmimata poume den ta forouse
kai kati skeuh asimenia pou den ta xrisimopoiousame,
ta peira loipon kai phga edw stin koloktroni 9 ston kurio
spiropoulo kai ta poulisa.
mou edwse kala leuta kai etsi eksoflisa olous tous logariasmous
mou kai tora to apolamvanw....

http://www.enexyra-athina.gr/

September 18, 2013 | 05:51 PM - Posted by KostasDiddy (not verified)

o nikos pinei iremos to kafedaki tou kapou sto syntagma,
kapoia stigmi vlepei to filo t to giwrgo kai pernaei apo
mprosta tou kai ton fonazei.
-giwrgo ela na se kerasw kafedaki kai na ta poume

-ti einai ola auta ta xartia pou exeis mprosta sou?

-logariasmoi giorgo mou eutixws tous eksoflisa kai to
apolamvanw....

-ti? kerdises to laxeio?

-oxi niko mou alla ekana kati pou mporousa na to kanw
eixe i gynaika mou kapoia kosmimata poume den ta forouse
kai kati skeuh asimenia pou den ta xrisimopoiousame,
ta peira loipon kai phga edw stin koloktroni 9 ston kurio
spiropoulo kai ta poulisa.
mou edwse kala leuta kai etsi eksoflisa olous tous logariasmous
mou kai tora to apolamvanw....

http://www.enexyra-athina.gr/

May 10, 2014 | 04:48 AM - Posted by Hendricks (not verified)

Wow... That looks like a perfect specification for the best power supply, especially when dealing with gaming PCs and workstations. New safety features and the improved cooling methods will make it more reliable. Thanks for the news.
microsoft updates help

September 3, 2014 | 04:01 AM - Posted by jaceki

Antec High Current Pro Platinum 850W definitely is the best poer supply that I have ever used. It works perfectly, I never had any problems what so ever with it.
Cheers
Homepage

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.